Work-in-Progress Girl

Would you like a Jelly Baby? (Doctor Who Stitch-a-Long Week 4)

10 Comments

Most of the people I know who like Doctor Who liked it before I was born, and this doctor, the Fourth Doctor, is THEIR Doctor. (For me, I think it’ll probably always be David Tennant, though, with a very definite fondness for Christopher Eccelston. They could do a Ninth or Tenth Doctor reboot from before Rose or after Rose but before Martha or whatever, just kind of go back in time, but not really because it’s a show full of time travel, and have either of them back for another five years and I’d be a happy camper.)

DW-SAL-Badge

This fourth pattern of the Stitch-a-long is Tom Baker’s Fourth Doctor, he of the jelly babies and the long, long scarf and the sort of CRAZY EYES (not shown here because eyes are HARD to stitch!):

Doctor the Fourth

This pattern (not quite as pictured here) was created by Kim Kuehn of Geek Stitching. Kim’s designed a pile of embroidery/cross-stitch patterns for various fandoms, including a series based on Pixar films (my favourite is the one for UP). Up above is my not quite complete take on the pattern (more on that in a moment), but you can get the pattern here at Fandom in Stitches, and you can see Kim’s version done right here (or at FiS, where you can click to embiggen it – I had to steal the photo so that I could post it, but you can see a larger version at the source):

04kimsig_zps58245269

I don’t have a finished version of my block, with the sashing attached, because I was 95% done when I suddenly realized that I wasn’t 95% done at all – I’d forgotten to transfer the “Four” when I did my window-as-a-lightbox transfer. Worse than that, I’d centred Four’s body on the block without including the word and I haven’t measured it out yet, but I’m not sure if my block has enough spare room on the right to fit in the word and still have an appropriate border around all the sides. Sigh. That’s a job for today or tomorrow. I guess.

You might notice one other change, and that’s that I added a line to suggest a vest, so that his cravat would have something to be tucked in to. I’m not sure why I felt like it needed that one extra line (and button), but it just felt right to me!

Fourth Doctor Detail

As with the others, this block was stitched primarily in 2-strand split stitch, but I also used chain stitch in the red sections to suggest the knit look of his scarf. The lines on his cravat are all long straight stitches. I think that was just me being lazy – I probably could/should have done it in split stitch and I’m really not sure why I didn’t. The stitch I’ll use for the “four” will depend on which colour I use. I really like that shiny red, so I’m tempted to stitch it out in red (in which case: chain stitch), but it’s a bit intense and doesn’t really need THAT much red in the block, so I should probably go with the blue (so: split stitch).

A few details:
Fabrics
Sashing – light blue – Star Charts in Blue from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Sashing – purple – Supernova in Purple from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Background – Essex Linen Blend in Natural
Threads
Blue – DMC 939
Red – DMC Satin Floss S666

If you share your photos at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group, you’ll be entered to win a monthly prize and I’m also offering a special prize to someone who finishes all twelve patterns by August 12 – Nine Fat Quarters from Lizzy House’s Constellations line of fabric:

FQ Prize

This is the Lunar Landing colourway of the line, which has richer, more royal blues than the fabrics I’m using, and doesn’t have the purple tones. You MUST post your pictures at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group to win, so if you’re stitching along, don’t forget to share with the class!

There aren’t nearly so many new stitches this week as there have been in the past couple weeks, but Week Three was a slightly more intense pattern than the previous week’s have been, so I’m sure once people are over that hump, more new blocks will be showing up all over again:

mosaicbf2b268caf67de7a6bd410a3f553061bcec3ff7a

1. 941956_10200385443853589_980584398_n, 2. Third Doctor Block, 3. Week one quilt block for dr. Who quilt, 4. Week three dr who wuilt, 5. Doctor who block two, 6. doctor who block one, 7. Doctor 2 with Sashing, 8. Dr Who Block One

Also, because this has been my big work in progress for the last little while, and will continue to be for the next several weeks while I try to get ahead on the patterns again… I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

10 thoughts on “Would you like a Jelly Baby? (Doctor Who Stitch-a-Long Week 4)

  1. I love your modifications on this one, too – the vest looks really good. I hope you find a solution for the ‘four’.

    5-year reboot of Doctor 9 or Doctor 10. You have something there. There’s the whole time window in the episode ‘Rose’ between where the Doctor leaves Rose with Mickey then returns to say that the TARDIS is also a time machine. Decades to play with there!!

    And thank you for the courteous phrasing of “a slightly more intense pattern” for 3 (as opposed to, say, “frickin’ difficult and fiddly”)!

    • Thanks! I don’t know, the vest just felt right to my eyes (but I do have a hard time pulling things back and making them more simple, so…) so I’m glad it works! I did drawn in the “four” (with water-soluble pen) and I’m 90% certain it’ll fit. I didn’t measure it to make sure the balance will be equal on either side, but it looks like there’s enough give room, so I’m just going to go with it.

      See, that’s perfect! These imaginary seasons could just slot right in like they were meant to be there all along! I’m always up for any ideas that bring about more Eccelston and/or Tennant.

      Haha… it’s not that it’s a difficult block, it’s just that it takes a long time to stitch! There’s a lot of lines in that one! Actually, the only “fiddly” bit about it was deciding which lines to stitch when so that I could do the most amount possible without having to do a lot of travelling across the back of the piece (or ending a thread and starting fresh elsewhere). I always try to imagine the flow of where I’m stitching so that I do it in the most efficient way possible, but there were a lot of places to go with that one!

  2. What a fun quilt-a-long! Hoping my husband doesn’t catch sight of this, he is a big fan of Doctor Who, especially the older doctors, he replays the old series frequently. Me, I am definitely a David Tennant fan too. Not found the latest series quite so good with Matt Smith. Your stitching looks great.

    • I’ve never really watched any of the older doctors, just snippets mostly on YouTube. Sometimes I think I should try some of it out, but there’s just so much of it!

      I’ve never quite warmed up to Matt Smith either, though there are scattered episodes where I enjoy his take on The Doctor. I really did like David Tennant a lot, though! He’s my favourite for sure.

  3. Tom Baker *is* my Doctor! Tennant is my modern Doctor, but I’ve waited very patiently to get to week Four! (I finally got 1 stitched up and will post this weekend.)

    • Awesome! Can’t wait to see your One!

      I hope you like all the patterns, but especially Four and Ten, since they’re your favourites 😀 (Actually, I didn’t design any of them, but I think all the modern doctor patterns are the best, but maybe that’s just because I’m “closer” to those doctors, so I appreciate them more :D)

  4. I remember watching Doctor Who with my dad when I was little and at that time Tom Baker was the Doctor, so he has a special place in my heart. 🙂 That said, I really appreciate the extra attention you gave to him! I’m not doing the SAL at this time, but when I do I’ll be borrowing your version, if you don’t mind. 🙂
    I just started watching the new version of Doctor Who and while I grew to love Chris Eccleston, and even though I’m only half way through the second season, I’ve already decided David Tennant is my fave. (But I’m a bit biased because I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, too and so for me DT will always be Barty Crouch Jr. 😀 )

    • I was born in 1980, so I was still a baby when Tom Baker’s run was over, and I suppose it was off the air by the time I was old enough to appreciate it. (My mom wouldn’t let me watch shows with aliens though, so probably I wouldn’t have been allowed even if it had been on!) Sometimes I think I should check out some of the older stuff, but it just seems so dated (which I sometimes have a hard time getting past) and also there’s just so much of it!

      I definitely don’t mind if you use my version! I don’t think Kim would mind either if anyone changed it. I don’t know if you look at the Fandom in group on flickr at all, but I love seeing how much variation people have put into their doctors – one of my favourites has plaid trousers on One and someone else used actual tassels on Two’s recorder. Anyway, when/if you get around to stitching these I hope you’ll post pictures! The patterns will be available at Fandom in Stitches so long as FiS is around.

      I’m a bit of a David Tennant fangirl so he’s definitely my favourite too 😀 He was creepy/fun in Harry Potter, the tongue thing and all that.

  5. I love your stitching. I noticed that the other blocks had numbers so if you don’t have room for “Four” you could just use the number or shrink the word yourself. By now you’ve probably solved the issue so my suggestions may be for naught hey, (that’s the first time I have ever used that word.)

    • Thank you!

      I did get the word to fit, I’ve just been lazy and haven’t photographed the finished product. (Also, I just realized my camera batteries have been dead for days and I forgot to put them in the charger. I should go do that! )I’ll have to get it done for tomorrow’s Who post!

Drop me a line...

