Work-in-Progress Girl

Doctor Who Two (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 2)

4 Comments

Okay, I think I lost a day somewhere, because it’s Thursday, not Wednesday and I was going to post about the Doctor Who Stitch-a-long on Wednesday. But I guess I know where the time went – I stayed at work a half hour late, then went and got my hair cut and coloured (and let my hairdresser talk me into highlights, but I hate them, so…) and then when I got home, my sister was watching Masterchef, and even though I always hate the first episode of competition shows (and especially the ones where people have to compete to get on, but seem to already have been pre-selected, else why would there be cameras in the car with the relatives of one potential participant?) I still let myself get sucked into it. And then it just kept going! It was two episodes and not one! (Maybe it was more than two – I stopped watching halfway through the second episode.) Anyway, I didn’t get my photo taken until this morning, so the post,.. it is late.

DW-SAL-Badge

For our second pattern/block of this Stitch-a-long, we have Patrick Troughton’s Second Doctor:

Doctor the Second

This pattern was designed by the wonderful and multi-talented Jennifer Ofenstein of SewHooked and Fandom In Stitches. The idea for this stitch-a-long was her’s and the quilt pattern (should you choose to follow it!) is designed by her as well! Jennifer is also a prolific paper-piece designer and has designed a multitude of Harry Potter quilt blocks (amongst many, many others – that owl wall-hanging I did a couple years ago? Her pattern.) In any case, you can find the pattern for the second doctor here at Fandom In Stitches.

So far I think Jennifer and I are the only ones who’ve completed the second pattern, and here is her version:

The Second Doctor

Jennifer is stitching her patterns in three-strand back stitch. I didn’t link to the photo with her sashing on, but she’s doing a scrappy sashing for her quilt, which I believe is destined for her Who-loving daughter.

Second Doctor

I stitched my Second Doctor primarily in 2-strand Split Stitch – my favourite stitch! The bow-tie was done in some combination of split stitch (around the outside) and something like back-stitch for the plaid, though to be honest I don’t think I could tell you how I did it exactly. Some of it was done in long stitches all the way across the space, but others were broke up into smaller stitches so that I could make it a “crooked” looking plaid. I did a back stitch for the dangly bits on his recorder (flute?) (though the recorder itself is done in split stitch). And the fingers, oh those fat sausage fingers that hated me so, I did those in stem stitch.

The Doctor's Hand

I have a lot of issues with stem stitch – I always forget which side of the needle to hold the thread on and then it stops looking rope-like and starts looking like it’s going to fall apart – but I think it came together all right anyway. It just felt like I needed something different from the split stitch for getting around the tight curves of his nails and finger tips.

A few details:
Fabrics
Sashing – light blue – Star Charts in Blue from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Sashing – purple – Supernova in Purple from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Background – Essex Linen Blend in Natural

Threads
Blue – DMC 939
Green – DMC Satin Floss S702

If you’re fan of Who, I really do hope you’ll join in! If you share your photos at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group, you’ll be entered to win a monthly prize (and there may just be a slightly bigger prize at the end for someone who finishes all twelve patterns…). (But that’s just a rumour! Shh!) There are already a handful of First Doctors stitched up and posted, each of them just a little different from the next. I love how much people are making these patterns their own:

mosaic18b897a54335e85bc2a638b4d9c03a5293294900

1. The first doctor, 2. Will Hartnell, 3. Dr Who Block and Dr. 1, 4. First Doctor Block, 5. The First Doctor, 6. 1st doctor, 7. IMG_1251s8. Not available9. Not available

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Doctor Who Two (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 2)

  1. I love that you’re posting every week about the SAL! Gotta admit though, there was some blushing my end today! 😉 Two looks brilliant, love the color variety and the stitching!

    • I’m hoping to keep up with it! At least so long as I get all the patterns stitched up – I’ve hit a block on the fourth one though, I just have too much sewing to do right now, and keep not doing it either!

  2. These will be amazing when they are all done together. I don’t really watch much Dr. Who these days but my teenage kids find it fun. I will be interested to see what my doctors from my childhood look like when they are done.

    • Which were your doctors? My favourite are Nine and Ten, but I’ve never seen any of the older ones. I’ve still not totally warmed up to 11, though I’m liking him a little better as time goes on.

Drop me a line...

