Work-in-Progress Girl

Fabric Friday?

2 Comments

Just a quick one today – a Fabric Friday post, since I don’t foresee myself making anything you can actually look at until Monday or Tuesday at least. (Maybe Sunday, if I can manage not to sleep the whole day away – I work nights this weekend.) I was going to write about a quilt my sister wants me to repair (which I think might be too difficult a task), but that seems like too difficult a task to write about right now! So many pictures! So many details! Maybe next week…

Fabric Friday

Anyway, all of that came in the mail this week from Hawthorne Threads, which remains my favourite shop to buy fabric from, even though I’m generally speaking avoiding buying fabric because the cost to ship has gotten so astronomically high.

All the fabrics on the left are from Lizzy House’s Constellations line. From the top, they are Star Charts in Blue, Supernova in Purple, Constellation in Blue, and (just barely peeking out from the bottom) Asterisk in Black. I’ve been wanting to buy some of this fabric for ages, so I’m glad I finally bit the bullet and ordered it. The rest of it is just random oranges – ZigZag in Orange from Dear Stella’s Garden Party, Robert Kaufman’s Metro Living Tiles in Marigold, and Circle Stitch in Orange from Michael Miller’s Mod Basic. I never seem to have much orange around, so I bought those to fill in a few corners on that neglected section in my fabric stash.

What have you been buying lately?

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

2 thoughts on “Fabric Friday?

  1. I’m trying to use from my stash and not buy fabric unless it’s to finish a project (i.e.: backings, batting, etc). It’s going ok…ish. lol. I did buy some Kona Ash and some linen lately but that’s it. However, my bee month is in June so that will probably mean more buying. It’s a vicious cycle, eh?

    • It really is a vicious cycle! Fortunately I’ve already bought my fabric for my Simply Solids month, so I can’t use that as an excuse to buy more! I’ve done really, really well not buying things (like you I’m trying to use more and only buy what I need to finish a project) and then it all kind of exploded in one fell swoop and I bought a triangle ruler, two different kinds of batting, a yard and a half of essex linen, all that fabric in my picture, an embroidery kit with special hand-dyed threads… I better have gotten all that retail therapy out of the way at once because I sure blew up the fabric diet with all that 😀

Drop me a line...

