Work-in-Progress Girl

Sunday Stash Magentas

15 Comments

Things are a little upside-down at my house right now, so I might only be posting intermittently until things go right side up again. Or alternatively, I might do nothing but post mindlessly to try to escape the upside-downness. Anyway, a post about fabric, because fabric is fun and what I need right now is fun.

I’ve been a little obsessed lately with this one quilt someone made in the Star Surround quilt-along – you can see it here, and when you go (because you MUST go look!), you should click on that top photo and see it all closer up. Gorgeous. And then there was this beginning, which leans a little more in the magenta realm, rather than the more purple side of the berry tones. So I’ve got this raspberry/magenta + black/grey thing on the brain and it won’t quite go away.

I’ve never been a particular fan of pinks of any shade, which means I haven’t got a really big collection of pink fabrics. What I do have tends to lean more heavily in the just the right direction. But still… if I’m ever going to make a quilt with it, clearly I’ll need more fabric than the little bit I’ve got. So I bought myself a nice selection of magentas and greys to supplement what I’ve already got:

Sunday Stash

In columns, top to bottom from the left:
1 – Trellis in Tulip from ‘Floressence’ by Art Gallery Fabrics, Ladder Dot in Black from ‘Chicopee’ by Denyse Schmidt for FreeSpirit Fabrics, Sonnet in Ruby from ‘Poetica’ by Pat Bravo for Art Gallery Fabrics, Scratched Lines in Grey from ‘Scraffito’ by P & B Textiles
2 – Ladder Dot in Fuchsia from ‘Chicopee’ by Denyse Schmidt for FreeSpirit, Bicycles in Raspberry from ‘Uno’ by Stof, Crosshatch Sketch in Grey from Timeless Treasures, Ribbon Lattice in Fuchsia from ‘Heirloom’ by Joel Dewberry for FreeSpirit
3 – Scribbles in Grey from ‘Scraffito’ by P & B Textiles, Crosshatch Sketch in Lipstick (or is it Berry?) from Timeless Treasures, Beaded Wave in Raspberry from ‘Uno’ by Stof, Crosshatch Sketch in White and Black from Timeless Treasures

Because there is always a disappointment, I’m a little disappointed by the Joel Dewberry print. On Hawthorne Threads website, the photo is taken from such a distance that it looks like a teeny tiny print, when clearly it is not. It’s not that it’s a bad fabric, it’s just that it’s more difficult to use when the blue (or is it periwinkle? it’s hard to tell in the yellow light of my bedroom) pops so prominently. I much prefer the background layering of the blue in the Art Gallery print from the first column, but who knows… when I finally figure out the depth of colour (and the pattern it needs to be used with) for this imagined quilt, maybe that bit of blue/purple will be exactly the extra colour it’ll need.

mosaicee9ccad65d65aa63b808f7327aaf626de9db9d10
1. Alexandra’s magnolias, 2. LIFE PATTERNS MAGENTA, 3. magenta rush, 4. Magenta and Gray II

Just a bit of inspiration from Flickr… So pretty!

Linking up to Sunday Stash at Finding Fifth:

&34;Finding

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Stash Magentas

  1. Love the quilt you want to try, great inspiration. Your color choices are great.

    If you every need a break, you are more than welcome to come on down 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 I’ve been having fun with that colour grouping – I need to start pulling out some more that get a little more berryish tones into the mix. I think it could be interesting.

      I wish I could head down there! I bet it’s warmer too, on top of being away from the upside-downness. I really, really should get my passport!

  2. I hear what you’re saying about Heirloom. But really, that periwinkle, is only a subtle shift from the grey, so it might end of giving you more depth to the quilt than taking away from the overall colour scheme. I say go for it!

    • Of course, you’re probably right! And it’s not like I’d be putting one big chunk of it in the middle of everything, so it’s not likely to be so overwhelming as it looks in this photo where it’s all up-front and centre. It’ll stay in the pile of fabrics for now, anyway, and maybe some other things I add in with also play around with that periwinkle tone too!

  3. It seems when you’re looking for a specific colour it’s somewhat elusive, but your picks are great! I’m also collecting a small stash of raspberry/magenta fabrics as well. I’m pairing it with navy, which I’ve also just got some of. Thanks for including the names of the fabrics.

    • I somehow find navy fabrics hard to find – I was making a block for an exchange group that requested dark blues and I thought my stash was going to be full of them, but I had hardly anything! Everything I had seemed just slightly off from what I wanted it to be. Anyway, I’m having fun compiling these fabrics, even though I haven’t figured out what exactly I want to do with them!

  4. Oooh, such pretty eye candy, especially for a lover of all things pink. 🙂 I think I just initiated a collective eye roll from everybody else in the quilting world – pink seems so easily disdained these days. These fabrics would make a marvellous quilt, though.

    I especially love the “Sonnet” one. Line art + nature stuff + pink = love.

    I see what you mean about the Joel Dewberry print; it certainly demands attention. But I bet you could work it into a layout that would work beautifully.

    • There aren’t too many people out there who’ll admit to loving pink 😀 I think it’s just so… over-pushed on girls that at some point there’s the backlash and then it’s really hard to go back to it! I have used small amounts in things before (and even made one all-pink baby quilt!) but it’s rarely on top of my mental list of colours to use more or whatever 😀

      I think the Joel Dewberry one would probably work better if I didn’t have it up front and centre, too, you know? I mean, in a quilt it’d be chopped up into smaller bits, which would help balance it out a bit.

  5. these are gorgeous!

  6. Love this combo! Thanks for saying what they were(I always am curious). They would look great with that pattern. Really love your inspiration!

  7. I am not much of a magenta girl, but these look seriously amazing! Love the inspiration too. Can’t wait to see what you make with these.

    • Thanks! I’m sure it’ll be ages before I figure it all out (and I’ll have changed my mind all over again about just what I think about those bright pinks :D), but I’m keeping my eye out for the right pattern. (Also, as always, I should really finish a few things before starting something new…)

Drop me a line...

