Work-in-Progress Girl

Sunday Stash, Old and New

23 Comments

I feel like I’ve been posting too often for someone who hasn’t actually accomplished a whole lot of anything in the last couple weeks. But there was the year end wrap up and various year ahead type things and I couldn’t not talk about Gypsy Wife and and and… hopefully my next post will actually have something to look at besides unused fabric. But in the meantime, here’s a bit of old and a bit of new.

My second to last 2013 purchase finally arrived (and I’m still waiting on Craftsy for my last 2013 purchase to arrive – I don’t know how they ship things, but both times I’ve ordered from them it’s been a brutally long wait) with a couple random bits and pieces that I picked up to round out a purchase of cat fabric:

019

Oh god. It practically gives me nightmares! (Actually, it doesn’t. But years ago I swore – swore! – I would never again own cat fabric and now I do again and so I’m haunted by the ghost of a quilt block cat I made OUT OF CATS. Much like feeding ground up cow bones to cows just seems wrong, so too does making a cat out of cats.) (It was for an exchange and the recipient requested cat fabric. I tracked down some Laurel Burch cats and my mind has never quite shaken the horror.) (Also, sorry if you find it offensive that I don’t like Laurel Burch. I got an email notification the other day from someone who thought it was terribly rude of me to talk about not liking Liberty fabrics, as if I think there’s something wrong with people who do like it. Well, the world is large and there’s room for a lot of opinions. Mine is that I hate Laurel Burch prints and am pretty iffy about Liberty. But you’re welcome to like what you like and while I might find it weird, I hope you’ll forgive me for having an inordinate love of paisley and the colour brown.)

Anyway, that’s Here Kitty Kitty in Jewel, from Michael Miller and it’s destined to be the backing of my Catvent quilt, should I ever finish making the blocks.

Since I was there, which is to say here at Bobbie Lou Fabric, I also picked up some of this stupid gorgeous Art Gallery print:

017

Flora’s Oasis in Naranja from Leah Duncan’s Tule line. Lovely. I want to buy enough to back a quilt, but since I don’t have a specific quilt to back with it, I probably shouldn’t… It’s just so pretty!

014

Pattern Dancers in Yellow from Michael Miller. I often find it hard to find yellows I like, and I thought I was going to like this one, but now that I have it… I don’t really like it much at all. I’m hoping it’ll be improved by chopping it up into bits.

021

And finally, another one of Joel Dewberry’s surprisingly large prints. I LOVE this print; it’s gorgeous. Just surprisingly large. (It’s Primrose in Aquamarine from Notting Hill.) It didn’t photograph particularly well, but I wish I’d bought more from this colour grouping of Notting Hill, as it’s spectacular.

Anyway, in the old side of things, I was cleaning up some stuff in my sewing room and making a pile of stuff to get rid of – unwanted orphan blocks, some fabrics I don’t want to keep – and I found the very, very last of my batiks. I had cut enough strips out of all my batiks to make 4 baby quilts of the Scrappy Trip-Along, but after making two, I crapped out on it and eventually gave away every single bit of batiks I had left to one of my coworkers who loves batik fabric. Except for one print, which I haven’t been able to talk myself into giving away or using because it’s just that gorgeous:

010

Yeah, there are a lot of muddy looking batiks out there, but then there are ones like this, which are just stunning, with rich, vivid colours, and simple, but striking prints. Who couldn’t love a print like this?

Here’s some more old stuff, also unearthed in my attempts to organize my sewing room:

025

Feel free to gasp in horror, I know I am. Thing is, when I first started sewing I had practically no money and only one place to buy fabric, Fabricland. I’m not sure if it’s a Canadian company or not, but it’s a chain scattered across Canada and sells all sorts of fabrics, home decor, clothing, quilting, etc. It’s relatively cheap (with quality to match) and it’s found even in small towns like the one I grew up in, where it’s the only option you’ve got (unless you shop online, which wasn’t so much of a thing 10 years ago). When you’ve only got, say, 50 bolts to choose from, and you just had to go and choose an orange and yellow asterisk print… sometimes you just wind up with ugly. Affordable. But ugly.

When I wrote up my WIP list, the quilt blocks I have made out of these four fabrics were described as stupendously ugly:

mosaic0bb860a895160bcceb0df9d2e227552ee72f5055

And ugh, they really, really are. I’ve got 8 of them (it was a BOM that I quit part way through) and there is an incredible temptation to just throw it all in the trash, fabric, blocks, and all. People keep telling me I should donate the things I don’t want to somewhere that can make use of them, but I just can’t imagine a scenario in which these blocks create a quilt someone will want. I don’t think the asterisk fabric is 100% horrifying, but just generally, ugh. (Haha… I just went way back in time and space to the BOM boards on Livejournal where I had this to say about these fabrics: “So do you ever filter through your fabric stash and find things that you actually despise and wonder how on earth it appeared there and why on earth you’d have ever bought it? Yeah, well, it’s time for me to use some of that fabric.” Did I ever like this stuff?)

Linking up to Sunday Stash at Molli Sparkles — check the sparkly button in the column at the right. And hopefully next week I’ll have the last of my 2013 stashstravaganza to show off. Something more beautiful than the bottom half of this entry, anyway!

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

23 thoughts on “Sunday Stash, Old and New

  1. It’s actually nice to hear someone else who’s iffy on the Liberty love. Maybe seeing or touching them in person would change things for me but from what I’ve seen most of them are not my thing. I’m not keen on florals though, especially small scale florals and that seems to be their specialty. I’ve also never completely understood the hate-on that so many people have for batiks. I mean yeah, lots of blah batiks are out there, but there’s some that are just amazing. Would I stash batiks, maybe not … but if I had a project in mind for them I’d be game to buy some.

    • Liberty does feel very nice, soft and buttery like a nice voile, I’ll give it that, and I think it’s definitely got its place in the world, but I’m really just not big on florals either, especially tiny florals so it’s place probably isn’t with me. (Not that I don’t have a few tiny floral favourites, because I do. But by and large it’s not a thing that works well for me.)

      I used to use a lot more batiks, several years ago, and I was never shy about mixing batiks with regular quilting cotton. It’s very nice to sew, my sewing machine loved it, but I just sort of got tired of it.

  2. I am with you – I am not a huge fan of liberty prints either…I have 1 or 2 but more the geometric print. Of course everyone can have an opinion otherwise why would we share ๐Ÿ™‚ Your post had me laughing all the way through (LOL)

    • Haha.. I was in a mood when I came home from work, I’m glad it came out more funny than not because sometimes it’s a fine line between being snarky and being bitchy.

  3. Never apologise for liking what you like, nor verbalising it! It’s an opinion, and they can be both positive or negative. Due to some people’s popular opinion, the world doesn’t end when negative opinions are verbalised. I hear you on the Liberty frontโ€ฆ I do have some that is more the geometric style which I love, but the florals don’t do much for me. Glad to see your Notting Hill print in here, it is definitely up my alley! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for linking up!

    • I don’t know if it came out that way, but it was really meant more as one of those assholish “I’m sorry you were offended” apologies rather than a proper “I’m sorry I caused offence” type ones because… holy delicate sense of self esteem, princess. I mean, honestly, are we all supposed to pretend we all love everything all the time now? I generally like that online craftdom is a pretty kind place (though I hate that I feel like I can’t shit talk not-very-good craft books because everyone knows everyone and someone might decide to share my opinion with the actual author who’s blog I probably do or have read – there’s a book author in my city who has one good and one bad book out there and I feel like if I ever go to a Modern Quilt Guild meeting I’ll have to put on my name tag “Hello, I’m Kristel, yes, the Kristel that wouldn’t want your book even if it were free because piss off about the lifestyle tips and no I don’t care about your favourite recipes”) (especially since this is now the second time I’ve said it in a pretty public way), but if we can’t say what fabric we do or don’t like without causing offence… ridiculous. Anyway. (Also, this complaint about my opinions on Liberty wasn’t posted on my blog, but on YouTube where I intermittently post craft videos with a group of friends. Which is why I’m feeling free to be so snippy about it here.)

      Notting Hill is so gorgeous (in this colour group anyway, I don’t know about that pink and orange), I don’t know why I didn’t pick up more of it when I was still buying fabric!

  4. I can so relate to finding fabric in your stash that you just hate! I just took 80+ yards to Goodwill — awful fabric that I wouldn’t even want to admit that I ever owned. What was I thinking! Isn’t it amazing how our tastes change?

    I actually love the butterfly print but would rather see it in a hot pink or fushia.

    • Wow – 80 yds! That’s a lot of unwanted fabric!

      The butterfly also comes in blue and pink (but I think it looks almost more red than pink… maybe it’s quite different off the computer screen and in the real world).

  5. Hah! I’ve made all my Catvent blocks and have been looking for a backing that I might like. And I’m with you about the Liberty prints. I just don’t ‘get’ what all the fuss is about.

  6. I hit enter too soon. Donate those 8 BOM to a group that does kid quilts. Some kid will love the colors and they won’t go to waste.

    • I kind of half wish I’d have waited for Lizzy House’s Catnap to come out before buying the backing – there’s lot of prints there that I like quite a bit!

      Liberty… it’s got its place, I think a lot of people have made a lot of wonderful things using it, but it just doesn’t work particularly well for me, and I’m okay with that. More for everybody else, I guess.

  7. your post is so funny ๐Ÿ™‚ I definitely have fabric in my stash that got passed down to me from a friend and that I never get to around to actually throwing away, because what if someday I want to make an incredibly ugly couch cover or something? I’m just a fabric hoarder though, I need one of those TV shows to come over and help me sort it all out.

    • Haha… I said almost the exact same thing to Molli Sparkles a week or two ago, about how I couldn’t/wouldn’t show my whole stash unless it was for some kind of tv special on hoarding. I’m trying to clean it up though… at least get it into something approaching order ๐Ÿ˜€ I know this woman (a friend of a friend) who will just kind of randomly organize people’s kitchens or whatever for them and I’m so tempted to offer to pay her to come spend a couple hours in my sewing room and help me figure out how to store/sort everything!

  8. Funny that you have a cat fabric fear – when I took sewing in highschool, I made a pair of pajama shorts from cat fabric I purchased at Fabricland. I even have a little bit of it left here somewhere, though the shorts are long gone.
    I’m also with you on the Liberty. I don’t get the love of fussy florals, even if the fabric feels divine. Just like I’m not on the Heather Ross Mendocino wagon. Naked mermaids with carefully placed star fish just don’t work for me.

    • Hehe… well, I blame Laurel Burch entirely. Horrifying. (I designed the block to look as much like an LB cat as I could make it.) (I don’t know if it’s the kinda too-human eyes or the fluorescent colours or the I’ve got 35 cats in my one bedroom apartment-ness of it all, but it so doesn’t work for me!) On the other hand, I love me some Mendocino, naked mermaids and all. Love!

  9. Making cat out of cats! So funny.

    I have a ton of that color line from Notting Hill if you have anything you’d like to trade! I have fallen out of love with it…

    • Oh really? There are a few of the prints I really like/would like to have – the tulip, the tiles, and the tartan especially – but I don’t know what I’d have that you’d want to trade for! I feel like I have so much fabric, but I haven’t got a clue what I’ve actually got!

  10. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who’s not that into Liberty. It’s pretty just not something I would ever see myself using. And it’s your blog–you can voice any opinion you want ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Liberty’s just generally too delicate and pretty for my tastes, all those little florals and things. I barely like florals at all, and generally when I do like them, they’re either quite large (like Laura Gunn’s poppies) or sort of stylized or whatever. Anyway, there’s no accounting for people’s tastes, so there’s not much point in getting all het up when someone doesn’t like the same things you do.

  11. I can live without Liberty–it’s okay but not when I can get twice the fabric from another line. I never understand people that feel like everyone has to agree with their way of thinking. I’ve not been a big fan of the Lotta Jansdotter lines that everyone seems to love.

    • Yeah… I was saying to someone else earlier that I like that online craftdom is a generally pleasant place, but I think we can all be allowed to have our likes and dislikes without it being considered mean or rude or whatever. (I’m pretty back and forth on Lotta Jansdottir – I’ve got one or two of her prints and like them, but I wouldn’t say the Scandinavian aesthetic is necessarily a great fit for me.)

  12. Had me chuckling as I read this post, Kristel and I may have laughed out loud about the Fabricland fabrics… Totally know what that is all about ( I have an early quilt made from fabrics from there and it gives me the shivers just thinking about it now… but we make the best of what we have available at the time, right?). Thankfully, we can go online and find fabrics we like when we can’t find them locally. I believe I’ve donated all of those scary fabrics from my stash. So nice to have the quality and selection we have these days. The industry has come a long, long way.

    • I didn’t really know how terrible it was until I finally was able to buy some nice fabric from a proper quilting shop – like night and day, working with good fabric after being mostly used to bad. It’s amazing how much choice their is, even compared to several years ago when I first started buying fabric more seriously. Things have definitely changed a lot in the years I’ve been sewing (and it hasn’t been *that* long!)

Drop me a line...

