Work-in-Progress Girl

Scrappy Trip Around the World

10 Comments

I’ve kind of disappeared off into the ether the last little while, which wasn’t really intentional, but… life. I seem to be having a hard time this year with balancing everything, I’m just doing bits of everything in fits and starts and not really accomplishing much at all. Hopefully once it really hits spring I’ll settle down a little bit and get my equilibrium back.

Anyway, last night I sat down to watch The Hunger Games movie and spent my time sorting through all my fabric pulling out all my batiks.

Batiks

I think a lot of people go through a stage of loving batiks and some people never come out the other side, but I did. So all these fabrics have just been sitting around getting by-passed every time I need a fabric for anything (because they’re harder to blend into a block, you almost need to go all or nothing on the batiks) and I decided it was silly to have them sitting around but to do nothing with them. So I dragged my mind all the way back to the beginning of the year when everyone and his or her dog in the quilting blogosphere was making Scrappy Trip Around the World blocks. I found it interesting at the time, but was determined not to pick up another new project. But… I guess I’ve got a bug up my butt about making use of these fabrics. So I also pressed everything and sorted all the pieces that are too small into my TARDIS bucket and made a nice big pile of fabric to start cutting.

I’ve borrowed a season of Robin Hood from the library (I’ve never seen it before and picked it up on a whim, I bet it’s going to be TERRIBLE), so maybe today I’ll watch that and start in on cutting all my strips.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

10 thoughts on “Scrappy Trip Around the World

  1. I have those moments too – always seem to busy and not getting anything really accomplished. I have been thinking about a scrappy trip around the world but since I have not finished quilting my first quilt and I already have 3-4 others in mind I suppose it will just have to go on a never ending to do list ;-).

    Glad to see you back 🙂

    • The scrappy TATW seems like it should go together quickly, which is pretty appealing, really! All that cutting out, though, that’s going to be effortful 😀

      My quilting to-do list is so long it could nearly be a novel! It’s great if you can keep yourself restrained to finishing a project before starting a project. My greatest crafting downfall is I love starting things, so I’ve always got eleventy-billion projects in the works that never get finished.

  2. Looking forward to seeing how it turns out. It’s such a brilliant idea. I’m over my batik crush too. Unfortunately I have enough fabric to make ten more quilts.

  3. Have fun with your trip! I have never been in love with batiks but I have got a few. I try to purchase them as more project-specifics rather than collect a bunch. I do find the odd project where they blend really well, but I’ve never done anything JUST with batiks. Just not how I roll. 🙂

    • Yeah, I’ve not been the biggest fan for quite a while, but some of these have been in my collection for 10 years now 🙂 When I first started quilting, the only place to buy fabric was a Fabricland in my hometown (and the local Walmart) and by and large their fabric was fussy old lady looking prints (tiny florals) and batiks, so I picked up a lot of batiks back then. I did like them, but once I moved to the big city (of Saskatoon :D) and had some options, I moved in pretty different directions, fabric-wise, so a lot of these have been languishing for a long time.

      I’ve got a friend who does a lot of charity work with a Linus off-shoot, so I’m planning to send whatever I make to her for donation. Good for them, and for me, getting rid of some unwanted stash 😀

  4. Yeah, I never went through the batik phase… they have never appealed to me, though a couple of my quilting friends love them. Glad you’re getting use of your TARDIS basket 🙂

    • There are nice things about batiks – the brightness of the colours (at least sometimes) and some of the prints are beautiful (then again many are kind of watery or plain mottled ones or not very distinct or whatever, so I guess like all fabrics it just depends on what you’ve found) and it’s great to sew with (my machine really likes sewing that tighter weave) – but yeah. I guess like all things, your mileage may vary. I’m kind of excited to finally be using them, even if I don’t love the way they look any more. (The one that I do love, and there is one, I couldn’t cut – it’s this beautiful blue, like Japanese indigo fabric, with white waves and I just love it, even though I can’t imagine a way of using it.) I don’t know how many strips I cut or how many blocks I’ll get out of them, but it should make a few good quilt tops for charity, and they’ll be bright and fun, so that’s something at least.

  5. I have never been in love with batiks myself. I occasionally use it in paper piecing if the color and texture is right. Your collection looks fabulous. You are absolutely right, it’s either use all batiks in a project or none. Scrappy Trip Around the World sounds like a fantastic idea to use those fabric. Have fun!!

    • Some of the marble or mottled prints are pretty good for creating the right kind of texture – the weeping angel would work well with a marbled batik, of course – and some of the other prints can be pretty fantastic. But yeah, I don’t know. I’ve definitely lost the love, anyway. Oh well, they’re going to make some bright fun quilts for kids, which is all right.

Drop me a line...

