Work-in-Progress Girl

It’ll be fantastic! (Doctor Who Stitch-a-long Week 9)

2 Comments

I couldn’t find a (short) video with one of my favourite Ninth Doctor quotations (Do you know like we were sayin’? About the Earth revolving?It’s like when you’re a kid. The first time they tell you that the world’s turning and you just can’t quite believe it ’cause everything looks like it’s standin’ still. I can feel it. The turn of the Earth. The ground beneath our feet is spinnin’ at 1,000 miles an hour and the entire planet is hurtling around the sun at 67,000 miles an hour, and I can feel it. We’re fallin’ through space, you and me, clinging to the skin of this tiny little world, and if we let go… That’s who I am.), so instead, a clip of a happy little moment with Rose and The Doctor.

The Ninth Doctor might have wound up my favourite Doctor, if he’d been around a little longer, because Christopher Eccelston was fantastic. But even though David Tennant is my favourite, Eccelston occupies his own special little perfect space in my head and I always love rewatching that handful of episodes he was apart of, even if I find some of the actual plot lines kind of silly. (Living plastic, for example. Or the fart-happy Slitheen for another example.)

DW-SAL-Badge

The ninth pattern of the Doctor Who Stitch-a-Long, quite naturally, is Christopher Eccelston’s Ninth Doctor:

Doctor the Ninth

This pattern was created by (the also fantastic) Aalia, who also designed the first and third patterns of this stitch-a-long. This is her final official pattern (though there may just be some special extras coming along later!) and I think it’s probably my favourite of the three. When I first saw it, I’d said to her that I hadn’t been able to picture how she’d design a pattern around Nine because unlike some of the other Doctors, he didn’t really have many props, but that she’d perfectly captured his attitude, and I still think that. (She told me that she was going for the essentials: “the widow’s peak, the ears, the jacket, and of course, the attitude.”) I loved stitching this pattern and I love seeing it finished. You can find both the pattern and a picture of Aalia’s Nine here at Fandom in Stitches. She stitched her version on a beautiful blue marbled batik and it looks really great. (And I don’t even love batiks.)

Ninth Doctor closer up

I just love the pose Aalia gave Nine’s body.

So to repeat myself for at least the ninth time, this is stitched with a 2-strand split stitch. Unlike most of the others, I didn’t end up using any other stitch types anywhere in this pattern. I used the same purple as back in the Third Doctor’s pattern, largely because I didn’t want to buy more rayon thread, but also Nine sometimes wore a purple shirt, though it was a lot more muted than this shiny purple. As with Eight, I still need to sew on my sashing. Hopefully I’ll get it done this weekend so that I can show a First Nine Blocks photo.

A few details:
Fabrics
Background – Essex Linen Blend in Natural
Threads
Blue – DMC 939
Purple – DMC Satin Floss S550

If you share your photos at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group, you’ll be entered to win a monthly prize and I’m also offering a special prize to someone who finishes all twelve patterns by August 12 – Nine Fat Quarters from Lizzy House’s Constellations line of fabric:

FQ Prize

This is the Lunar Landing colourway of the line, which has richer, more royal blues than the fabrics I’m using, and doesn’t have the purple tones. You MUST post your pictures at the Fandom in Stitches Flickr group to win, so if you’re stitching along, don’t forget to share with the class!

mosaic78a51926ffe22dcb2da389176bc6f24d50475f7d

1. photo-23, 2. photo-24, 3. blk-7-drWhofinished, 4. photo-26, 5. Doctor Who 5, 6. Photo0392, 7. Seventh Doctor, 8. Fifth Doctor, 9. Fourth Doctor, 10. Seventh Doctor, 11. The Eighth Doctor, 12. Doctor number 6, 13. Photo0393, 14. Dw Sal, 15. Dw sal 2, 16. Doctor 3, 17. Doctor 4, 18. Doctor 5, 19. Doctor 6, 20. DWSAL – Eighth Doctor, 21. DWSAL – Second Doctor, 22. 7th doctor, 23. DWSAL – Fourth Doctor, 24. DWSAL – Fifth Doctor, 25. DWSAL – Seventh Doctor, 26. The Ninth Doctor, 27. Dr. Who Seven, 28. 6th Doctor

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

2 thoughts on “It’ll be fantastic! (Doctor Who Stitch-a-long Week 9)

  1. LOVE this pattern. Aalia captured CE perfectly – as soon as I saw it I thought it was exactly right. And your stitching is, as always, beautifully done.

    You took the words right out of my mouth about CE – the 9th Doctor has a very special place in my heart too as he was, technically, my first Doctor. You know what they say: you always remember your first Doctor. As we’ve chatted about before, DT has stolen our hearts, but Chris Eccelston, well… he’s just fantastic. Not in a swoony kind of way, but, you know. And I also agree about the farting Slitheens… I just don’t go for the potty humor, and I must confess I almost left Whodom altogether after that episode. It was the last few episodes that really made me love CE.

    Anyway, well done on the pattern. I am *giddy* about next week’s pattern!

    • This and Ten are my favourite patterns in the whole stitch-along. (Possibly helped along by them being my favourite Doctors 😀 But really they’re just great patterns.) Aalia designs such clean patterns, too. Just cut back to the essentials and not feeling like they need anything added to finish them up that last little bit.

      Yeah, the potty humour has never done it for me, and I have to always remind myself that they are aiming for a fairly young audience (and I know plenty of adults too who do find the potty humour pretty funny, though I’ll never understand why).

Drop me a line...

