Work-in-Progress Girl

Blog Lovin’ and some Random Hatin’

10 Comments

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I’m already annoyed by BlogLovin’ and I haven’t even used it yet. Why on EARTH should I have to “claim” my blog?

Is there are hormone that makes you unreasonably angry? I think I have too much of that right now.

Yesterday I was trying to copy a pattern out of a new quilting/sewing book that I recently bought – Patchwork Please (just a link, not a way to get a half a cent if someone buys it, or however that works…) – and no matter how much I mashed that book flat onto my scanner, I just could NOT get it to scan the entire pattern without it being on an angle or cutting off a bit or casting a shadow over half the pattern. So I ripped it out of the book. No lie.

Pattern, Please?

Too much anger.

I guess it’s a good thing there wasn’t anything important on the other side of the page (it was a facing page to another section, so just a picture, not even a picture of another project), but now I’m going to have that one loose page for ever and ever until I inevitably lose it a few months before wanting to make the pattern again. Anyway, I promptly changed my mind and didn’t actually make the project in question anyway. But if I ever want to… at least I’ll be able to scan it without problems. (Blowing it up 143%? That’ll be a whole other problem. I really despise books that tell me to blow things up to ridiculous sizes because my stupid printer doesn’t have options that allow me to specify 143% – I can barely make it scan and print something at the size it started from, never mind changing the size entirely.)

I spent most of my morning in a haze of anger because my boss called in sick today (not angry about that) and I had to do all his work and all my work and all the work that was left from the weekend, but oh by the way, can you do this? and can you do that “just for a few minutes”? and the cleaner is going to get and stay in your way, by the way, even though he’s not actually cleaning anything, and he’s going to have a very, very loud conversation on the phone while he’s not cleaning and… just ugh. So not impressed with the day.

But really, I should stop thinking about it or I’m going to start getting angry about the fact that it’s snowing again, and it’s cold and windy as all get out and I’m cold and my hair is windblown… everything just magnifies, when you’re already in a mood, doesn’t it?

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

10 thoughts on “Blog Lovin’ and some Random Hatin’

  1. Ah some days are just like that…they’re also usually Mondays. Hope the rest of the week improves.

    • It’s not often I can blame Mondays for being Monday (I work alternating weekends, so sometimes my “Monday” is actually Friday or whatever), but I had this weekend off, so it really was the First Day Back Blues.

      Anyway, thanks! I’m sure things will be better if I just take a few deep breathes, and maybe go take a hot bath and forget the rest of the world exists, just for a while πŸ˜€

  2. Sounds like a bad day all round, I hope it gets better soon.

    If it helps I sent an email a couple of weeks back and asked Ayumi (from Patchwork Please) the following….”I do have one suggestion – maybe in future prints or other books, the patterns could be provided online for printing purposes with a code that is provided in the purchased book.” She answered that it would be the first thing she would look into next time….she didn’t know that her patterns would have to be enlarged.

    I have been using tracing paper to draw the pattern and then use that to photocopy it.

    • Yeah, I’ve actually mellowed out a little, since this morning πŸ˜€ (Hard to believe..) Tomorrow will be better – it’s my quiet day, when I get 4 hours to do a 2 hour job, so that’s a nice thing. (Usually it’s the other way around.)

      That’s a great suggestion, and great that you suggested it to Ayumi. I’ve got a couple books that came with cds, which have the patterns on them, and while that’s nice in theory, in practise it’s kind of… not great either, if you can’t access the information on it (I mean, I can, but say my sister who has an iPad – she’d not be able to get the info if she were into crewel embroidery or whatever). And I’ve heard some libraries don’t stock books that have pattern packets in them (like, say, Amy Butler’s books often have) or discs. (Mine does.) Having something accessible online would be great, though I suppose they might have to come with a caveat that it won’t be available forever.

      The one thing I have made from Patchword Please (well… half made, so far), I did wind up getting a bit wiser and I traced it onto some template plastic I had – it was a pattern that didn’t need to be enlarged. And I can tuck that plastic into an envelope with the ripped out page and store it with the book for the future.

  3. I am sure that we all have days that would have been more comfortably spent snuggled in bed with a project, cup of iced tea and your cat.

    It is obvious that publishers do not notice or even care that the projects be easily scanned. To be honest, I think they do that intentionally, so that if you do want to do a project, you are forced to tear it, making it less desirable on ebay or used bookstores etc, which means more sales for them.

    • I’ve never really thought about the book thing in that way, but I could see that, at least to some extent. I think too they want to use the least amount of space possible, so just they shrink some patterns to fit into the space between this paragraph and that or whatever needs doing to make it all fit.

  4. I think I might have this same hormone/anger problem. Or maybe it’s just that the older I get, the less I’m willing to put up with. Possibly just getting jaded πŸ˜‰

  5. I’m sorry, I chuckled. Only because this is the exact sort of thing that happens to me! When it rains, it pours. Or if you’re in Alberta, when it’s spring, it snows πŸ™‚

    • Haha… yeah. Fortunately the snow didn’t stick around over here – it was gone before morning. Did you guys get more snow than that? I don’t know where you are in relation to Calgary, but wherever my boss lives (I feel like it’s one of the c-name towns around Calgary – Carstairs or something) they woke up to a winter wonderland.

Drop me a line...

