Work-in-Progress Girl

Random Thursday

12 Comments

I have eleventy billion comments to respond to and also I need to go to bed because I work a night shift tonight and want to at least get a couple hour’s nap in before then and also I need to do laundry and vacuum and take out recycling to the bin and and and so here’s a bit of random bits and pieces:

1. My goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes, February:

Hexaquilt

Acacia

Baste both these quilt tops. I feel like that’s not very ambitious, but I know myself and if I say “Baste Quilt and Bind” for even one of them… I probably won’t get it done. I just hope I have enough pins to do both tops. (I’m thinking I might, maybe, possibly, try to quilt the Acacia quilt instead of tying it like I’ve been saying. But we’ll see. If I do tie it, I’m thinking I should just tape it down and tie it while it’s on the floor instead of pin-basting first then tying it. Tying is basically just basting anyway, just slightly more securely and one hopes with longer lasting results.)

2. Craftsy Mystery Box Saga
FreeSpirit Garden FQ Pack

The end of the Craftsy Mystery Box saga. If you remember, I’d asked to have 6 additional FQs sent out to me to complete my order. The terminally chipper Bob sent me this 20 FQ pack of FreeSpirit Garden fabrics. It’s not exactly what I’d have picked out, if I’d picked out my own replacement fabric, but it’s fabric I’ll use and some of it I even like quite a lot. (There’s lots of fabric in the world I wouldn’t buy but like well enough. This is some of it.)

3. Fandom Stuff
Sherlock and Watson charms

I bought some Sherlock charms from RedBowTie on Etsy. I’ll talk more about that later, though. In the background of the picture is some fabric I bought, printed to look like the wallpaper in the lounge/living room at 221b Baker Street. I’ll talk more about that later too.

4. Hey, it’s Kristel in person!

I haven’t posted one of these here in a while. If you’re curious what’s up with the Sherlock stuff, you could watch the video. But it’s 12 minutes. And I say um a lot. So, you know. Entirely up to you :D Also, if you’re curious what the video is about, me and some friends on Livejournal post Talk to Me Tuesday videos on as many Tuesdays per year as we can manage. I aim for one every other week, but sometimes do them more often than that and sometimes less often. This one I recorded today… I’m behind on EVERYTHING this week.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

12 thoughts on “Random Thursday

  1. I just stalked down your LJ and and friended you ;)

    Aww Bob. At least he tried haha! He seems so proud of himself in that note.

    • Haha.. Cool. I rarely use it but do now and then.

      Bob didn’t do too bad – at least it’s bright and fun! Some of the prints are pretty great and the others are still better than anything from that mystery box. I’ll pull it apart for a Sunday stash post so it’s easier to see.

  2. i like the fabric Bob picked! way more than that box :) i’m just glad that they sent that to you – especially since the advertisement for the box did not mention that mystery meant no one wants it!

    • Yeah me too! There are a few I really like a lot and a couple I’m a little more meh about, but on the whole I like even the meh ones better than anything from the original mystery box.

  3. Ha ha Ashley. Mystery meant “mysterious why they even printed it.” I’m trying to come up with a clever mystery tie-in with your apparently love of Sherlock (so hot by the way). Ehh, I give up. Maybe the next commenter will nail it.

    • The funny thing about the fabric is I was at a brick and mortar shop a week or so ago and they had some of the prints I hated the most out of that Mystery Box. $18/metre! And they weren’t full bolts!

      Sherlock…. well. I’m going to dress up as 221b Baker Street for my city’s version of Comic Con… The fabric will be turned into a bag (which matches the wall-paper at 221b) and the charms…. I haven’t quite decided!

  4. Well, at least they sent you something to try compensate. At least it’s a bundle that will match with itself, right? Scrap vomit? And I must say, you are not only an entertaining writer, but also an entertaining talker :) I watched your whole video not necessarily because I was interested in what you were saying (I don’t know anything about Sherlock… or fandoms…) but you were interesting! Hope that doesn’t sound stalkerish. I promise I’m normal.

    • Yeah, I was pretty impressed that they sent out so much – they really only needed to pick six random whatevers and that would have finished up what was “owed” from the box, so getting a 20 piece bundle was a bit of a surprise. Some of the fabrics are really nice, they’re just a bit busy in a way I often try to avoid because I don’t know how to use it.

      Haha… stalker! (Actually, if I put 12 minute videos of me talking up on the internet, then I’ve got to be prepared for worse things than people just watching it — so far so good on that front, though. :D)

  5. We don’t call you wip girl for nothing! I am partial to your hexies!

  6. Ohmygoodness Kristel’s cosplaying!!!!! I am SO excited to see how your 221b ensemble will take shape! Finish the wallpaper bag and then spraypaint the smiley face on it! Earrings out of the charms would be fabulous! Aaaaaaa! I’m so excited!

    Also: go, Bob. A+ for effort.

    • Haha… yeah. I need to buy some black twill and totally forgot to mention the smiley face, but that’s the plan with that! I’m still thinking about details – there’ll be a union jack somewhere involved and some other little things. I haven’t watched the new season yet (though I’ve heard pretty mixed reviews) but I’ll need to do that to see what’s to see…

      Anyway, Bob. I totally saved my last email from him so that I could tell you this. So when the fabric arrived, I sent him a note saying, Hey the fabric arrived, thanks for your help, etc. and he wrote back this: “I hope you had a good day! I am glad you enjoyed my selection, I hope your able to use it for a future project. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please let me know I’m always happy to help you!” And I saved it because I KNEW you would appreciate my nearly overwhelming desire to write back again telling that yes, there is something else he can assist me with, and he can do that by studying these infographics on the use of your/you’re.

Drop me a line...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers