Work-in-Progress Girl

Star Surround Progress

8 Comments

I’m on holidays from work this week, and I have plans. Oh yes.

Untitled

I don’t know, realistically, how much I’m going to get done because I have a bunch of other plans too – a friend and I are going out for lunch tomorrow (it’s my birthday but none of my family around town right now), I’m going to meet up with a different friend later in the week, my parents/younger sister are coming up on the weekend, and I intend to leave the house at least once every day for a walk – but I do want to get done as much of this as I can.

I spent a good chunk of time today on the first thing on the list – the Star Surround quilt. I didn’t finish last week’s homework on time, so this week I’m doing last week and this week’s work. Which is basically just finishing up the entire quilt top. (This may, seriously, be the fasted I’ve ever finished a quilt top. I usually never blast through piecing so quickly as this. It’s kind of nice – no time to get bored of it!)

Star Surround (In Progress)

I’m making a baby size quilt, comprised of four of those blocks, so that’s one quarter of the quilt. It’s a 20-inch block, so it’ll be about 40-inches square in total. I’ve got a second one finished since taking this photo, but there’s no light for taking a picture, so maybe tomorrow I’ll post an update. Or maybe just when I’ve got the whole top finished. Edited to say that I’m a dumbass and they’re actually 24″ blocks, so it’ll be a 48″ quilt top.

When I was pressing this block together, I discovered a little happy accident:

Star Surround (In Progress)

On this one little seam, I discovered that the cars from one piece lined up exactly with the cars on the piece below it – love these little multi-coloured cars. So cute! (And to think, I hated this fabric!)

My big disappointment so far with this quilt is just how badly my flying geese came together. I’m usually really good about having perfect points, so this is kind of appalling:

Star Surround (In Progress)

Almost all of my flying geese were off by enough that my points are nipped off all over the place. I don’t know what I did differently this go around than from normal, but it’s kind of disappointing. I don’t think it’ll be so noticeable in the long run, especially once it’s all quilted, but right now they’re all just staring me in the face.

Done is good, though, right?

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

8 thoughts on “Star Surround Progress

  1. i was surfing ‘sewing’ blogs and stumbled across yours. I’m also doing the Star Surround and the Simply Solid bee (Puce and Gamboge). Nice to visit your blog.

    And I’m going to have the same problem with my flying geese! I’ve done the 16 block and I’m not about to start trying to fix each one. They are going to have to go together the way they choose! And be happy about it!!

    Happy sewing,
    Ramona (Flickr: MonaPut)

    • That’s awesome – I’ll have to go check out your blog too! I’m really liking doing the Simply Solid bee – there’s been so much variety and seeing all the things everyone else is making is a lot of fun too. (Though I’m just in one group, so a little less variety than you’ll have had!)

      I’ve only done four blocks, so I suppose I really could try to fix my flying geese, but I’m trying to just let it go this once. Also, I was using fabric I didn’t like, so that doesn’t inspire me to perfection either. (I am liking it better since sewing it into something…) As long as it isn’t going fall apart in the wash, and it won’t, then it’ll be okay that the points are awful.

  2. Those little cars! Amazing that they lined up like that! The blue solid that you’re using is very cute with the car print, too. I love a non-white background. Good luck finishing it up, hope it continues to go quickly!

    • Thanks! I really love the blue background too – I think the print fabrics kind of pop up against it. (And I was lucky to have lots of the fabric – I didn’t want to buy anything when I started this!)

      I should get it finished today, though I haven’t felt like sewing just yet and the day is nearly over!

  3. Happy Birthday!! What a happy little accident with the cars!

    -Soma

  4. I just bought that exact same dry erase board. For my sewing table. For reals. !!!

    And done is good. Try not to worry too much about the points. Very few are ever perfect and I’ve seen some from the “rock stars” of quilting that are not pointy at all! (True story) Also, quilting and washing hide all manner of sins. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s just so cute, with the bamboo and the tablet style… I’ve been not buying it for ages and finally broke down and bought it last week!

      It’s funny you say that about the rock stars of quilting, because it’s something I notice in books, when people have left unclipped threads or have bad points or whatever ๐Ÿ˜€

Drop me a line...

