Work-in-Progress Girl

Fabric Friday: Anna Maria Horner’s Flower Go Round

4 Comments

It’s been half an age since I last did a Fabric Friday post, so finally here is one again. This fabric was a remnant in a scrap pack I bought from Hawthorne Threads (they’d had a sale) and, well, I don’t really like it.

I’m so very hit and miss with Anna Maria Horner’s prints. I bet the next time I go looking around the quilting groups on Flickr, I’ll find a half dozen quilts with this very print involved, and I’ll think it’s fabulous. Somehow it just doesn’t speak to me on its own, though.

Which is why I’m offering this up to someone who wants it! Leave a comment here, and next Monday I’ll do a draw to see who gets it. (And if nobody wants it, I’ll just add it to my bag of Fabrics To Get Rid Of, which maybe someday I’ll actually get rid of…)

Anyway, it is flannel, which feels utterly delicious, and it’s about 12″ by width of fabric. I’m not at all sure what to do with a strip like that of flannel, but maybe someone reading will collect the stuff?

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Fabric Friday: Anna Maria Horner’s Flower Go Round

  1. Free Fabric??? I’m all up for that!!!

    Seriously though … I could work that into something Miss Chief wants me to make for one of her friends for XMas .

    • Hee… well, so far you’re the only one in the draw, so hopefully it’ll be winging it’s way to you in a couple days!

      I keep looking at it and trying to think of things I could do with it, but it’s just not sparking any ideas for me, so it might as well go to a home where it might!

  2. I just saw your comment on my blog – did you know you’re a “no reply blogger”? I can’t directly reply to your comments through email.

    Anyway… the big head is in Canmore (an hour west of Calgary on Highway 1). If you take the first exit into town on the highway and keep going on that road (can’t remember the name of the street – could be Main Street), it’s on the right-hand side by the Drake restaurant, by the little bridge over the swamp/creek/stream. We thought it was pretty cool, although by the time we stopped for pics, the light was fading fast, as you can probably see by the darkness of the photo.

    Canmore also has a lovely quilt shop called the Sugar Pine. I didn’t buy anything there this trip (which is why I thought it was okay to get the jacket haha) but usually I’m drooling over their fabric, patterns and kits. I guess I just have too many things going on right now to add yet another project to the list.

    Definitely worth the hour drive for you to go!!!!

    • I don’t know how to change the no-reply thing. I see people mention it a lot, particularly when they do give-aways, but I don’t know what settings to change (or if I can – so many blog writers that I follow use blogger or blogspot – and I’ve always sort of assumed it was something to do with my using wordpress instead). (It makes me feel old to say that, that I don’t know how to do something related to the internet, like I’m my mom twenty years ago and I can’t figure out how to program the VCR 😀 Shame I haven’t got kids, they’d probably figure it out for me…)

      I even have family in Canmore, and I’ve never seen it! I suppose every time I’m there we just drive straight to my cousin’s house rather than doing much sight-seeing. I have been to the quilt shop (a couple years ago) and it was lovely! SO much to look at there.

Drop me a line...

