Work-in-Progress Girl

Modern Scrappy Bits Swap – Received!

2 Comments

I was really hoping to write this entry on Monday, but I borrowed the first season of Mad Men from the library and had just 7 days to finish the whole season, and I’d wasted the first 2 days because I picked it up while I was working nights and I never watch tv then. (Makes me tired when I should be awake or awake when I should be tired. Does me no good, anyway.) So I had to pack thirteen episodes into five days, whilst also working full-time and trying to feel less ill (I’ve got some sort of lung unpleasantness). So anyway… belated entry.

The Modern Scrappy Bits swap is a Flickr swap where we each were given a name and then would send a fat quarter’s worth of fabric, something small and handmade, a postcard, and some other small something to our recipient. The stuff I made and sent is off in the mail and will probably arrive next week, but the package coming to me arrived on September 7 from Cathy of Blueberry Patch!

Modern Scrappy Bits swap pkg received

When Cathy posted pictures of her swap package on Flickr and on her blog, I’d hoped to myself that I’d win it, because I really love the little needle-book she made! Like everyone, I really love the Mendocino fabric line, it’s just so pretty, who couldn’t love it? And then I really needed a needle-book and at that point, I didn’t have one. Well, now I have two!

Mendocino Needle--book

Cathy decorated some of the pages with pretty little Mendocino scraps (I never throw them out either, even when they’re small like this, or are just lopped off heads and that sort of thing) and some buttons. It’s so sweet, I just can’t even say! And it’s a great size. The one I made for myself is fairly big, but this one is small enough I can easily carry it around with a project if I’m taking needlework to work or during a long car trip.

I thought for sure I had a better picture of the fabric, but I guess I don’t! If it weren’t already filtered into my various groups of fabric scraps I’d take a new photo! In any case, Cathy sent me a very nice selection of greens and blues and pinks with green or pinks with oranges. I think I had some of only one or two of the fabrics she included, so they’re REALLY great additions to my scrap pile. They’ll definitely fill in some spaces. I’ve been playing around with the idea of doing a string quilt to bust through some of my scrap stash or maybe a Mod Mosaic, and every one of these scraps will find a use somewhere. You’ll have to scroll up to see it, but my favourite piece is the blue one (just beside the needle-book) with the white/green tree on it. I’ve never seen that fabric before and it’s so lovely!

Pretty Threads and Pretty Fabric

Cathy included these pretty threads, which might get broken in to stitch up Cate Anevski’s Little Lemon Slice stitch. Although the pinkish-red makes me want to turn her into a watermelon slice, so I’ll have to think about it a bit. I think the white one is perle cotton, but I’m not totally sure (the print is in German, I think, on the paper, but I’ve been told that baumwolle is cotton).

Haida artwork postcard

And last but not least is this is the postcard from the package – it’s Haida artwork of hummingbirds and so so lovely.

I really enjoyed opening the package, which had everything wrapped in red tissue paper tied up with string and it was just fantastic. Thanks so much Cathy!

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

2 thoughts on “Modern Scrappy Bits Swap – Received!

  1. Pingback: Modern Scrappy Bits Winter Swap 2012 « Work-in-Progress Girl

  2. Pingback: WiP Wednesday and a Giveaway Winner | Work-in-Progress Girl

Drop me a line...

