Work-in-Progress Girl

Giveaway Day! Post the second: Fabric Charm Squares

112 Comments

EDITED TO ADD: The giveaway is now closed, any additional comments will NOT be included in the draw. I will draw a winner and contact him or her tomorrow or Sunday. Thanks for all your great responses!

It’s Giveaway Day again at Sew, Mama, Sew! And for once I’m actually ready for it! I’m doing three give-aways, separated into two posts. This post is for one Supplies give-away, the other two Handmade Accessories can be found here.

The winner of this give-away will receive 72 5.5-inch charm squares cut from 72 different “Asian” print fabrics. I bought these about 5 years ago for a project I’ve come to realize will never not ever get made and so it’s time to let them go. The prints encompass a pretty wide range of styles and colours. They’re not all the princess of the party, but they will all work together well in one project or would be equally great split up and used on an as-needed basis. They have been stored in my non-smoking, no pet home for far too long, but may they be put to better use in someone else’s!

Here’s how to enter:

1. Leave a comment telling me what you think you’d make with these if you were to win! (If you have no idea, that’s fine too, but I’m interested in seeing what you think might happen.)

The winner will be chosen at random, and anyone can enter world-wide. You can enter your name (once only please) between now and December 16, and I will make the draw on Sunday, December 18. Best of luck!

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

112 thoughts on “Giveaway Day! Post the second: Fabric Charm Squares

  1. I’d probably make a quilt for my bed

  2. after the current project and the next one, i am going to make a warm-cool, color wheel quilt. pretty much every type of charm will fit in there… i would love these!!

  3. My darling daughter spent 3 years in Japan as a teacher and I fell in love with all things Japanese – Asian fabrics are some of my very favorite! A comfy quilt for my daughter and her hubby would be perfect!

  4. I would fully work them into a quilt. Probably a couple of different ones!

  5. Those charm squares would make a beautiful quilt! That’s what I’d make if I won them πŸ˜‰

  6. All of those pretty metallics would become part of my dear Jane quilt that I am making. πŸ™‚

    Mary
    iammaryburke(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. I’m not totally sure… maybe a scrappy belt or camera strap cover. Or, maybe a doll quilt for my little one.

  8. thanks for the opportunity to win this amazing fabric I would make it in to a quilt have the fabrics the centre of a block.

  9. So many possibilities. I’d go over to the Moda Bake Shop and find something to use up these treasures!

    thanks so much! πŸ™‚

  10. I’d split them into lights and darks and use the lights in my 8 year old daughter’s quilt and the darks in my 10 year old daughter’s quilt. Thanks for the chance to win!

    By the way, “They’re not all the princess of the party” made me laugh πŸ™‚ I’ve never heard that expression before!

  11. Hmm, fabulous fabrics! I would love to use these to make a large Chinese lattice quilt. Thanks for the giveaway!

  12. I am actually collecting asian charms for a quilt I want to make. I’ve got the pattern, but not enough squares yet. I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  13. I will make a bed quilt or a pretty charming maxi skirt. thanks for the giveaway!

  14. I would make them into a quilt for Miss Chief

  15. I’d have to make a quilt top for my big sister, who absolutely loves Japanese inspired prints like these. πŸ™‚

  16. I would make either a mini quilt or quilted zipper pouches.

  17. I know exactly what I would make. I’d put them as embellishment squares onto a flannel lap quilt. With 72 I could make one for me and one for a really good friend of mine that loves anything Asian! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  18. I think I would use these fabrics for a french braid quilt!

  19. Hmmm . . . I think I’d split them and use them for finishing fabric for my cross stitch pincushions etc. Lovely fabric!

    Thanks for the giveaway
    Sarah @ http://kiwigetscrafty.blogspot.com

  20. Definitely a lap quilt! Beautiful!

  21. These would make a gorgeous lap quilt!
    Thanks!

  22. Lovely fabric. I’ve got a couple of pieces of asian print that would go well with those. I’d probably make a quilted tote with those.

  23. I’d make a small quilt or wall hanging.

  24. I’d put them in a table runner with matching place settings. Beautiful. Thank you for the chance to enter.

  25. I’d probably make a quilt. I’d leave them as squares and turn them onto their points so they kinda look like diamonds and put sashing in between. This would showcase as much of the fabric as possible. Thanks for a chance to win this beautiful fabric! πŸ™‚

  26. I would add them to my 1000 tumblers project. My goal of 1000 different fabrics in a tumbler quilt. no duplicates!

  27. Wow, those fabrics are beautiful. They’d love lovely in a disappearing nine patch pattern.

  28. I would definitely give these to my mom who loves asian fabrics. I’d have to include an easy pattern for her as she is new to quilting, but it would be fun to do my own quilt at the same time with charm squares from my stash to show her how one pattern can make two totally different quilts.

  29. Oh I know I’ve wanted to make a twister quilt and these would be perfect~!

  30. I’d love to win these oriental charm squares. At present I’m absolutly ‘charmed’ by Disappearing Nine Patch so I would use them and some other fabrics in my stash to make one of them. This size is just ideal for DNP.

  31. These would be great for our guild’s community quilts – someone gave us some dark Oriental fabrics that would go really well with these. One group that is a recipient of our efforts is people in our community who are undergoing cancer treatment. Quilts are such a comfort thing, and even the men love receiving one.
    thanks!

  32. I think that would be just right for a DNP quilt. My SIL has spent time in Japan and loves it, so I think it would be the first one I make for him!

  33. I’d sew them into a table runner.

  34. I would make a star quilt.

  35. I see a charity quilt

  36. A quilt.
    Thanks for the chance to win ^^v

  37. I have a kimono block pattern that could use these squares!

  38. probably a lap quilt for my mother in law

  39. either a table runner or a small quilt. Love the colors.

  40. I want to make a periodic table of elements quilt and these would be perfect!

  41. Love Asian designs. Totally would make a small quilt. Either my mom or aunt would love the fabrics. Thank you for the give away.

  42. I have a pattern for a Japanese Knot Bag that is just dying to be made with some beautiful Japanese fabrics. I would love to piece these together and make that bag.

  43. A would use these for a bed runner for our guest room.

  44. These fabric look like a lovely vintage lap quilt πŸ™‚
    Susanne

  45. I have a couple japanese craft and quilting books, so I think I would open those up and find a project in there.

  46. I think I’d have to try some fabric origami if I had those pretties.

  47. What a nice assortment. I’m not sure exactly what I’d make, but they’d probably go into the quilt I need to make for my niece.

  48. I suspect they’d end up as small patchwork pieces on zipper bags, notebook covers, pincushions etc

  49. Fabric flowers, small wall art panels, clutches, wall quilt, feature fabric in large pockets for tote bag … lots of ideas come to mind.

    garnetnm@msn.com

  50. A quilt. Probably Cathedral Windows.

  51. patchwork bags, zipper pouches, a quilt with white sashing and borders…the possibilities are endless…thanks for the chance!

  52. i would make an Asian-themed quilt for ME! I made one for myself, but my daughter wanted it, so that’s what happened to that one. I had acquired several pieces of Asian-style decor, but the quilt on the bed in that particular room is country-themed.

  53. Probably a quilt, maybe a bag. Thanks for the giveaway! Merry Christmas!

  54. Very pretty. I would use mine for totes.

  55. A quilt for my daughter who lives in China-perfect huh!

  56. I would use them to teach my 12 yo daughter to do a disappearing nine patch. Merry Christmas!

  57. Thank you for the chance to win. I think i would make a few mini quilts or maybe placemats

  58. These would turn into drawstring bags for gym clothes and lingerie.

  59. I am sure I will make a bag with this fabric,

  60. I’d make some pretty zipper pouches.

  61. I’d make bags. Great giveaway!

  62. I love these fabrics, and actually recognize a couple of them as ones I’ve worked with before. I would probably do a charm quilt and not cut these any smaller, sashing the blocks with something dark (maybe black), for a beautiful, dramatic quilt that would really highlight the fabrics! Thanks for the chance to win.

  63. I am thinking some type of chinese coin quilt wall hanging or other type of strippy quilt to show off all of the different fabrics.

  64. Any Christmas-y ones will be pulled for a Christmas quilt I want to make. All the others would probably be put into another quilt.

  65. I would split these up. Some would be made into baby clothes (little booties) and others would be made into bags I think. πŸ™‚

  66. I spy a few in there I have in my stash. I have finally broken into my Oriental stash the year with a quilt that is half way quilted. I can see a lot more in my future.

  67. I want to begin to make small bags for make-up or gift cards – I think these would work great !!

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  68. I think it might make a great quilt for a thank you quift (quilt/gift). Maybe for a lady in my church.

  69. I’d make a quilt. Just got a new quilt book for my birthday, so maybe try a new pattern πŸ™‚

  70. Not sure what I’d make, I’m just getting started and would love to win some much needed fabric to get started with! The fabric is very pretty!

  71. Not sure what I would make, but something to show off the beauty of the fabric.

  72. I love asian inspired prints and so does my mom. I would probably make a lap quilt for her. Believe me it would be put to good use. Thanks for the chance to win.

  73. i think some cute quilted pillows

  74. I actually have a (japanese) pattern that calls for Japanese fabrics, which I have been buying small amounts of very slowly because they’re so expensive here! So I would probably get on and make that – a bag πŸ™‚

  75. I love asian fabric and don’t have a specific pattern I would make but I think I could find something. Thank you for the giveaway.

  76. A quilt – or a skirt. Thanks for the chance πŸ™‚

  77. These would look great as a garden path type quilt. Thank you for hosting a great giveaway.

  78. I’d make a lap quilt because I’ve been wanting one and these would be so pretty.

  79. I am making hexagon patches so no doubt they would join the fun!!

    xo Steph

  80. I would make pilow cases.

  81. Honestly, no idea what I’d make but I love Asian prints and have quite a few so I know I’d use them! christina112358 at gmail dot com

  82. I would surprise my hubby with something special for his birthday. He loves anything Asian and seeing as I just started sewing I think this will be a nice surprise. Maybe a wall hanging for his office? A gadget pouch? I think I can probable make a load of things for him from all the lovely prints you are giving away πŸ™‚

    Thank you for a great giveaway and the chance to win.

    Marilize
    marilize(dot)paulsen(at)gmail(dot)com

  83. I think I would make a tote with them.I have a fun pattern using charm squares but have only made a few in blacks and whites which turned out great. I would love to try something different and I don’t have any fabrics like that. Thanks for the chance to win.

  84. I would match them up with other fabric and make a quilt. They are really pretty. Thanks.

  85. The heating has changed in our apartment building so I’d make a quilt to keep warm under!

  86. I think they would make a lovely quilt.

  87. A lap quilt to lay across my couch.

  88. These would make a great quilt, or maybe a pretty patchwork scarf!

  89. Perhaps a disappearing 9-patch quilt! Thanks for the chance!

  90. This is the best giveaway! I would make a skirt! I am currently teaching myself how to sew and one of the projects in the beginners book that I purchased is a skirt made from charm squares! Thanks for the giveaway!

  91. I’d definitely turn them into a quilt. I love Asian style fabrics.

  92. I am sure I would make a quilt since that is what I do with all my fabric!

  93. I’ve been working on so many patchwork projects lately – but my favourite are my hanging lost socks keepers. They are basically like clothespin keeps, only I embroider a little socks on them with the words “lost socks.” They seem to be a huge hit and I can never keep the patchwork ones in stock. I want a patchwork one for myself, so I’ll probably proudly display it in my laundry room hehehe πŸ™‚

  94. I’ve actually been buying asian inspired prints to make a quilt once I get enough variety. They’re pretty expensive, so it’s slow going.

  95. I would put them with 12 blocks I made this year for a BOM at one of our LQS. Just what I am needing. Thanks for the opportunity.

  96. I think those are gorgeous. I love rich colors. They would be great to work in with others I have and what a rich, luxurious quilt they would make. Thanks for the giveaway.

  97. I would use these in a quilt

  98. I’ve been making patchwork headbands, these would be gorgeous for those.

    chibidani at gmail dot com

  99. Your Asian prints are making me drool!!! I love them! I would make a quilt using a pattern called “Bento Box” because a bento box is the Japanese verson of our lunch box! Thank you for your beautiful give-away offer (said while crossing my fingers)!!!

  100. I would probably give them to my mother-in-law, who collects Asian fabrics and would really appreciate them.

  101. A wallet.

  102. A patchwork pillowcase or tote.
    Thanks for the generous giveaway and a chance to win!

  103. A quilt πŸ˜€
    Thanks for the chance!

  104. These would look really cute as accent pockets on a chinese collared top or skirt!

  105. I recently saw a quilted jacket made of charm squares, I would love to try making it. Thanks for the chance, happy holidays!

  106. Funky scarves for my mom, sister, daughter and I!

  107. I’d love to make a star pattern quilt with the center of the star be your fabric that’s been fussy cut πŸ™‚ I may leave them whole though, because they are too pretty to cut!! Thank you for participating in the blog hop!

  108. I’ve never made a quilt yet but I want to do one so I’d probably use these to make a very easy/beginner quilt. Thanks!

  109. I’m thinking a wall quilt for my sewing room. Thanks for the chance at your giveaway.

  110. I love Asian themed prints! I would probably make a few little pouches, and shoot for a small quilt too:)

  111. I’d use them for quilts. I love using charm squares.

  112. I have plans to use my charm squares in quilt as you go quilts so I can get a lot done in a hurry since I have to make a bunch next year for family. Thanks for the great giveaway!

Drop me a line...

