Work-in-Progress Girl

Sunday Stash

4 Comments

When I was thinking about writing today’s entry, I was just going to show you my newest influx of fabric…

Sunday Stash

I’m always buying something. No matter how often I say I’m going on a fabric fast or whatever, I always wind up stumbling over a 30% off sale or I just need a red stripe for a binding or in this case, I’m just super uncertain what to send for a Fat Quarter swap and so I wind up buying a pile of stuff to potentially give away. My swap partner didn’t give a lot of direction as to what she was hoping to receive and though she commented on several pictures, she didn’t really comment so much on MINE, so I compiled a great big list of stuff she mentioned liking and then thought, ‘oh god, I don’t own any of that!’ Some of it I knew I could get from Mad About Patchwork, so I started loading up a great big cart of potential fabrics.

Starting on the left is Folkloric Blooms in Fuchsia (Robert Kaufman), Architextures Scribble Notes in Navy (Robert Kaufman), Architextures Landscape in Grass (Robert Kaufman), and Architextures Blueprint in Grass (Robert Kaufman). Then from the top right, a Pepper print (don’t know it’s name, by Robert Kaufman), Waterfront Park’s Domino Dot in Clementine by Violet Craft, Just My Type’s Letterpress in Red by Patty Young, Waterfront Park’s Domino Dot in Jewel by Violet Craft, and Just My Type’s Grosgrain in Red by Patty Young.

Interestingly, I didn’t wind up using any of these new fabrics that I’d bought with the swap in mind. Nope, I wound up pulling things that have been in my stash for a little while:

FQ Blender Swap pkg

I don’t really recall the names of the fabrics or the lines they come from and it’s already in the mail, so I can’t even go look it up. The bird print on the bottom is by Aneela Hoey and the red is a Cosmo Cricket print. The other two, I don’t really know. I wound up choosing three fabrics that my partner had specifically mentioned liking in a couple of different posts and the fourth one, the Cosmo Cricket print just felt like a fun choice. Of course, looking at the photo now, I really don’t think that red print is a very good choice because the point of it all was to swap blender fabrics and I think there is too much contrast in that print for it to be strictly a blender print. Anyway, as long as my partner likes it, I guess that’s all that really matters.

As for the rest of it… it’s always my goal to have my stash get smaller (through use) rather than bigger, but maybe I’ll succeed a little better another day… (That won’t be for a few weeks at least, though. I’ve got two packages coming from within Canada and one from without. Ahem. And I may have a cartload of stuff at Super Buzzy that I’m trying to talk myself into hitting the “Remove” button for because I. Do. Not. Need. More. Fabric.)

Anyway, few days ago though I got talking with Paula from The Sassy Quilter about some of Moda’s business practises. I mean, she brought it up in one of her posts, that they only print a fabric line once and then when the fabric is gone, it’s gone. I think it’s a kind of crappy thing to do, a bit of a bully’s move. You have to buy it now, even if you’re not 100% you want it, because if you don’t, it might be gone and you’ll never have a chance at it again. It’s just like Disney and their films in the supposed vault: it’s a way to pressure people into buying Just In Case. I understand the thought behind it, it’s supposed to make the fabric seem more special, more precious, and therefore make it more likely that you’ll buy it early and in greater quantity. Moda seems to be doing well, so I think it’s working for them. On the other hand, it’s really damned annoying.

I didn’t start buying fabric online until a couple years ago – I didn’t have a credit card until about 4-5 years ago (because I had a paranoia that if I had one, I’d just spend a ton of money on dumb crap and then wind up one of those people with $10,000 credit card debt and nothing much to show for it, which I should say hasn’t happened, thank god), so most of my nice fabric was bought within the last couple of years. But there are a lot of really lovely fabric lines that I either didn’t know existed (because I lived a long ways off from good fabric stores, and still do) or that were already hard to find by that point. I think of fabric like Tula Pink’s Neptune line, which I didn’t like very much to begin with and so ignored until it was too late to get the “good” prints. At some point you’re just left hoping you’ll stumble unexpectedly over something amazing in a random store somewhere.

So a few weeks back I was in Lethbridge and went to a couple quilt stores there. I posted photos back then of the stuff that I’d bought, including this bundle, which was labelled as a 12 FQ pack of Amy Butler prints:

FQ Bundle

I had laughed a bit at the time because that lime and white print in the middle is actually a Heather Bailey print, but what I didn’t noticed when I pulled it apart at the time was that that pink and blue print on the bottom row is actually a long out of print Tula Pink fabric from her Hushabye line:

Hushabye Bunny Damask

I was never a really big fan of the Hushabye line, mostly because it was too Children’s Fabric to me, so that’s not one of those Out of Print lines that I pine for (I might still buy the Circus Dot in Sage if I could ever find it, I find that print oddly attractive, but ONLY in that colour-way), but it’s kind of hilarious to me that tucked away with those Amy Butler prints was this one OOP HTF fabric that some people probably do pine after and wouldn’t ever get their hands on because Moda’s got it Locked In The Vault. (If someone has that Circus Dot in Sage and wants to do a trade, this FQ for that one, I could get behind that. Just saying.)

I wonder if some day they’ll make the (probably sound) business decision to Unlock their Vault and reprint either selected lines or select prints from some of their old lines, just to make another stack of money to swim around in like Donald Duck, before locking it all back up again. Anything you wish they’d reprint?

Linking up with Finding Fifth’s Sunday Stash, this week hosted at Blossom Heart Quilts:
Finding Fifth

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Stash

  1. I love your new haul, I even have some of those. πŸ™‚

    The two other fabrics in your swap are Comma Swinging in Mustard, and the Circle Stitch in Orange by Patty Young. Nice choices.

    • I didn’t know Patty Young had done those stitch prints – I have a couple of them, the circles and squares in different colours (or I did – that was the last of the orange I had that I sent away). They were fun prints. And good colours, orange and yellow are often so hard to find good fabrics of.

  2. I was happy they reprinted Lush by Erin Michaels. I’m pretty sure I have a 10″ square of the sage dots as I’m in a Tula Swap on Flickr. If I do and you want it I’d gladly swap it for 10″ of something you have πŸ™‚ I like that red Cosmo numbers fabric a lot. The yellow from Comma by Zen chic is nice and the stitches something or other is a great blender. I always talk myself out of buying some πŸ™‚

    • Regrettably, I’ve already given away the cosmo cricket numbers fq, the yellow comma fabric, AND the stitches… I think I have more of the stitches though. I’ll have to look (tomorrow, though – I’m about to go to bed – had a kind of crazy day and only just checked my email for the first time since I got up at 4 AM! weird for someone who almost lives on her computer like I often do) – I might have it in a different colour, I really can’t remember! Or I do have that black fabric with the stars from constellations – I’m planning to use it for a binding, but I’ve probably got more than I need. (I’ll need to check that too, but I *think* I’ve got a FQ plus a half yard, which is more than I’ll need for the binding, though I should measure the quilt top to be sure, I suppose.) I saw you mentioned that one at Finding Fifth, hence that suggestion.

Drop me a line...

