Work-in-Progress Girl

WIP Wednesday: Tulip stitch

4 Comments

WIP: Tulip stitch

This little tulip project comes from Thistle Threads. The pattern can be downloaded there for free, but I also bought the kit which comes with 34-count linen and Au Ver a Soie’s Soie d’Alger threads. So lovely!

I’ve been working on it since I took the photograph and all the dark green is done now, so it’s just that one lonely leaf that’s left to finish. And I want to fix the red on the main petal – I lost a stitch or two in there somewhere and the vein isn’t quite right.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Tulip stitch

  1. Ooooooh, pretty! I canNOT imagine how tiny it is, though! 34…whew!

    • It is very small – the tulip itself is around 2 x 2-inches. Well, I didn’t measure it, but it’s about as tall as my thumb, which I think must be about that long. It was REALLY hard to do to begin with because everything was so small I couldn’t figure out where to go next to keep things in line – I did mess up the centre petal a little (I must have gone over two threads at some point because the top and bottom lined up properly, but the middle didn’t) – and it made my eyes hurt to work on it, but once I had enough stitches in, it got a whole lot easier.

  2. Beautiful!! Even more impressive because of its size!

    • Thanks! When I started it, I wasn’t particularly concious of its size – it was a bit of a shock (even though I should have put it all together, what with the crazy thread count) when I realized just how small taking a stitch over one thread on the linen would turn out.

Drop me a line...

