Work-in-Progress Girl

Giveaway Day! Post the first: Handmade Scarves

61 Comments

EDITED TO ADD: The giveaway is now closed, any additional comments will NOT be included in the draw. I will draw a winner and contact him or her tomorrow or Sunday. Thanks for all your great responses!

It’s Giveaway Day again at Sew, Mama, Sew! And for once I’m actually ready for it! I’m doing three give-aways, separated into two posts. This post is for scarves, handmade from some very lovely Anna Maria Horner voiles. The other give-away, for fabric charm squares, can be found here.

Both these scarves are made with double layers of voile and are about 8-inches wide and 52-in long. I’ll be honest and say that I find them slightly too short, and thus they don’t drape as nicely as they would at a longer length. However, you could always add some sort of weighted embellishments at the ends or perhaps simply trim off the seams and use the material in any way you choose ;D These scarves were made by me in my non-smoking, no pet home. The material was NOT pre-washed, so it may shrink a little in the wash. Or it may soften up a little and drape a little more neatly.

There will be two winners from this post, and here is how to enter.

1. Leave a comment!
2. In your comment, tell me where you’re from and which of the two scarves you prefer (white or blue).

I will be writing names/locations on slips of paper and drawing the winners myself. There will be one international winner (international, for me, means outside of Canada) and one Canadian winner, so don’t forget to let me know where you’re from! The winner in the first draw (for the Canadian) will be given their choice of scarf. Hopefully whoever gets the second scarf will be happy with it whether it was his/her favourite or not!

You can enter your name (once only please) between now and December 16, and I will make the draw on Sunday, December 18. Best of luck, and enjoy all the new blogs you stumble across this week! I think that’s always my favourite part of Giveaway Day, finding so many interesting new people.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

61 thoughts on “Giveaway Day! Post the first: Handmade Scarves

  1. I am from Ma and I prefer the blue

    lindsay dot forgette at gmail dot com

  2. The blue voile is just so so pretty – love that soft cornflower blue! I’m in Australia – merry Christmas!

  3. La La LOVELY! What a grand giveaway my dear!

  4. they’re adorable! and i think they’d be the perfect length for one of my daughters πŸ™‚ i love the blue one, but really they are both lovely. thank you for the chance to win πŸ™‚

  5. These are both gorgeous! The white would be my choice if I won.
    I’m in Canada where it’s cold-ish and snowy, but not as cold and snowy as in past Decembers.

  6. I’m from California. I’d probably pick the blue one. Thanks!

  7. from columbus and i like teh white

  8. from virginia. love the blue!

  9. Hello from Michigan! πŸ™‚ I love the blue!

    Best,
    Michelle
    daydreambelievershop(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. I”m from Illinois and I really love the white one! thanks!!

  11. either would be great— white is more me, though.

    I am in South Carolina.

  12. I am from Saskatchewan, Canada
    i really love them both but i think the blue would look the best with my wardrobe πŸ™‚
    there are so lovely!

  13. Honestly, I like both (could see either working in my wardrobe) and as I’m petite, the length would work to my advantage πŸ™‚

  14. I’m from Ohio and I like the white one. Thanks so much for the chance to win!

  15. I’m from the SF Bay Area, and I love both scarves, but since I can’t have both, i’d choose the white one.

  16. I’m originally from New Jersey, then lived in Virginia and now I’ve settled in Wisconsin! I love the white scarf.

  17. From Gisborne, New Zealand. Love the white one

  18. Hello from Switzerland! Love the blue scarf.

  19. They are both really cute, however, I like the white one the best! I am originally from Dothan, Alabama but currently live in Nashville, Tennessee!

  20. White! And I’m from deep in the heart of Texas, that’s USA ma’am! tee hee! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  21. Such a great idea! I like the blue one – so pretty!

    I’m in Southern California.

    Lwghosts at yahoo dot com

  22. i’m from massachusetts and i would love the blue one!

  23. I’m from The UK and I like the blue one although they are both very pretty!Thanks!

  24. Hi there! I’m from Missouri and I love the blue scarf! Thanks for the wonderful giveaway!

  25. Lovely scarves! I’m from NY State in the US. I’d happily win either of the scarves. Thanks!

  26. I am from Utah, and I would love either scarf!

  27. I’m from the UK and I would be thrilled with either x

  28. I’m from northeast Ohio and I would love the white scarf!

  29. I’m from Minneapolis MN. I like both but if i had to choose…i’d say blue.

  30. S Carolina. I like the blue! Thanks!

  31. I am from Portland, OR. I love the white scarf. Thanks for the giveaway!

  32. St. Louis, Missouri. The white one is really beautiful!

    Thanks for the opportunity to participate!

  33. im from ny and id love to win the first one πŸ™‚

  34. They are both lovely but I’d choose the white. I’m from Oklahoma! Thanks for the chance to win!
    okiedokiemama at yahoo dot com

  35. Thanks for the chance to win such a pretty scarf! I love the blue one! From Mississippi!

  36. Either one would be wonderful to win, but I think my daughter would love the white one best. I am from Boulder, Colorado.

  37. I would choose the white print because I’m from Manitoba where it is snowing!

  38. San Antonio, Tx. I like both but might be leaning more toward the blue. I tried to make one yesterday as a gift but feel it came out too short. it is only 42″. I did find some tutorials on youtube. Should have watched them before I tried to make.

  39. I would be delighted to win either of these. I am in Australia so I would be the international winner if I won.

  40. the white scarf is very pretty! I’m in Vancouver, BC. πŸ™‚

  41. I absolutley go for the blue one – Thanks for the chance and greetings from Germany! (I guess it would make no sense to you if I post my town and state)

  42. Slightly short sounds perfect for me, I have a short torso.
    I’m in IL, USA and I like them both! I’d probably wear the blue one more.

  43. Hailing from Wisconsin here! I would pick the white one, I think they are both very pretty. πŸ™‚

  44. thanks for a great giveaway…. I am in New Orleans Louisiana….

  45. I’m from Transylvania. πŸ™‚
    Blue please. πŸ˜€
    My e-mail: blackasphodel@yahoo.com

  46. I like white, I am from WA state. South of Nelson and Castlegar.

  47. I’m from Visalia, California. I love the blue one!

  48. I’m from the SF Bay Area and I would love to win the blue one.

  49. I am from Sydney, Australia and I think i like the white one!!

    xo Steph

  50. I’m visiting from Pa. & I like the white one best!

  51. Wow, they both look lovely! I am from Phoenix, AZ by way of small town Nevada! If I has the chance to pick one of these two beauties, I would love the white scarf. Thank-you & happy holidays!!

  52. They’re both lovely (thanks for the generous giveaway)! If I had to pick, I’d say blue. Luckily, I’m not from Canada, but North Carolina, so I don’t have to pick.

  53. Love both scarves but would pick the white one if it were my choice. I’m from Greenville, SC

  54. I live in BC. Go Canada!

    I like the white one, but I think I would more readily wear the blue one, so that one would be my choice.
    They’re both nice.

    chibidani at gmail dot com

  55. Las Vegas and the purple scarf is my favorite

  56. I’m from Cambridge, Ontario, and I’d love either, but I guess I’d pick the blue first. Thanks for the chance!

  57. These scarves are both beautiful — I’d be happy with either one! Greetings from Boston, MA, USA!

  58. The scarves are lovely. They would be perfect for summer! I like the blue, but they’re both great. I’m in Grass Valley, CA.

  59. I’m from Oregon, and I like them both but the blue is my favorite

  60. I live south of Seattle in WA state and the white scarf is my favorite. Just look at those cute houses! I’d make it work as a scars somehow.

  61. I’ve from Massachusetts, and I really love the white scarf. Merry Christmas!

Drop me a line...

