Work-in-Progress Girl

WIP Wednesday: Needlebooks and Quilt Blocks

10 Comments

Well, I don’t think my busy job of catching up on old Doctor Who episodes counts as a Work in Progress (and I have seen it all before, I’ve just been in the mood to watch the David Tennant years because *swoon*), so I guess I can talk a bit about the things I’ve been doing this week.

First up is a needlebook. It’s for the Simple & Sweet Scrappy Swap group on Flickr. It looks pretty well finished in these photos, and really it’s just like… 3% away from being finished:

Outside of the Needlebook

No photos of the inside, but it’s a taco-shaped needlebook from Suzuko Koseki’s Playful Patchwork book.

Taco-shaped Needlebook

This is how it’ll look if I ever get that last 3% done – it’s just a snap closure that I need to add, but I need to find some to buy! I’ll show off the inside, anyway, if I ever get this thing finished! (It’s due out by next week, so I had better get to it!) I keep posting pictures at the swap group in hopes that the recipient will show up and comment, but so far no dice!

Anyway, since I haven’t got any snaps and can’t finish things up just yet, instead I’m working on a different project. This will likely wind up a mini quilt, which I may hang on my wall:

Block in Progess

Well, it doesn’t look like much right now, but I’m really loving these Denyse Schmidt Florence prints and the blocks I’m using them in are coming together really well. I’ll be talking more about the pattern at a later date, but it’s been really good so far and I’m excited to see the finished mini-quilt. What I want is to do is four blocks and then I’ll get it all sewn up and quilted and everything else as quickly as possible. Right now, the block in the photo is actually finished and I’ve got another one just steps away from being completely. Hopefully I’ll manage to get two more done tomorrow, and then it’ll just be the finishing work left. I think it’s going to be pretty sharp looking in these limes and blues.

I’m linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

10 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Needlebooks and Quilt Blocks

  1. I have always wanted to make a needle case, and yours is too cute! The mini quilt looks fun, love the block design.

    • Thanks! It’s a cute pattern for the needle book, and pretty easy to put together. I made mine a little more complicated by adding a zipper pocket on the inside, but it’s really quite simple otherwise – a couple circles fabric (with some appliqué), a couple circles of felt, and some binding. Voilà!

      I probably shouldn’t call it a mini, since it’ll be 30″ square – I’m just intending to hang it on the wall, rather than use it as a bed (even a baby bed) quilt! Anyway, I’ll have pictures of the finished top up late next week, so you’ll get to see the proper pattern in full!

  2. Very cute needle case. Lovely colours. Love DS fabrics.

    • Thanks Linda! I’m pretty happy with how everything’s come together!

      Aren’t the DS fabrics lovely? I really like how the finished blocks (there are four) have come together. I bought a FQ pack with 12 prints in it, and there are 8 on the front, so I’m putting the other four on the back, which is a little sad since they won’t be visible, but I wanted to squeeze them all in somewhere!

  3. nice fabric in your needlecase!

    • Aren’t they fun? The green print is a Yuwa Kei print (I think called Newsprint and Roses, but I’m not entirely certain). The yellow is from an Annie’s Seed Catalogue print

  4. Great needle case. I love the fussy cut writing on the flower.

    • Thanks Val! I had a hard time deciding what parts of the yellow print to focus on, so in the end, I didn’t actually select anything in particular, I just cut what was nearest the edge, but I’m happy with the bits I did get!

  5. Beautiful work on the needlebook!

Drop me a line...

