Work-in-Progress Girl

Confetti-Go-Lucky Quilt

14 Comments

Yeah, I don’t know what to call this quilt, but the fabric is from the Happy Go Lucky line and the quilt pattern is called Confetti.

Confetti quilt

The first five blocks are pretty much a variation on this: two joined hexies and one lonely one floating on an enormous, mostly empty block.

Confetti quilt

I won’t show all five blocks. But they’re all pretty similar – one hexie in one quadrant and a set of hexies in the opposite quadrant. I tried to make sure none of the blocks had the exact same placement, so hopefully they’ll seem a bit like confetti tumbling around.

I’m only just working on the next four blocks, and haven’t stitched down the hexies yet.

Confetti quilt

I’m off-and-on quite nervous about that backing fabric, which is a Kaffe Fassett shot cotton (I think in Jade, though I forget the colour name for certain). It’s not a colour that really appears in the line at all, but somehow it just seems to work sometimes. And then sometimes I’ll look at it another way and be convinced that it can’t possibly come together. I’m sure it’ll be fine, though I can’t begin to imagine what colour thread I should use to quilt this. (The backing is going to be largely navy – the navy print with the multi-coloured pom-pom dandelion things. The binding I’m undecided on – I ordered two different fabrics to test against the shot cotton, one which dark grey on light grey and the other which is I think dark blue on light blue.) Maybe I’ll just use a variegated grey – I know I’ve got a new spool of that and it wouldn’t stand out too much in any case. Dunno. It’s going to be at least another week before the backing fabric arrives – I hope it’ll work, because it’s getting a bit difficult to find Happy Go Lucky fabric (in large quantities, that is), and I don’t really want to use the shot cotton as a quilt backing. Things to think about, anyway.

Linking up to The Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced:
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

14 thoughts on “Confetti-Go-Lucky Quilt

  1. Your hexies look perfect ~ Can’t wait to see how you finish this quilt!

    • Thank you! I’m quite nervous about finishing this one – quilting a project always seems more difficult to me than it probably should, but I can’t quite decide what to do with this one! The quilt with the pattern is just straight line quilted every inch or so, which looks nice enough, but I’m going to quilt down the hexies, so … I don’t know. I think I might do two or three echoing lines on the outside and inside of the hexagons, and then fill in the background (and there’s a whole lot of background!) with a cross-hatch or…. something.

  2. This is such an unusual idea, I really like it. I know you’re fretting over the color, but I have the feeling this is one of those projects that is going to have a wow factor when it’s done. I can almost see an echo pattern in the quilting like ripples in a pond. Because you want that much work, lol!

    • It’s funny that you mention the ripple thing because that’s kind of the idea I’ve had for it, but… it just seems like so much work! So I’ve kind of talked myself back to doing a couple rounds around the outside of the hexagons and then just filling in the empty space with either straight lines or crosshatching or something. I don’t know. I suppose we’ll see how I feel about it when I start actually quilting it!

      • Ha, well, great minds think alike I guess! I also never know what I’m going to do until I sit down, even if I “decide” ahead of time.

        • Honestly, I usually sit down with a plan and then default to something easier. (Hence my thought about filling in some of the background with straight lines rather than doing rippling echoes across the whole thing!)

  3. Love the shot cotton background with the hexies.

    • Thanks! I like it most of the time, but it does seem to vary a lot with the light and then I start to get scared that it’ll be too green or too… something!

  4. That’s looking great, Kristel. I think the Jade is perfect!

    • Thank you! When I’m liking it, I think it hits a good spot between the greens and blues in the prints, but when I’m nervous about it, I worry about it being too blue-green in a quilt with… purer colours, if that makes sense?

  5. I love the hexies! What a great idea!

Drop me a line...

