Work-in-Progress Girl

Banner Mail Week

9 Comments

I had a kind of banner mail week last week, but I had a week where every thing seemed to take all the time ever and I didn’t manage to accomplish much of anything like, say, posting about my brilliant mail or taking photos. For instance, I recorded a video about it, but didn’t get any further than transferring the file to my computer. Hopefully I’ll get it edited in time for next Tuesday.

Anyway, a little while back I won a giveaway for pot-holders made by Michelle of Factotum of Arts. I got to choose between two different sets and I picked these fantastic green ones with a brilliant chicken print in the centre.

Chicken Pot Holders

LOVE! I haven’t used them, but I’d hate to get them dirty, so I don’t know if I ever will! I LOVE the chicken print on these, but also the linen (?) on the back and the dot print is pretty fantastic as well. Thanks so much, Michelle!

The other package I received was from my Modern Scrappy Bits Swap on flickr. I haven’t got pictures of all the fabric that Deanna of Little D and Me because I filtered it all into my scrap bins before thinking to take a picture, but to be honest I was so in love with the hand-made portion of the swap that I barely paid attention to the fabric scraps.

She made me a Doctor Who fabric basket.

Bigger on the Inside

How absolutely brilliant is that? When I saw this basket show up in the group flickr photostream, I’d really hoped it would be for me – I’d mentioned a love of DW – but I didn’t want to hope too much because I didn’t want the disappointment if it had turned out to be for someone else.

Untitled

I’m rather irritated to discover that I left the notecard in the other room because I’d love to tell you about Deanna’s reasons for choosing the fabrics inside the basket – I recall that the dots were because travelling through time and space would leave her seeing spots and I think the swirls were to represent the dizziness of doing so, and then the starry print near the bottom is to represent space itself. She also said that the text prints were gibberish, but that she translated them for me, to read Bigger on the Inside.

So awesome. I was so very pleased to get that in the mail, I can’t even begin to say 😀 Thank you, thank you Deanna!

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

9 thoughts on “Banner Mail Week

  1. Your welcome!!! I am glad you like them. I love the Dr. Who basket….it must of felt like Christmas 😉

    • Haha, yeah it was kind of like Christmas! The DW basket came with a mountain of fabric scraps, and then I also had another envelope of scraps come from someone else online who I’d sent some scraps to back in December, so there was that too 😀 It was a great week for mail.

  2. SO JEALOUS. 😀

    What a wonderful bunch of mail. I love the rationale behind the Who Basket fabrics! So great.

    • I was very prepared to be jealous of whoever it was for when I first saw pictures in the Flickr swap group – and then it arrived and yeah… I was super excited about that 😀

      I’m going to be able t make a little Doctor Who shrine in my house – my sister stitched me the dalek propaganda poster, the card from you (which I can’t find! I put it away somewhere “safe” and don’t remember where!), and now this 😀

    • AND! I forgot to mention it, but I also have my Adipose Baby that Jordan made me 😀

  3. So so jealous 😉 I love them and I am so glad you got them 🙂

  4. I had to pin it so I could remember to make something similar! Alright I am done now 🙂

  5. Pingback: Hedgie Fabric Basket | Work-in-Progress Girl

  6. Pingback: Scrappy Trip Around the World | Work-in-Progress Girl

Drop me a line...

