Work-in-Progress Girl

Star Surround Top

20 Comments

So I’ve gotten my Star Surround quilt top finished!

Star Surround Quilt Top

Looks pretty good, I think, though I wish I had a slightly better balance in the darks and lights. Still, for using four fabrics I really didn’t like very much, I think it’s come out pretty well.

I really want to get this thing done by the end of September, so I need to figure out a backing material and decide how to quilt it. I’d like to learn free motion quilting, so maybe I’ll make this a practise piece. I don’t know.

Next up this week is finishing up my Doctor Who quilt top:

009

So that means sashing on these unfinished blocks. (And maybe changing the blue digit on my eighth block to a green one.) And then cutting out and putting on the inner border. And then deciding once and for all if I’m putting words (and maybe a sonic screwdriver) into the outer border and getting all of that done. I wanted it finished by the end of the week, but I’m not sure that’ll happen at all. We’ll see, I guess.

Finally, I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

20 thoughts on “Star Surround Top

  1. I love the colors in your quilt. I too, would like to free motion my first quilt.

  2. Your Star Surround looks great – love that soft blue background!

  3. Your star surround looks fantastic. I love the soft blue background. It just came out so good with those cute little car prints!! Great job on matching up all your points so perfectly. Just fantastic!!

    • Thanks! I’m surprised by how much I like it – I was just using up some fabric I hadn’t really liked! It’s turned out pretty well in the end, though!

  4. Wow, your Doctor Who quilt is amazing!! I can’t wait to see the quilt top come together (though I’m sure the feeling is mutual there) šŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I REALLY want to see it done, but I am so very, very good at procrastinating šŸ˜€ I know it’s going to be wall-hanging size (well, perhaps a little big for that, but not big enough to use as a bed quilt either) but other than that, I just can’t seem to make up my mind about anything!

  5. Oh I just love your tardis and the little swirls around it! Your stars are beautiful too! A carpenter’s star mini is up next after the tardis quilt I am making–great minds think alike šŸ˜‰

    • Oh… that Doctor Who quilt of yours is just going to be brilliant! I love that image from that episode! My Who quilt is from this stitch-along, for which I designed a couple of the blocks.

      Is that star called a Carpenter’s Star? I didn’t know that! The things you learn!

  6. Even I’m excited to see your Doctor Who quilt šŸ˜‰

    • Haha! I’m working on it! I think I’ve got the border situation figured out, just need to…. execute it šŸ˜€ (Though now I’ve been thinking I should embroider the corners of the outer border, which would add HOURS onto the finish. So maybe that’s not such a great idea.)

  7. Lovely work, I like that star quilt pattern.

  8. The blue was a great choice for your star blocks! Nice work.

    • Thanks! I think it helped kind of… perk up those prints, which I found kind of drab – I’d bought them online and didn’t end up liking them much. Now that I’ve made and like a version with fabrics I didn’t really like, I’m going to have to make a version with fabrics I do like – I’m bound to wind up loving the quilt then.

  9. Great quilt top! I love the stars and I think your colour balance is great. I can hardly wait to see how you quilt it! Hope you’ll give FMQ a try (practise a bit on some sample sandwiches perhaps) it really is a fun way to do your quilting!

    • I’ve done a little FMQ practise, but not nearly enough. I’ll definitely have to do some more practising before I try it on the real thing, but I think with this one I’ll be happy if I can keep myself from quilting it too densely and if I can stop myself crossing all my lines all the time. My biggest issue is that it feels more natural to quilt it super closely, and then I sort of lose control and can’t seem to help but cross-over my lines constantly. I need to work on speed modulation for sure šŸ˜€

Drop me a line...

