Work-in-Progress Girl

February Goals

11 Comments

Do you think it’ll be easier to accomplish my goals if I talk about them more often instead of just thinking them, and then promptly ignoring them? I guess we’ll see… I had a goal in late January to take on a challenge I’d stumbled over on someone’s blog to spend 20 minutes a day, for the month of February, crafting. And I thought, hey, what a great idea. I can find 20 minutes on any given day – just leave the dish-washing till tomorrow or put off my laundry by one more day or spend less time contemplating how to pluck my eyebrows into just the exact shape I want them, or… you know, whatever. So the very first day, February first, I had worked a night shift and I was tired and I knew I didn’t want to set up my sewing table (which is still in the quilting configuration, rather than the sewing a quilt configuration), so I got out an embroidery project I’ve been working at off and on for months. I think I spent an hour and a half stitching before crapping out and going to bed, but I was pretty self-impressed because hey, I’d done more than twenty minutes!

But then the next day rolled around and I’d worked another night shift and I was even more tired and I thought about it, getting out the stitching again or going to make a different sort of mess of my sewing room so that I could sew again, but instead I justified skipping the day – I’d spent 90 minutes stitching the day before, so really that was kind of like 4 days worth of 20 minutes. But then I skipped another day and another day and somehow now it’s been five days and I haven’t done any crafting. Ooops. So much for that goal.

Well, it was just a thought anyway, a nice thought, but just a thought. Here’s a real goal:

In February, I will baste, quilt, and bind the purple quilt in the following photo.

Posh Tot quilts

Two years ago my co-worker found out his wife was unexpectedly pregnant, and before they found out if they were having a boy or a girl, I thought I’d just make one quilt for each eventuality and then finish the one that was needed. As you can guess, they had a boy, so that blue quilt has been done for a while now (you can read about it here), but the purple quilt top has languished. Nobody I know has had a baby girl in the last two years, so I haven’t really had a reason to pull it out from the closet and sew it.

Anyway, now is the time, so I pulled it out of the closet on Tuesday and tried to shake out the wrinkles (it’s going to take a good bit of pressing…) so that I can get it finished up. I need to find the quilt backing: I’m pretty sure I’d bought fabric for the back at the same time, or at least I hope so since I’m not sure that colour is available any more. Oh, then again, I’m totally wrong: MadAboutPatchwork does have Mulberry in stock. And now that I think of it, I think it’s the purple in my OTHER Mendocino quilt that’s not being made any more. And then I need to decide how to quilt it – I’m leaning towards figuring out how to do something wave like or water-motiony. I’ll probably default of straight line quilting because I’m lazy and that’s easy but hopefully I’ll be able to figure out how to do something more organic and pretty than that. I think I need to find binding for it too – I think a bright pink would be assume, but maybe I’ll just go with more Mulberry or pull in that Daffodil yellow again, since there is so little of it in the quilt.

My other goal for February is to finish up my ABC Sampler.

Daisychain ABC Sampler in progress

There isn’t much to see in this photo, but my camera is downstairs so I can’t take a more up-to-date one. Anyway, I want to get this sampler done so that I can move on to my next embroidery project without getting all stressy about having WIPs in two different crafts. (I have enough quilting ones I definitely don’t need embroidery ones as well!) I think I only have 3 or 4 letters left to go and then it’ll be finished – just blocking and framing.

Anyway, linking up to:
A Lovely Year of Finishes
A Year of Lovely Finishes


The Needle and Thread Network

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced
WIP Wednesday at Freshley Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

11 thoughts on “February Goals

  1. Fabulous baby quilts! I just pinned two together yesterday. The baby’s were born last year. Finishing can be my February goal too!

    • Awesome 😀 Sometimes I kind of like doing baby quilts best – big enough to be interesting, but small enough to quilt fairly easily. (Just not so usable for a grown-up… Alas.)

  2. Nice tops and lovely handwork!

  3. I confessed to my UFO’s at the beginning of january. I am so glad i did. I am getting them finished, vowing to not start anything new. Some are so old they seem new again. Three quilts ready to be quilted.

    • I’m not sure I could make a complete list of all my WIPs/UFOs – there are so many and every time I think I know what’s what, I find another thing stashed away somewhere 😀 One of these days I’ll get a handle on it!

  4. I loved reading your “Goal” story! :)…At least you tried! I’m like that too. Your embroidery is exquisite! How are you going to finish the embroidery?

  5. You can restart your resolution anytime – it’s like giving up smoking, might take several tries to make it stick. But you are asking a lot of yourself while working night-shift. perhaps it would be easier to craft an hour on your days off?

  6. You can restart your resolution anytime, it may be as with giving up smoking and might take several tries to make it stick. And working night shift is hard. perhaps rather craft an hour each day off.

    • Yeah, I tend to do most of my crafting on my days off. I have a bit of a strange schedule (because I mix days and nights each week – 3 day shifts, 2 night), so mostly I work on things when I get the weekend off, and that’s probably always going to be more practical than trying to get myself to craft every day regardless of the weird scheduling. Unfortunately, I only get every other weekend off, but it’s a nice way to relax, craft therapy 😀

Drop me a line...

