Work-in-Progress Girl

30/30 Sewing Challenge: Month End

26 Comments

You know, I keep thinking I should have more to show because I’ve spent SO MUCH time crafting this month, but so much of it was absorbed in the beginning of the month with the Radiant Orchid challenge mini-quilt, that once I was finished with that, nearly all my time went into making things I had to make – bee blocks and swap projects. Which, hey, nothing wrong with that, but I still have so much more I wanted to finish this month!

It’s the last day of March, for example, [or the first day of April, even… I fell asleep before I could finished editing this post yesterday] and I didn’t even touch my Gypsy Wife booklet! Not a single Gypsy Wife block sewn in March! But if I get them done by the weekend, I’m still linking up with Ashley at Wasn’t Quilt in a Day.

Beginnings of two #quilts -- lowish volume and loud for the #gypsywifequiltalong

This (rather dreadful Instagram photo in a too-dark room) is where both my Gypsy Wife quilts are at. I’m really, really wanting to get working on these, but that Pershing block is really kind of scaring me – I’ve been having issues with details lately and none of my blocks lately have been working out quite like I hope. Pershing is not a good one for when you’re feeling wibbly about your sewing skills.

I’m also six blocks behind on the Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong! Six blocks!

Layer Cake Sampler QAL... so far...

This is where I’m at though! Loving how this is coming together, although I do feel a little bit like it’s too pink. I’ll have to wait till I have more blocks together, but maybe I’ll need to sash it in a dark purple or burgundy or something. I think I have a bunch of yardage from this line (Eva by Basic Grey), which was meant to be used as backing for a different Eva quilt-in-progress, but depending what the fabrics are, maybe I’ll be able to use it for finishing the quilt.

So what have I gotten done since finishing my Orchid quilt? Well… a couple bee blocks:

Stash Bee Hive #12 March Block Stash Bee Hive #12 March Block

Neither one of them turned out exactly as I’d hoped – I don’t know… the first one came together pretty well, but that second one is a mess of bad points and it’s a little too small and I was really not happy with it. But I kind of love the colours – that domino dot was a great match for that centre print, although I think it’s a lot more green than the recipient was looking for. In any case, I had changed the needle (and thread) in between sewing the first block and the second and it was just a fight to get anything to work properly. I’m not sure what’s the culprit – maybe the bobbin is wound crookedly, maybe the needle has a bad point or it’s slightly misshapen or the wrong size or maybe I’m a poor craftsman who is blaming her tools. In any case, I’m going to start swapping things out and see if something helps.

I also finished a few things for the 4S swap on Flickr… I don’t want to write a full post about those yet, but here is a shot of the drawstring bag I created and the pincushion I tucked in along with some other treats (fabric and candy and chocolate…):

mosaic5574cfc68196e492b4700c6faf416cc886004dc2

I feel like there must be more, but I’m drawing a blank on it, so I guess that’s what I’ve been up to with all my 30 minutes (and more) of crafting every day for the last while! Truly, the majority of the month was taken up with this guy, time hog that it was:

Radiant Orchid mini quilt

Linking up with Sarah at Berry Barn Designs for the 30/30 Sewing Challenge. In general I was pretty successful with the 30 minutes a day thing, I think I only missed once on a weekend when I was unexpectedly working nights (but had expected to have time off). It feels like not very much stuff, considering the time I put into it, but crafting really can be a huge time suck. I enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, but it is not a speedy thing, even when something moves along quickly.

Berry Barn Designs

Linking up also to WIP Wednesday at Needle and Thread Network and WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced and Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts:

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced Sew Fresh Quilts

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

26 thoughts on “30/30 Sewing Challenge: Month End

  1. Wow, what great finishes! I love all those blocks and your swap items are really cute! πŸ™‚

  2. I love that bird on the draw string bag. Too cute! I wish I had a layer cake to do the sew along. I know I could cut 10″ squares, but… lazy πŸ™‚

    • Thanks!

      I’m sort of the same about the Layer Cake thing — I’ve been cutting out my solids and keep letting that be the thing that puts me off working on it πŸ˜€

  3. Your blocks for your gypsy wife and bom are such beautiful fabrics (def not too pink in my opinion). And don’t feel like you have nothing to show for March! You hand quilted!! That is time consuming, my friend!
    E xx

    • Hah.. thanks Erin πŸ˜€ I’m always over-sensitive to pinks! I do love that fabric and think it’ll be awesome when it’s done… I’ll just have to spread out the pink blocks a little more or something πŸ˜€

      You know, quilting the orchid thing made me want to hand-quilt my Gypsy Wife, but then I keep going back and forth and I’m like…. realistically, will I ever (ever?) finish it if I try to hand-quilt it? Probably not. But I still kind of want to do it…

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE your projects! You’ve been busy with fun things to make! The fabrics in the layer cake sampler are wonderful!

    • Thanks Lorette – aren’t those Layer Cake QAL fabrics amazing? Sometimes it’s really too bad that Moda doesn’t reprint fabrics because I wish I had more yardage for borders or quilt backing etc. It’s hard to see in the blocks, but one of the prints from that line was this really awesome looking phoenix print – it would make a spectacular border (and I even have some yardage, but it was set aside for a different quilt… I’ll have to decide if I want to keep saving it for that other quilt or if I want to just use it on the project I’m more likely to finish in a reasonable amount of time!).

  5. Your blocks are all gorgeous. You sure did accomplish a lot this month. Love the radiant orchid challenge piece. And your 4S swap partner is going to be sew pleased. Great job on all!

    • Thanks Lorna! It never feels like I’ve gotten much done, but I’m happy with what I’ve gotten done (even if I don’t think it was very much). I don’t have hours to devote to it every day, so a bit at a time is okay…

  6. I think your blocks are really nice and not too pink! Remember that imperfection is in the eye of the beholder!

    • Thanks! I’ve never been a particular fan of pink… I’ve been warming up to it lately, but I really seem to prefer the brighter bolder ones, so it’s always a little bit of a effort to get over my pink aversion with the ones in these blocks πŸ˜€ They all do work together so well, though. Basic Grey always has amazing colour palettes.

  7. love your layer cake sampler blocks!!

  8. I think your sampler blocks are Just Right! I do love the stripes, if you play around with them in future blocks you can create quite interesting effects…

    • The stripes are fun! It’s a bit harder to manipulate them in these blocks because of the way the HSTs are sewn together – well, I suppose I could cut it into 5″ squares and then manipulate which direction the stripes, but that’d add more work! – but it’s nice that you end up with an equal number of stripes running in either direction (rather than the inevitable mistakes I seem to make that result in 3/4s of the stripes going this way and the other 1/4 going that).

      On Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 12:02 PM, Work-in-Progress Girl wrote:

      >

  9. Woot woot! The gypsy blocks are amazing, and I’m impressed that you’re keeping up with Amanda’s Layer Cake Along, too! All my HSTs are waiting to be pressed and trimmed.. eep!

    • I’m so behind on the Layer Cake QAL though… like 8 blocks behind right now! I’ve been cutting my background fabric from yardage and I think I just need to suck it up and cut more than 4 blocks worth at a time because then at least I could start sewing together the layer cake pieces, even if I didn’t get them all pieced right away.

  10. I totally get what you mean about crafting taking SO much time. I keep setting short term goals for myself “by this weekend I should be done with _____” but it never works out that way. And the weeks just fly by too fast with what seems like too little progress. Anyway, your blocks look great…I love the layer cake sampler!

    • Thanks! I’m hoping to get caught up on the Layer Cake Sampler soon… I’m really liking how it’s turning out too!

      It’s a good thing crafting is so enjoyable, otherwise the time commitment would put us all off a bit, I think πŸ˜€ (It would be nice to finish things more quickly, I suppose, but it does have to fit in around everything else!)

  11. I love, love, love those blocks in your first photograph. They are spectacular! My thought about not accomplishing much is — where did the time go? I know I worked hard and many hours, according to the clock, at least, but phfffft — the time’s gone and I’ve little to show.

    • Thanks Nancy! I finally got around to making my March blocks to add to that collection that you liked – it’s going to be a very busy, very interesting quilt, I think πŸ˜€

      Crafting is really slow (very often, anyway…) but as long as we enjoy it, I guess it’s all right πŸ˜€

  12. Kristel, I hear you! It does take a lot of time, especially to get the details just so like you did on your Pantone piece : ) Great work this past month and thank you so much for participating in the challenge!

  13. If you think you got not enough done then I just “can get dressed and go home”. I am getting dizzy just looking at all your fantastic projects, you are a fantastic piecer!

    • I guess that’s the thing, isn’t it? It doesn’t feel like much (a mini, a couple quilt blocks, and a couple small projects for exchanges) – I know people who finish entire bed-sized quilts in the space of a week! – but it really does represent a lot of time spent (and far more than I would spend in the average month).

Drop me a line...

