Work-in-Progress Girl

Finished Projects: The Doctor and River Song Matryoshki

Leave a comment

The Doctor and River Song by clumsy chord
The Doctor and River Song, a photo by clumsy chord on Flickr.

These should be my last dolls for the year and also my last Finishes for the year. (I still owe myself two more blog entries, though – one for a set of scarves I made but never posted about and one for a run-down of what all I accomplished in 2011.) They’ve been done since December 18, but somehow I kept putting off writing this entry in favour of travel, no internet, Christmas, Boxing Day shopping, and then having (alas) to go back to work.

I think these dolls might be the cutest things I made all year. Well,.. all my doll ornaments were pretty damn cute, but these are more fun because they’re fandom based, and that’s not an area I often dabble in with my crafts. (Fandom-wise, I have made, over the course if 5+ years: 1 messenger bag with a Harry Potter lightning bolt appliqué, 5 Harry Potter pillows with the Hogwarts’ house animals appliquéd on them – two for Gryffindor because I messed up the lion the first time, 3 Severus Snape fabric postcards, and 1 Doctor Who fabric postcard featuring my favourite, the tenth Doctor.) I think most of my readers are fans of Doctor Who, but just in case you’re not… these two Matryoshka dolls are based on characters from the new series of Doctor Who.

On the left is Ms River Song, known for her wildly curly hair and her Tardis-styled diary of ‘spoilers’, as well as her cheeky demeanour and hallucinogenic lipstick. Well, I’d hoped to give her a winking eye, but wasn’t happy enough with my attempts at an open eye, and red lips looked too ridiculous for words. So I didn’t quite get there, but I think most fans would recognize her just on the basis of the book, which I thought turned out quite well (despite my crooked stitching). You can’t see it in the photos, but I threaded the needle with two strands of white and one strand of a yellowish off-white to give the pages of the book a slightly aged look (which I am inordinately pleased by).

On the right is the Doctor himself. I haven’t seen all of the most recent episodes of DW, but what I think of, when I think of Eleven, is the bow-tie, the fez, and his floppy hair. Matt Smith, the actor who plays Eleven, has some prodigiously floppy hair, so I was really hoping to replicate that, even a little. I very nearly gave him a squarer than square jaw, but left off in favour of letting the fez and bow-tie speak for themselves.

The Doctor and River Song

I made these two dolls at the behest of Craftylilthing, the winner of an auction I was participating in to raise money for a cat, Lily, who was adopted by the sister of an online friend, Ofenjen. (Confusing sentence much?) This poor kitty had been shot in the leg and then abandoned, so Ofenjen set up an online auction to help raise funds for the necessary surgery and medications to keep Lily alive and healthy. I offered up two dolls, designed any which way the winner pleased, and this is what Craftylilthing requested.

It was a lot of fun working on something like this, trying to distill the essence of a television character into simple images that could be easily rendered in felt and embroidery floss. I love how they turned out, and I’ve got a real urge to keep making more. (And, well,.. I have sketches for two more fandom-based Matryoshki. But we’ll see if I get them made or not…)

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

Drop me a line...

