Work-in-Progress Girl

Work in Progress Wednesday

32 Comments

I have been working on things, but you wouldn’t know it, following my blog – I’ve been so quiet lately! I’m having time management issues. I’ve been doing so much crafting I haven’t had time for anything else. Seriously: I had over 100 blog posts to catch up on today (I’ve got it down to 87 at the moment), I’ve got several open tabs for things I want to be doing or linking up to or commenting on… but when I don’t spend time on the internet, I get a lot of stuff done! (Sometimes I think I should cancel the internet for a couple months, see if I could blast through some of the piles and piles of unfinished things I’ve been adding to my WIP collection. But I’d probably just spend more time on my phone…)

Berry Barn Designs

For the 30/30 Sewing Challenge, I’ve been working on my Pantone Quilt Challenge project.

Pantone challenge project...

These pictures are quite old – there’s a whole lot more done than I’m showing here, but all the other pictures I’ve got are Instagram photos – and since taking this picture, I’ve made use of all the threads in this picture, as well as one new one that I had to buy because I ran out of a couple of these. (Sampler packs are brilliant for getting some of a lot of different threads, but not so brilliant when you want to make extensive use of them!) All these threads came from Colour Complements and were one of the sampler packs. I’m really enjoying working with these (except for the sparkle chainette, which I have been using stitched through fabric, but which is too stretchy really to be a good stitching choice. I went and checked out Lorraine’s blog today for more information about it and she doesn’t recommend stitching with it, but using for surface decoration, like weaving through other stitches. It doesn’t surprise me!

Pantone challenge project...

I used this green because it was included in the bundle of threads I’d bought (it wasn’t part of the sampler pack, just an extra little bit to play with) and it’s a little too bright, really, but I’m also not going to pick it out and change it for something different! Since taking this photo, most of the bottom half of the quilt has gotten another 3 rows of stitching between each of the rows you see here. It’s taking forever and ever and ever…

…but it’s keeping me going on the 30 minute challenge thing! And in fact, I’d say I’ve spent significantly more than 30 minutes a day working on it. (It’s almost scary to think about just how much time goes into the making of things. And this will eventually be hung on a wall to be occasionally exclaimed over and then someday put in a garage or estate sale for a couple bucks before disappearing into the ether like it never existed.)

I’ve also been working on Material Girl’s Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong, though I’m currently two blocks behind:

Layer Cake Quiltalong

Layer Cake Quiltalong

I’m using a layer cake of Basic Grey’s Eva line, which came out several years ago. I’ve had this layer cake (and a charm pack) sitting around in my sewing room for a long, long time and since I had enough of that white fabric in the background to cut up into 10″ squares for these blocks… I thought Why not? It felt like a good time to use that pretty fabric. Best to do it before I someday stop liking it, right?

Layer Cake Quiltalong

Layer Cake Quiltalong

I’m really enjoying the process of making these blocks. I’m going to get the next set done today or tomorrow and can’t wait to add to the little pile of finished blocks. Love these things!

Linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced and 30/30 Sewing Challenge at Berry Barn Designs and Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced Berry Barn Designs Sew Fresh Quilts

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

32 thoughts on “Work in Progress Wednesday

  1. Gorgeous Fabric in your layer cake blocks.

  2. The blocks are nice but I really like your hand stitching.

    • Thanks! It’s something that’s a little different for me – I’m usually a pattern follower and this one is kind of my own pattern/winging it as I go along, so it’s been interesting to work on!

  3. I am really interested to see your finished Pantone challenge piece! And I hear you on blog comments – I don’t get anywhere near as many as you, but still, all the social media component takes so much time and sometimes I wish I could just sew and sew and sew : )

    • I’m sort of interested to see it too! I have two things I have to finish so that I can call it done (which will probably take a couple more days) and then one more thing I think I might do to it so that it’ll look a little more like I’m wanting it to look, but that’ll depend entirely on how quickly I can get the necessary bits done. Still, there’s nothing like a deadline to motivate me to finish things.

  4. I am looking forward to seeing your finished Radiant Orchid piece.

  5. Pretty Radiant Orchid Challenge WIP. Your layer cake sampler blocks are very striking. Nice fabrics … :) Pat

  6. Love the hand stitching you are working on!

  7. Love, love, love your pictures! What a lot of work all that hand stitching is, but sew worth it….. It looks beautiful! And your blocks are sweet, too! Great job! Don’t give the ether another thought!

    • Thanks! I’m hoping it’ll turn out well — I might have to make the back be the front because I think the stitches show up better that way! I don’t generally think about the future life of the things I make – the pleasure is in the making, not whatever eventually becomes of them — but I do think about it now and again when I do handwork because it is SO time-consuming!

  8. I really love that purple fabric you’re using for your Pantone Challenge quilt! Can’t wait to see what you’ve put together with it. You keep teasing us with the little snippets ;)

    • Haha.. yeah, it’s… it’s a work in progress and I often don’t like to show too much of those because then there’s nothing left to see at the end! And I need to do a lot of fixing, right now – I should have used a different colour fabric (as pretty as the purple is) because my threads blend in too much and distance shots don’t really show all the work I’ve put into it. I don’t know. Hopefully it’ll come together! (The fabric, though, is Kaffe Fassett shot cotton in Granite.)

  9. Oooh, your purple looks very cool. And I love the Limey green! And I would never have thought of the texture you’re doing with the green! Will have to put that in the memory bank.
    And I like your blocks. I hope you never get tired of this fabric, because it’s pretty :-)
    E xx

    • Oh, and I currently have about 60 blogs in my reader waiting for me to get to… :-/

      • Haha! I’ve managed to knock mine down to about 35 right now! (And then it’ll be quiet over the weekend, so it won’t be so much to keep on top of, until Monday hits and it all starts again.) I can’t tell a lie though: I’ve deleted a few blogs from my list – just ones where I never commented or where I had a tendency to skip over the posts anyway (people who start using their blog to sell more than to share – I’m all for people making money off their crafts, but it gets boring if you started out following a person and their life via craft and wind up just with advertisements for things) and stuff like that. Gotta do something to keep it manageable!

    • The texture with the green was kind of a… necessity thing, maybe. My stitches wound up too big on the two outside rows, so it didn’t fill it in enough and then I started doing a third row of up and down, but didn’t think I had enough thread to fill it in appropriately that way, so I did it horizontally instead… I’m not sure it saved on thread, but somehow it felt like it was :D

      I hope I don’t ever get tired of that fabric either – I’ve got another half-finished quilt using it and a charm pack that I’ll have to make use of eventually!

  10. Wonderful blocks and WIPs! Love your projects!!

  11. Your layer cake blocks look awesome, and I can’t wait to see the Pantone project. Like your comment about how much time it takes to make things then one day it just get’s thrown out. I look at vintage quilts on Ebay alot, and it makes me so depressed to think that one day my quilts will be sitting there!!! And the cutter quilts are terribly depressing. People just chop them up to reuse pieces–I’m alot about reusing things, but when it comes to quilts it just makes me so sad!

    • I guess it’s in the nature of things to be transient, but it’s still kind of sad anyway – like you said, when you see old vintage, beautiful quilts being sold for nothing or just cut up… ugh. Hard to see! It’s not that I think I make things that should last forever or wind up in some museum collection or something, but… I guess I’d rather they wind up in a thrift store than the garbage dump, eventually.

  12. I so enjoyed visiting your blog. I’m like you – sometimes I have to “go dark” from reading blogs so I can get my sewing done. Your layer cake blocks look great. Are they all made from 1/2 square triangles?

    • They are all made from HST! Actually you start with 4 layer cake pieces for each one – 2 background and 2 print – stitch them together to produce 8 HST from each set, and then rearrange them to make the blocks. There are SO many things you can make from 16 HST units. It’s a really neat QAL.

  13. Great looking projects. Love your Patone challenge

  14. I love the hand quilting!!

  15. You are so right using fabrics before getting tired of seeing it, and taking a break from the computer to get things done (I try to keep it off at least every second day). As for the phone: you need a headset, and then you can work while chatting. And your blocks are very nice and inspiring.

    • I have too much fabric that’s been waiting around for the “right project” – I just need to start using it!

      On Sun, Mar 16, 2014 at 7:18 PM, Work-in-Progress Girl wrote:

      >

Drop me a line...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers