Work-in-Progress Girl

Twelve for Twenty-Twelve: Post One

4 Comments

Somewhere in December I decided that I needed to do something in 2012 about my Work-in-Progress Problem. The problem being 1. I can’t stop adding more WIPs to the pile, and 2. I never seem to take any projects OFF the WIP pile. So I started tossing around the idea of aiming to do 12 projects over the course of the year. I often have ideas like this, but I don’t very often work up ways to make them happen. You know how goals are supposed to be S.M.A.R.T.? Specific, Measurable, Something, Something, and Time-Bound? I’m not very good at working those bits out. But the lovely ofenjen at Sewhooked (and Fandom in Stitches) worked that loose idea up into something more specific and created a flickr group and a Facebook group and graphics (see above!), which you can read more about here. And now there are other people participating in the idea too, including quite a few of the regular video posters at Talk to Me Tuesday. All of which is pretty exciting.

More exciting, for me personally anyway, is the sheer thought of actually completing 12 projects. Twelve projects that I’ve been sitting on for, in some cases, years. I’m an easily distractable crafter. I like to start new things; if it’s shiny, my eyes are drawn towards it. But it’s just not sustainable. I can’t house dozens of unfinished projects. I hate being asked what I’ve made and having to say Not Much. So here’s my twelve projects for 2012.

I should say, also, that what I’m calling “Done” varies pretty wildly based on where the project is currently at. I don’t want to be too demanding of myself, and thus not accomplish anything, so I’m trying to be realistic about what I’m likely to finish on any given project this year. If a step is in brackets, that means it needs to be done, but I’m not counting it as part of my goal for the year.

January – Double Wedding Ring Table Runner


This is a project I started in 2005 (I think!) and intended to give to my mom. I was living in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan at the time and took a class at Periwinkle Quilting with a friend of mine. She finished her top (done in black and brights) straight away, but mine sort of languished and then languished some more.

Edited to add: Finished 13 February 2012.

What needs to be done
1. Press
2. Repair (I know there is at least one split seam…)
3. Baste
4. Quilt
5. Bind

February – Mermaid Mod Times Quilt top

Mendocino Mod Time Quilt Along

This is one of my newer projects, something I started around this time last year. It was part of a quilt-along at Twin Fibers, but I had a genius plan to make mine almost four times larger than the baby-sized sample. I think it’s great looking and I want to have it finished definitely, but it’s sewn together with a million y-seams and it just takes a while to make progress. Also, because you add each piece individually, rather than adding rows, adding each new piece means dragging the entire finished quilt top along to the machine for every seam. Frustrating!

This isn’t a very up-to-date photo as I’ve actually got the first half of it pieced with aqua tiles expanding it out to a much larger size than it appears here on my design wall.

What Needs to be Done
1. Finish piecing the top
(2. Baste, quilt, and bind… or send this one away to be quilted, then bind it.)

March – Poppy Quilt

The Poppy Quilt

This top has been complete for quite a while, a year at least, but I want to send it away to be quilted because I don’t think I could do it justice. (Actually, I know I couldn’t. Not right now, anyway.) My part in finishing this one up will be pretty small, just binding it once it’s back, but first I need to find where I put the backing material so that I can send it away. (And I need to get over my fear of the telephone and call a local long-arm quilter about it…)

What Needs to be Done
1. Press the top
2. Find, press, and sew together the backing fabric.
3. Get top and back to a quilter.
4. Bind

April – Pink Bento Box Charity Quilt

LJ Birthday Blocks
I do have more blocks than this photo shows, but this gives a good enough idea of what the project will be like. I can’t recall how many blocks I have, but I hope it’s either 16 or 20 so that it will make a somewhat decent sized quilt, as I intend to donate this one to charity. At my work we always do fund-raising for four charities, including Breast Cancer Research, so this quilt once finished will be raffled off with any proceeds going to that fund. (I hope in future years to create a quilt for Prostate Cancer research, another of our fundraisers.)

What Needs to be Done
1. Piece additional blocks if necessary (I’d like it to be at least 5-ft square, for a lap quilt.)
2. Piece together top
3. Baste
4. Quilt
5. Bind

More later or tomorrow, once I fish up some old photos of some more projects… or you can watch my video where I jibber on about all twelve projects, archived in this post.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Twelve for Twenty-Twelve: Post One

  1. I love how many people have jumped in on this! I’ve met loads of new crafty-types, mostly quilters, that are joining us. I feel motivated just knowing that I’ve made myself accountable to the InterWebz.

  2. JAN: You are smart to start small in Jan. and work your way up to finishing something. It really does feel good to accomplish stuff.
    FEB: I love the Mendocino quilt and REALLY hope you finish it. If nothing else let’s see an updated picture! =D
    MARCH: Oooo! I remember when you bought that fabric (and had much envy because I never bought any myself but have always secretly had a big crush on it, heehee). I never saw the completed top. How in the world did I miss that?! It’s lovely too. Want me to help? I’ll call a long-armer for you! ;^)
    APRIL: Heeeeeeyyyyy, that looks familiar! ^^

    • Jan: Yeah, I definitely started small and there are some pretty big projects in here, so hopefully the small ones will leave me a bit of time to get ahead on the others πŸ˜€
      Feb: I’m definitely going to finish it, whether it’s quilted this year or not, at least the top will be finished. It’s SO pretty and I’m ridiculously in love with what I’ve got done so far.
      March: I wonder if I never posted the poppy quilt picture before. It’s been done for a while, anyway. They are gorgeous fabrics, aren’t they? I still love Laura Gunn’s style, though I didn’t buy much from her second line. (Came out while I was still holding strong in a Don’t Buy Fabric You Don’t Need phase.)
      April: There’s a little of your craftiness in that project πŸ˜€ I kind of hate pink, but I still kind of love these blocks. They’re just really good looking put together.

Drop me a line...

