Work-in-Progress Girl

Stitch Stitch Stitch-along…

4 Comments

You could be forgiven for thinking I haven’t been doing anything other than stitching up Doctors for the Doctor Who Stitch-Along because I really just keep talking about that and pretty much nothing else. But I have been up to other things! Just, you know, not much. I spent five hours at the hospital one night! But, oh wait, no crafts there. I worked 7.5 hours overtime last week! But, oh wait, no crafts there. I found out my wasting-my-brain job might be an even bigger waste when the company got bought out by another company and the only thing everyone can agree on is that if they retain us employees, they’ll probably roll back our pay by 20-30%. But again, oh wait, no crafts there. Nope, all of that just generates stress, not crafts.

But to de-stress, I’ve been doing some crafting, and virtually all of has been hand-crafts, that most zen of the crafty things I do. I used to find hand-crafts so boring, but there’s something enjoyable and kind of soothing about turning off your mind and just stitching a hundred granito stitches, one after another, in a couple square inches of fabric.

Granito Stitch Fill

This is the first of three stitches to be shared by &Stitches for their June Sampler-Along. I’m not sure why they’re only doing three stitches, because the pattern has room for seven stitches (or eight if you closed up the loop, which I know isn’t very visible in my photo) and now I’m going to have to come up with four other options to fill in the holes.

June Sampler-Along

So that’s basically the whole project. The pattern is a circle (or a donut, almost), cut into seven segments, with a hollowed out area in the centre and an empty eighth segment (you might be best to go see it at their site because my lines are so very, very faint – that linen did not want to absorb the pen marks). I’m planning to use the seven threads on the right and that piece of Kokka fabric will be part of… whatever I do to turn it into a mini-quilt (wall-hanging or mug rug, I dunno). The threads are all from Sublime Stitching thread packs, the colours (from the top): Velvet Curtain, Absinthe, Amazonite, Fainting Couch, Tassel, Corset, and Bell Pull.

Sheaf Filling Stitch

I’ve only just gotten started on the second area, which houses the sheaf stitch, but I think I’m going to pick it out and start again. It’s just a bit… well, weedy looking. I think I need to use one more strand of thread in the needle, and I’ve got to figure out if I want them all in neat little rows (the granito stitch I didn’t – I wanted it more or less in rows, but with some offness to them, and maybe I should aim for the same thing here). I think the paleness of the pink against the darker “natural” colour of the linen doesn’t really help, but it needs something to help it pop out a little more.

Two stitch-alongs weren’t enough, though. No. The Doctor may be time consuming, but he’s not everything, and the Granito stitch might have given me some moments of calm, but the Wild Olive Summer Stitching Club looked like it was going to be cute enough to warm even the most curmudgeonly of hearts. The pattern is made of hexagons, of which twelve will have cute things stitched on them. Hexies are a thing I’ve never done, so I appreciated the chance to try out a new thing, while working on something kind of low-key and easy.

I haven’t gotten started on my hexies at all yet (haven’t even picked out fabrics yet, except for the three different scraps of linen I’m going to use for the pieces with stitching on them), but I’ve got the first two patterns stitched up:

Sunglasses

I’ve decided to do them primarily in back-stitch, since it’s a stitch I pretty well never use. I think it works for this project though, so I’m going to keep it up.

Sun

The third pattern will be for a cute little smiling bikini, and hopefully I’ll get started on that soon. It seems like a fair few participants have already got the background hexies finished and I haven’t even chosen fabrics yet! I’m a bit nervous about making the hexies, since I don’t know how, but so many people seem to find them addictive, and hopefully I will too! (Or, anyway, addictive enough to get me through making the quilt top!)

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Stitch Stitch Stitch-along…

  1. Oh, I love these! Hand stitching is very Zen, isn’t it? I’ve been doing a lot of it lately, I guess I need the therapy! πŸ˜‰

  2. Well, I’m glad you have a healthy way to manage your stress though it sucks that there’s so much to begin with… I hope the new company doesn’t suck. Or that the perfect opportunity for a new job falls precisely in your lap. πŸ™‚

    • It’s that whole Safeway Sobey’s buyout thing.. We’ve had exactly as much news as the actual press release had, so it’s kind if nerve- wracking. I’m not so good with uncertainty πŸ™‚

      Anyway, the stitching has been enjoyable at least!

      Sent from my iPhone

Drop me a line...

