Work-in-Progress Girl

Wednesday Works + September Goals

6 Comments

This is a double whammy post – both my current Work in Progress for both the WIP Wednesday link ups (With Lee of Freshly Pieced and Needle and Thread Network for Canadian bloggers) AND for the September goal post link up for A Lovely Year of Finishes. I didn’t finish my August goal – to finish my Doctor Who quilt top – so I’m adjusting it to my September goal (and expanding on it slightly).

Dr Who Quilt-in-Progress

My August goal was to get the top put together, and I nearly made it – I got all the blocks sashed and pieced together and I got the inner border attached, but I stalled out on the outer border. You can see a part of it in the photo – it’s the wide band of the light blue fabric on the far left. I’m piecing in some words on two sides of the border, so I need to get those words put together before I can really finish the top.

I was started on the words, but my parents came to town last week and we went on our little mini-trip and that kind of sucked up the hours I might have spent finishing it in August.

I'm...

This is where I’m at right now, and it’s where I was at last week when I set it aside in favour of washing dishes and changing bed sheets before my guests arrived! I had planned to work on it some more today, but I had a pretty terrible day at work and I’ve been wallowing a bit. It’s a difficult thing being in that sort of mood because I know that crafting can be very relaxing and I could use a good dose of that, but I was so tense that I didn’t really want to deal with a fiddly project where making a mistake with my piecing might just make me blow things up into something bigger and more devastating than it actually would be. (Everything seems worse and more insurmountable when you’re in a bad mood!)

Instead, I got down to the difficult task of fabric shopping. The very lovely Michelle of Factotum of Arts gifted me an Etsy giftcard as a part of her One Year Blogoversary celebration/giveaway, so I thought… why not spend it on fabric for my future Birdie Sling:

Birdie Sling Beginnings

This photo does NOT feature the fabric I bought with that giftcard – it’s still got to be cut, packaged, shipped, etc! But this fabric was my starting point. I wanted to pick up interfacing for the bag, so on the weekend I went to Fabricland, which is a fabric chain that sells all sorts of varieties of fabrics, but has a pretty poor quilting cotton selection. They have a fairly large one, at least at the store nearest me, but most of the fabric isn’t very good quality. And then every now and again you’ll find something quality that you recognize – in this case, it was this poppy print from Laura Gunn’s poppy collection for Michael Miller. (One of my unquilted but otherwise finished quilt tops is done in this line of fabric; it’s definitely a favourite line of mine, even after all these years.) This particular print appeals to several different parts of me. It lets me have a fairly neutral bag – the bottom part of the bag will be in Essex Linen in Denim (so long as it matches… that fabric is en route too) – but one with a pretty print and a few little splashes of colour. It’ll let me have a kind of wild lining, which is something I love, via Laura Gunn’s rust stripe print from that same fabric line (also en route, or will be once the seller lists my reserved listing and I can buy it).

I pulled open and read through the instructions for the Birdie Sling and it sounds pretty doable. I think even I can do it, and I’m not always that great with patterns for things like this. It’s less intimidating than most of the patterns in Amy Butler’s book of baby patterns, at least, so that’s something!

I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced, as well as A Lovely Year of Finishes for September:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced My Button

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Works + September Goals

  1. Dr who blocks are looking great – love the fabric still !!! Can’t wait to see it all finished πŸ™‚

    • Me too! I’m really hoping to get it done quickly, but the woman I’ve been training for work has decided she doesn’t want to do it, so I’m back to having no trained help and will be working bucketloads of hours again. Sigh. At least it’ll pay for some of the stress shopping I’ve done in the last little while, I guess… πŸ˜€

      I love that Constellations is kind of space themed without being too SPACE! about it. No big spinning multi-coloured planets and little rocket ships and whatever. Such a cute line of fabrics too – I think I’ll probably make the back kind of scrappy using a lot of Constellations to make it. (There is a part of me that just wants to hoard that line for a while, but it’s probably better to just use it than to keep sitting on it waiting for a different project to come up πŸ˜€

  2. That will be a neat quilt – and I love the purple/blue triangle print from Constellations.
    I’ve made one Amy Butler bag pattern and that was enough for me. It was a killer – the instructions were horrible (especially when it came to the part about the funky handles) and her fabric requirements were at least double what I needed to make the bag. It will take quite an event before I try one of her patterns again. If you’re interested enough, here’s the post I did about it. http://learningtosewasigo.blogspot.ca/2011/10/hokey-smokeys-what-bag.html

    • It’s astonishing how many patterns she designs and sells when you read so very, very many things about how terrible they are πŸ˜€ I have her book Little Stitches for Little Ones and seriously, the only thing I’ve ever made was probably the easiest thing in it – a bib. The things I wanted to make? The adorable kimono top and stuff like that… I have NO clue at all what to do and some of them I read the patterns multiple times. I’m super inexperienced when it comes to making stuff from patterns (I can manage quilt patterns, but they’re a very different beast from clothing and bags etc.), but normally, if I can find pictures or just try it out even if I don’t understand the direction exactly, I can usually figure things out. Amy Butler patterns make me feel actually stupid.

      This one though is really pretty simple – there’s nothing about it that seems too complicated even for me. I think the toughest thing might be top-stitching around the edge where the handle joins there’ll be A LOT of layers by the time all her beloved interfacing/fusible fleece gets installed πŸ˜€

      The bag you made does look pretty nice, but I had to laugh that the book title has the word Easy in it πŸ˜€

  3. You have wonderful fabrics, and incredible patience hunting for them. I hope you’ll have a better week at work, put aside a nice simple crafts project for bad days …..

    • Thank you, on all accounts! I hope the work week runs a little better as well – someone I’ve been training for two months decided she didn’t want to do it any more, but I’m hoping to convince her to come back to it, I’ll find out tomorrow what she thinks! I should really fish one of my embroidery projects up to the top of the pile – that’s always good for relaxing, I find. There’s something kind of zen about sitting and stitching.

Drop me a line...

