Work-in-Progress Girl

Modern Scrappy Bits Winter Swap 2012

4 Comments

So yesterday I received my swap package from my flickr swap group, Modern Scrappy Bits. I’m not sure when/if another swap will start up in the group, but it’s something I’d definitely be happy to participate in again. Both rounds I’ve received really great packages of fabric and handmade goodies. I’ve never gotten around to writing about EITHER of the packages I’ve sent away, but I suppose I really should do that one of these days. In any case, here is the entry for the package I received the first time around.

This go around I received fabric/goodies from SouthernlySweet, who, so far as I can tell, doesn’t have a blog. She made for me the most fantastic thing, which is a long weighted pincushion with an attached thread catcher bag and a kind of apron for holding small tools.

Swap Package Received

This photo doesn’t show it at its absolute best, since it’s looking down on it from above, but in my next photo, I’d not got the thread catcher bag attached and it’s kind of upside down. Anyway, never mind that. From this photo above, you can see that there is a strip of felt sewn in for storing needles, and then space on either side for pins. I put that pink ribbon in the bag just to show you basically how it works – you chuck all your little cut-off bits of thread and what have you into the bin, and then you can detach it to empty it. (If you leave it on a table-top, it’s completely reversible as well. I’m not sure where the lining is sewn into it, but it’s completely hidden and looks perfect at any angle really.)

Mod Scrappy Bits Swap Pkg received

Before I worked out how to attach the basket, I took this photo, with my scissors and some other tools in the little apron part. (This is the photo where it’s kind of upside down.) I think it would probably be pretty easy to add a loop for holding scissors (which would actually be a pretty fantastic idea, if you wanted to mess around with the basic formula. Though I suppose you’d have to still be careful about adding too much weight to the hanging portion. You can find the tutorial for it here, created and written by Elizabeth Hartman of Oh, Fransson! fame.)

I’m pretty much in love with the handmade part of my swap package, so I’ve not paid as much attention to the rest of the package as it probably deserves! But here’s a shot with the rest of the goodies:

Mod Scrappy Bits Swap Pkg received

A pretty bundle of fabric, some lovely blue threads, and a few notecards. The embroidery floss are in a very lovely selection of colours, and if I ever get around to making these in-my-mind’s eye snowflake wall-hangings, they will be perfect colours for the snowflakes. (I have the fabric set aside, and the canvas that the fabric will be stretched over. I just haven’t quite started translating the thought to reality.)

Mod Scrappy Bits Swap Pkg received

Opened up, the fabric is mostly a collection of purpley-blues and greens and some bits of Kokka linen-blend fabric. They’re all new-to-me scraps, so they’ll be great additions to that someday string quilt (or log-cabin) that I keep intending to make with the bazillion scraps I’ve got!

Thanks so much to Kiwanier for the fantastic swap package! I really love it a lot and can’t wait to put the pin-cushion to use on my sewing table.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Modern Scrappy Bits Winter Swap 2012

  1. Hi! Is it too late to join this swap?

    • The current swap is nearly finished, so you won’t be able to join it (everything was supposed to be mailed out by December 5), but you should join the community here if you have a Flickr account (or join flickr first, if you don’t – it’s free until you get too many pictures, and even then it’s free but you can’t access your older pictures unless you buy an account). The swap host hasn’t mentioned anything about running a third swap, but if she does, it’ll be mentioned at the group! I imagine she might wait awhile before doing a third swap, but there was only a short while between the first and second swaps while we waited for a few stragglers’ packages to arrive.

  2. I love it! I also joined the group, I need more scraps for my bottled rainbow quilt and I have a bunch of new modern scraps I’d love to swap! BTW – Are we doing a postcard swap soon?

    • I’ve wanted to do a bottled rainbow quilt for a while, but alas… I’ve always got so many things on the go! And then too getting all the fabrics together – I do have a lot, but there are a lot of gaps in the colour wheel. Maybe someday…

      Anyway, postcard swap, yes. Later this week or early next week I’ll put up a post seeing when people think they might like to do another one. (I always meant to in the summer, but somehow forgot entirely.) Hopefully there will be enough people who want to participate 😀

Drop me a line...

