Work-in-Progress Girl

A day late and a Doctor short…

9 Comments

Well, I’m officially behind on the Doctor Who Stitch-A-Long. I tried! But last week was a bit of a bad week at the WIPGirl House and then it was immediately followed up by house guests for four days, while I was working every day, on the hottest days of the year (so far, and Universe? Please don’t get hotter). Nothing like a too hot house, featuring 46% humidity indoors, with an extra three bodies in it, right? Ever since the flood, it’s been really humid here and, as it’s usually fairly dry, the heat feels much worse than we’re used to having it feel. Anyway, I finally broke down and bought a window AC unit because I barely slept all weekend. (ACs make me feel weirdly guilty because they do nothing good for the environment and I live in a part of the world where you only really need it for a week or two a year, but once you’ve got one and once it’s blocking a window, you’re pretty much guaranteed to start using it on all those days you might normally have just used an open window with a nice breeze to keep you cool. By and large I feel like I should be able to get by without it because what’s a week or two of being a little hotter than you’d like? Anyway, please realize this isn’t a judgement on people who live in places where ACs really are necessary. In a typical July, we’ll get three days that are hotter than 28C. Should I buy an AC or just, you know, hang out at the mall for the afternoon? Because that seems like a valid solution to three days of hotter weather.)

Anyway, here’s a peak at where my Eighth Doctor is at:

Eighth Doc-in-progress

I’ve mainly just got clothing left to stitch – the left side (our left, not his) of his coat, his cravat, and the sleeve on the right. So close! But what’s the saying? Close is only good with horseshoes and hand grenades? Anyway, I’m hoping to get it finished today/tonight at work (if I manage to take any breaks, it’s my first night solo since my dept. head quit and I’m going to be simultaneously doing his job (which is now my job) and training two new people to do what I used to do) so that tomorrow I can do a proper post about it. Or maybe Saturday, we’ll see.

In the meantime, I have two finished things to show you. I’d like to blame the recipients of these blocks for my not getting Eight finished (;D) but you know… I could have sewn them up a couple weeks ago instead of putting them off. First up is my block for Aalia at Joy of Stitches (and one of the DWSAL designers – she designed One, Three, and next week’s Nine) for the Livejournal Birthday Blocks exchange.

Aalia's Hufflepuff Themed Block

Aalia’s request was for a 10″ block in yellow and black, for a Hufflepuff quilt. The photo she linked for colour/inspiration is this Hufflepuff house crest, and that’s where my idea for the block came from. I do have some fabric with tiny fleur de lis on it, but it’s certainly not in black and yellow, so instead I bought a 6″ fleur de lis pattern from Jennifer Ofenstein (from her Craftsy shop), shrunk down the pattern a little so that it could be a 5″ square, and made two for the corners. The striped bit I actually paper-pieced as well, though I just drew out a 5″ square and then drew lines every half inch to make the stripe. As I was making this, I got REALLY tempted to just make a giant yellow and black bull’s eye for a block (I did the striped units first), but I’m really glad I went with the fleur de lis in the end, I think they’re really pretty. (Even IF I did get the bottom unit askew on BOTH quarters.) I mentioned this is a ten inch block, well… true facts: I used a fat quarter of the yellow and ALMOST RAN OUT. I don’t KNOW where all that fabric went to! (It’s probably all trimmings in my garbage bin – I’m not too good with angles and not wasting fabric.)

In any case, the next finished thing was just finished yesterday. It was due last week, but the aforementioned bad week really threw me for a loop. And it was an improv block, and I have a mental block about improv, so I put it off for a long time before starting it. This was my June block for the Flickr Simply Solids group:

Simply Solids June Blck

The idea behind Carly’s block was flowers and stems/twigs tumbling over a waterfall, you can see more on the idea here at her blog. I think it’s going to be an AMAZING looking quilt, even though a lot of us were a little wary of the whole… improv thing. I drew out six sample blocks before I wound up sewing my first stitch, and while I started out following my plan, I accidentally sewed a triangle on backwards and the whole thing went awry! I think it came out okay in the end, which I suppose is the good bit about improv, but it was still a bit nerve-wracking in the moment.

So next up… a paper pieced block for July’s Simply Solids block and… a mug rug for the Flickr Modern Scrappy Bits Swap and more and more stitched Doctors, but otherwise, I’m a free woman. (Well, I’m going to make a pillow case for my little sister and I think I’ve found my next project to work on – finishing up quilt-as-you-go thing I started working on a long while ago. Only four or five of 20 blocks are finished. Lots go to, but they’re pretty easy to do, since I’m just doing straight-line stuff.)

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

9 thoughts on “A day late and a Doctor short…

  1. Here in the US many are enjoying a four day (independence day) weekend. Happy 185th day of the year! Normally we do not get a four day weekend from this, just the day off, but because it fell on a Thursday, many are taking both Thursday and Friday off of work. If it falls on a Monday or Friday a three day weekend is usually what happens. If it is on Tuesday or Wednesday, it is just a day off.

    I hope you get an opportunity to catch up. 🙂

    • We had a long weekend too, but the previous weekend, Canada Day was on Monday. I had to work all weekend though, alas. Nice for those that got an extra long weekend though 🙂

      Thanks! I’m trying… it’s just not working out so well yet!

  2. You know I love the Hufflepuff block. LOVE it. 🙂

    Eight is coming along nicely and I hope you get a chance to catch up.

    • Yeah me too! I was REALLY hoping to make it all the way through without falling behind. I haven’t had any stitching time yet since I posted, but maybe later today? Or tomorrow? I’ll cross my fingers and hope, anyway.

  3. Your Hufflepuff block is amazing! So crisp and precise! Beautiful work.

    And I absolutely love the improv block. I am really happy with how the quilt is turning out and it’s completely because you were all willing to play along. Thanks so much!

    • Thanks! The benefits of paper-piecing, eh? (Though with our Simply Solids one, I am a teeny bit concerned about the amount of fabric we’ve got to work with – I’m GOOD at messing up the angles, but there’s not a lot of give room for that!)

      I was just reading your blog post with the photo of the in-progress bits – it’s going to be so fantastic.

  4. Late comment to re-register my INTENSE love of my block. It’s safely packed away now, but it was proudly on display on my ironing board ever since it arrived. I have to figure out a way to make the ppc’d blocks from you, Jewells, and Cat a central focus in my quilt. I’m going to hit you up for ideas once I get settled.

    That waterfall block is unlike anything I’ve ever seen and I think you did a wonderful job. So much movement and energy, and it look so – right – …I never would have been able to pull that off in an improv block! 🙂

    • I loved making your block too, seeing it come together was just fantastic 😀 I’m SO glad the idea worked out! Definitely! I’m really interested to see all the blocks you got, too.

      Improv is -scary- to do, but sometimes it comes together so well. I can’t wait to see Carly’s final quilt because I think it’s going to be pretty amazing.

  5. Pingback: Flags for Lac Megantic | Work-in-Progress Girl

Drop me a line...

