Work-in-Progress Girl

The Sixth Doctor (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 6)

8 Comments

sixthdoctor

I tried to find a good video of the Sixth Doctor to put in here, but there really isn’t a lot of variety up on YouTube (most of it either being scenes or pictures set to music or else examples of the Doctor being rude to his companion Peri), so instead, the (rather tiny) shot of his crazy-cakes funhouse outfit. If you’ve got an urge to stitch up a coat of many colours, this is your last chance for doing it in this stitch-a-long!

DW-SAL-Badge

The sixth pattern of the Stitch-a-Long is Colin Baker’s Sixth Doctor:

Doctor the Sixth

This pattern was created by Jennifer Ofenstein of Sewhooked and the owner and maintainer Fandom in Stitches and our stitch-a-long host. I’ve verbally-swooned over her pattern creation and design (both paper piecing and embroidery) on her previous block – the Second Doctor – so I’ll hold myself back this time. (Also, I need to store up some love to share along with her next block, which will show up in a few weeks and which is brilliant.) You can get the pattern for this block here at Fandom in Stitches.

Below is Jennifer’s version of this block, and you should click through to see it bigger:

The Sixth Doctor

While I got lazy and did seed stitches for the necktie (which I also simplified), Jennifer did bucketloads of French Knots.

Six

Once again, this pattern is stitched largely in a two-strand split stitch, with a bit of satin stitching for the knot in his tie (pretty crappy satin stitching at that, I could use a little more work on creating the perfect circle, clearly!), and dozens and dozens of seed stitches for the spots on his tie. (Ascot? Cravat? What is it called when it’s just a thin ribbon of fabric tied in a very large bow?) I don’t really recall, but some of the tighter curves may have been done in stem stitch, rather than split stitch, but as I recall it was all split stitch – just teeny tiny ones for some of those locks of his curly hair!

This pattern marks the midway point in the stitch-a-long, with six patterns behind us and six left ahead, so it’s only right that I show you a photo of my first six blocks together! I haven’t stitched them together yet, but I’m toying with the idea of changing the placement of the blocks. I think I’m probably going to start with one at the top left and then make a column down, across the bottom, back up the side, and looping down the middle. That’ll let the doctors that I’m most familiar with and fond of appear up top on the quilt, rather than down in the bottom row.

Six Blocks

A few details:
Fabrics
Sashing – light blue – Star Charts in Blue from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Sashing – purple – Supernova in Purple from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Background – Essex Linen Blend in Natural
Threads
Blue – DMC 939
Aqua – DMC Satin Floss S995

If you share your photos at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group, you’ll be entered to win a monthly prize and I’m also offering a special prize to someone who finishes all twelve patterns by August 12 – Nine Fat Quarters from Lizzy House’s Constellations line of fabric:

FQ Prize

This is the Lunar Landing colourway of the line, which has richer, more royal blues than the fabrics I’m using, and doesn’t have the purple tones. You MUST post your pictures at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group to win, so if you’re stitching along, don’t forget to share with the class!

mosaic8c59e4f7435fda3247f00abe855f072af8e7f4f6

1. DWSAL: First Doctor, 2. Dr Who Block 5, 3. Dr Who Block 4, 4. Photo0378, 5. Third Doctor and Master, 6. 0616131941, 7. The Fifth Doctor, 8. The Fourth Doctor, 9. 0618131819, 10. IMG_1350s, 11. blk-5-drWhofinished12. Not available

Also, because this has been my big work in progress for the last little while, and will continue to be for the next several weeks while I try to get ahead on the patterns again… I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

8 thoughts on “The Sixth Doctor (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 6)

  1. I love how the blocks are forming the mini pin wheels in the corners as the rows match up….that is a nice design feature

  2. Verbally swooned. That’s hot…are you flirting with me? 😛

    Oh my goodness, gracious, your first six blocks look BRILLIANT together. I love how the sashing is working out!

    • Haha… I think you said I there was some blushing last time around when I talked about all the things you do and do well in the crafty world, so I must have verbally swooned that time… figured I’d save it up for my favourite pattern coming up 😉

      I love how they all look together too! Makes it seem more real, putting it all together like that!

  3. BEAUTIFUL!!! I love thread illustrations. I could stare forever : )

    All the best to you – hope you are safe from the floods.
    Monika in Saskatoon

    ps – thanks for linking up to TN&TN!

  4. Article writing is also a excitement, if you be familiar with afterward you can write if not it is complicated to write.

Drop me a line...

