Work-in-Progress Girl

The Doctor’s descending an ice cliff… (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 7)

11 Comments

When I started researching the Classic Doctors for this stitch-a-long – week 5 was my pattern, but this week is ALSO my pattern! – that video was the very first thing I discovered about the Seventh Doctor, and I got an idea and fell in love with it and didn’t let go. Was it, like the ice cliff scene, a complete cock-up as an idea? I hope not! I hope everyone loves this pattern as much as I do! (It’s definitely my favourite of the two I did, though I was also pretty self-impressed with the celery/five combo. Haha… I’m so modest today!)

DW-SAL-Badge

This seventh pattern is, of course, Sylvester McCoy’s Seventh Doctor:

Doctor the Seventh

This was the second pattern I created for the Stitch-a-long and my favourite of the two. I was trying to find videos on YouTube so that I could get some ideas about this guy – I knew I didn’t want his busy sweater vest to be the only focal point! – and I found the video linked up above where they make fun of this apparently infamous “cliff-hanger” scene. A literal cliffhanger, but not a figurative one because apparently it isn’t the actual cliffhanger of the two-part story, which was called Dragonfire. If you don’t watch the video above, basically, the Doctor is descending an ice cliff, then gets to a point where he can’t get any further, so he climbs over the edge and hangs on by his umbrella. I never did find out what comes next – I assume someone helps him back up? or maybe he just slides down the ice cliff? maybe there is a ledge directly below him? I don’t know! Anyway, I thought it made a pretty dynamic image for a stitching pattern, so I blew up a tiny photo of him dangling and this is the result. You can get the pattern for this block here at Fandom in Stitches.

As with all my blocks, I’ve done the stitch in primarily 2-strand split stitch, with the question mark umbrella handle done in tiny back-stitch:

007

I used the icy blue thread to represent the ice cliff, but couldn’t help putting in that splash of red as well. I was going to restrain myself to two colours only, but this time it just felt more right to break the rule than to stick to it!

A few details:
Fabrics
Sashing – light blue – Star Charts in Blue from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Sashing – purple – Supernova in Purple from Lizzy House’s Constellations
Background – Essex Linen Blend in Natural
Threads
Blue – DMC 939
Pale Blue – DMC Satin Floss S932
Red – DMC Satin Floss S666

If you share your photos at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group, you’ll be entered to win a monthly prize and I’m also offering a special prize to someone who finishes all twelve patterns by August 12 – Nine Fat Quarters from Lizzy House’s Constellations line of fabric:

FQ Prize

This is the Lunar Landing colourway of the line, which has richer, more royal blues than the fabrics I’m using, and doesn’t have the purple tones. You MUST post your pictures at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group to win, so if you’re stitching along, don’t forget to share with the class!

mosaic2865e9d294c111f54689d7d258b3830eb77bae59

1. Fifth Doctor Block, 2. DWSAL2, 3. DWSAL1, 4. Doctor Who Block Six, 5. Photo0383, 6. Dr Who 6, 7. Sixth Doctor Block, 8. Doctor number 5

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

11 thoughts on “The Doctor’s descending an ice cliff… (Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long Week 7)

  1. I’ve been so remiss about commenting on your super-punctual blocks! They all look so great, and this design is just the bomb. I love how you broke your own rules and used that perfect icy blue for the 7. Love this block. 🙂

    • Haha.. thanks 😀 I’m not usually this punctual with anything, it’s kind of surprising I’ve been keeping up with it! (I’m not very far into 8 though – some of my lines seem to have gone adrift and I’m torn between picking it all out and starting over or just working around the bits that’ve gone a bit awry.)

  2. I have to say, I’m completely clueless and totally uninterested in Dr. Who, but I keep checking out these posts of yours because I am in awe of your stitching. Looks perfect every time.

    • Oh, thanks! 😀 I can be a bit obsessive about having perfect stitches, sometimes. I’m trying to loosen up about it because it’s not like it looks bad when I’m more sloppy (but I still see all the flaws and cringe over them at least a little!).

  3. (prepare yourself for cheesiness…)
    Did you ever know you’re my heroooo (when it comes to embroidery)? Your skills are everything I wish mine could beeee….

    Ok, enough of that. But seriously, you never cease to amaze me with your patterns! Even though you (and I) don’t know much about the classic Doctors, you seem to capture them perfectly! I absolutely adore this pattern, so clever and original! I love how the 7 is the main focus but that the doctor is also very eye-catching due to his action and of course his question mark umbrella. Love his little feet. Well done, Kristal!

    I thought of you the other day when I tried designing a Moaning Myrtle pattern for my HP quilt. Total fail. I think the trouble began when I decided I didn’t want to just copy a photo and I had to put my (seriously lacking) drawing skills to the test. I’m a huge fan of the books and wanted Myrtle to be similar in appearance to JKR’s description. Anyway, I developed even more of an appreciation for you patterns once I realized just how tricky they are to construct!

    Mari-Ann

    • Haha.. I’ve only done the two patterns, and they’re both fairly similar to the pictures they’re based on. I loved the dangling feet on seven too 😀 That was the best bit (the umbrella gave me fits, though, until I gave up on changing it :D).

      Did you figure out the Moaning Myrtle? Is it an embroidery pattern you’re working on?

      • Nope, I didn’t quite figure her out. And yes, I was attempting to make an embroidery pattern. I had it all clear in my mind, just can’t seem to get my pencil to create the vision. Ah well.

        • I found it helpful to start with a base image, and then mess around with it from there – I’m no artist, so figuring out body proportion and all that is a real mystery to me. I don’t know how that’d work with trying to translate a book description though 🙂

  4. Nice! I haven’t posted any recent progress on my SALs because I’m taking them with me on vacation for some hand-work on the road. When I get back – we’ll be almost done with all the Doctors! I’m hoping there will be more DW patterns to come (maybe #12 in the fall?).

    • Sounds great 😀

      That’s a great idea, having a 12 later on, I hadn’t really thought of that! My quilt probably won’t be finished at that point, so it’s not a bad idea to plan on having room for him.

  5. Pingback: Robot Santa from the Doctor Who Christmas special The Runaway Bride

Drop me a line...

