Work-in-Progress Girl

Sunday Stash: Strawberry Patch

74 Comments

Winter for a Year

So I don’t know if you know this about Canada, but sometimes we get snow. And sometimes it lasts forever and ever and ever and ever. It’s May, yes, but it’s been snowing again. Normally when we get snow in May it hits the ground and melts, but it’s only melting on pavement and sidewalks, so the trees and grass are all white and wet and it’s gross and depressing and this winter just won’t end. A month ago I kept taking pictures on Instagram and labelling them #ohmygodawinterforayear, which was a reference to an Arcade Fire song, Winter for a Year:

But the other day I had some mail arrive from China with various different cuts of strawberry print fabrics. Summer in a brown envelope! I’d ordered it because I was participating in a Strawberry Dumpling Pouch swap on Instagram/Flickr (#strawberryswap or Dumpling Swap), but it didn’t arrive until after I’d finished sewing the project with non-strawberry fabrics. Sigh. Thanks, Canada Post, for holding it in Richmond for a couple extra days after saying it’d been processed through customs!

Strawberry fabric

Now that I don’t have a need for strawberry print fabric, I’m wondering what the heck I’m going to do with the stuff! I need a second strawberry swap just to use it up… But then again… WordPress is telling me that yesterday was my 3 year anniversary on WordPress and this is going to be my 222st entry (which I’ve been watching/waiting for), which means it’s time for a giveaway!

Per usual, I’m going to do two giveaways and they’re going to be as follows:

1. A $25 giftcard to my favourite Canadian fabric shop, Mad About Patchwork. You could pick up this Mormor bundle from the Designer Bundles section or Spring Forecast from the Curated Bundles section or, you know, you could get five-sixths of that Shot Cotton Sampler from the Stash Bundles section. (It’s really too bad there’s not a $30 gift certificate option – it’d open a few more doors!) Or you could do like I always do a throw in a little of this and a little of that. I recently picked up a selection of Essex Linen blends and you could too!

mormor-bundle28991665 spring-forecast29391148 1049-Shot-Cotton-Sampler-2981

2. The second possibly more boring giveaway will be a hand-made pouch or drawstring bag made with some strawberry print linen, as seen above. It’s not made yet, so you’ll just have to imagine it in your mind’s eye! The winner can choose between a zipper pouch (likely the wide-open pouch from Noodlehead, but it could be a dumpling pouch if you’d like something tiny) or a drawstring bag from the In Color Order tutorial. I will also include some charm squares, cut from my own stash, in the colours of your choosing and, well, who knows what else… something, surely.

I’ll be drawing two names, the first one drawn will get their choice of prize, so if you prefer one giveaway over the other make sure to mention it in your comment. (If the first winner doesn’t mention a preference, than the second name drawn will get their first choice.) Otherwise just leave a comment of some kind and something other than “thanks for the chance!” You could tell me about the weather where you are (though maybe I won’t want to know, if this snow doesn’t go away…) or you could tell me why raspberries are better than strawberries or you could give me your favourite strawberry-based recipe or you could tell me about your favourite place to shop online or what kind of swaps you like to participate in or share some of your favourite music with me or whatever….

The winners will be drawn on Saturday, May 10 and will be announced on Sunday, May 11 in my next Sunday Stash post, so enter the giveaway by Friday, lest you miss out! You don’t need to be a follower of any kind of be entered, so if you’re popping by from Molli Sparkle’s Sunday Stash or from Fabricholics Anonymous, feel free to enter.

Molli Sparkles FabAnon

And speaking of Fabricholics Anonymous? Well…… this was an April purchase and it’s not something I pre-planned and it’s not something I “needed” to finish a swap requirement (I’d planned to use it for a swap, but I got by without it when it didn’t arrive in time and would have got by without it if I hadn’t bought it at all). So I guess that’s another month in the failure zone. (And if you’re a close reader, you might also have noticed I mentioned recently buying some Essex Linen blend fabric. So you know. There’s that.) I’m really not very good at this not-buying-fabric thing. Maybe May. Actually, no, not maybe May, because Pink Castle Fabrics had a big sale on all their bundles and I am weak. Maybe June.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

74 thoughts on “Sunday Stash: Strawberry Patch

  1. 1. Ohhhh that shot cotton bundle. I must win that certificate to acquire that yummy looking bundle!!!

    If you want to know about my weather, we’re heading into winter and it’s cloudy and rain is coming later in the week… It’s 21C and I’m shivering lol πŸ˜‰

    • I’d happily take 21C right now! We’ve had a couple days in that range lately, but Calgary weather likes to pull the switcheroo all the time.. just when you think it’s settling in for a nice stretch of 20+ days, it’ll drop three days of snow on you and then turn around and jump back up to 15. Or in winter it’ll be -25 for weeks and suddenly it’ll be +5.

      I have that shot cotton bundle! So pretty! Best of luck!

  2. 2. Sorry for your snow…If it makes you feel better, we’re sweating to death here in South Florida. 90 ‘ s most days, so of course I’m making quilts πŸ™‚
    Glad to see I’m not the only one failing miserably at the Fabriholic thingy. Think I’ve purchased a lifetime supply since it started.

  3. 3. I didn’t join the fabric fast but all of the fabric that I’ve been buying has been for swaps and I’m feeling neglected! I’d also be happy with a handmade prize, so if I win let the other person choose!

  4. 4. I think you should have picked the Singer too, but I also think the Juki is worth the investment of a visit to the shop to get it deep cleaned. I was transplanting tomatoes yesterday into bigger pots but it was 2 degrees celsius overnight so they can’t go outside yet. definitely the season is 2-3 weeks behind here (near Toronto).

    • I think I’m a little scared of trying out an old machine like that… even though I know they were generally built to last (as opposed to some of the more modern things…). I can’t really say why, but they do make me a little more nervous! Maybe if I knew it was functional/had all the bits it needed. (I didn’t see a foot peddle, so that’s one thing!)

      It’s hard to judge here when to plant things because the weather is so unstable (and it’ll likely snow again once or twice before it’s properly spring/summer).

  5. 5. I would love to win the gift certificate! Like Joanna above I really want a bundle of shot cotton! I live in South Florida and I have to tell you the weather is great! I do sometimes wish I could look out the window and see some snow and maybe a mountain. Forget fabric swap now I’m thinking vacation swap LOL! Have a great weekend!

  6. 6. I woke up to snow on the ground, and everywhere else, here in Wainwright, AB this morning. :/ Not too happy about that but it is perfect quilting weather I guess.

  7. 7. Hello! It’s Katmama from IG. I didn’t realize you had a blog. Very cool. In fact I just signed up for a wordpress account the other day. So far there’s just one tiny post but at least the seed has been planted. Lord knows I’m wordy enough to write a blog. Just not so sure about the direction yet. So if I were to be the winner I’d love a strawberry dumpling from you of course. Let your imagination run wild since I’m pretty easy to please. And my favorite color is…aqua/teal/turquoise! Lol Well congrats on your blog and enjoy the rest of your weekend. Winter is almost over!

    • Haha.. I sometimes think I’m too wordy for a blog… if I catch myself creeping up on 1000+ words in a post, I try to edge myself back, but sometimes there are just a lot of things to say!

      Anyway, best of luck! (And love your colour choices — that’s my favourite colour range too, so I’ve got a lot of it!)

  8. 8. I can’t believe you got snow. Okay maybe. Down here in the NW , after a day and half of 80degree weather it’s been raining sidewise. Sigh. At least it makes it easy to justify staying in and sewing.

    Ironically, my “strawberry grandmother” gifted me scraps of strawberry fabric to use in my Gypsy Wife quilt. Love it, however a bit too juvenile for that quilt. Might make a doll quilt for a friend with it. Needless to say would love a bag, of any design’, with your Richmond express special.

    Your strawberry recipe: dip berries in a little sour dream then roll on brown sugar. Yum.

    Find a quilt to curl up under and stay warm!
    Jamie

  9. 9. I’d love a chance at beautiful fabrics! you seem to find many lovely fabrics. Our budget requires me to be pretty frugal. I am in the Pacific Northwest, Washington state and we had tremedous amounts of rain last night. we did have two days of sunshine last week though. Happy anniversary!

  10. 10. I too am wondering about the snow at my house, it is May after all. Congratulations on your blog birthday. I would love a pouch with those strawberries, especially the black and the pink one, if I win that is what I want first. Of course, I could also shop, that is a lovely giveaway.

  11. 11. We had the snow here last week a few times and the sun has been suspiciously absent… Ah, well, could be worse. πŸ™‚

    And giveaways? Nice – thanks, dear! Mmmmm, shot cottons…. Congrats on the blog-iversary and the 222nd post! Many happy returns of the “post” button!

  12. 12. Happy Blog post birthday! The fabric sounds lovely. – Cheers!

  13. 13. Congratulations!
    I’d love something handmade by you!!
    The weather here in England is fabulous – the sun has shone all day!!

  14. 14. Love the strawberry fabric and it gets a “Is that for me” from my daughter, lol. We had such great weather during February that the Strawberries came out at the end of Feb. but now it has been raining the last month, but I am still able to find them but they are a little more expensive. So I would love an open wide zippered pouch (my favorite kind) and it will probably be hijacked by my daughter if I am the lucky winner. For my Mixteca fabric, what do you think of this quilt http://www.jaybirdquilts.com/2012/07/northern-lights.html , don’t have the pattern or the ruler, but I think it just might do the fabrics some justice.

  15. 15. Well here in Ottawa the snow is gone. But now it is just cold and rainy. I can remember having to get the pool out for the kids on May 1st in other years. It is way too cold for that, still need coats and scarves, and some mornings you want your mittens. I could use a little summer strawberries here – or some other summery fabrics from Mad about Patchwork. They have some awesome sales!

  16. 16. It’s been in the 80’s for the last month or so. My DH and I retired to Mexico from Seattle about 4 1/2 years ago. I’d like the gift card if I’m the first person drawn.

  17. 17. We had no snow this year so I feel like we didn’t have a proper winter! Thanks for the giveaway and congratulations for 3 years! I adore that strawberry print so I would chose option 2 and a wide-open pouch would be so perfect! πŸ™‚

  18. 18. I’m in NC and it was a sunny 80 here today. So hope the snow leaves you guys soon.

  19. 19. I live in the tropics. We never get winter (I’ve worn a light sweater twice in the 2.5 years we’ve been here). I miss it. Not sure I’d be thrilled with snow in May though.

  20. 20. Congratulations on your anniversary. My first choice is the gift certificate. My second choice is the drawstring bag.

  21. 21. I would love the stash bundle in gray, I have None in my stash

  22. 22. I always need new fabric… not sure what i’m going to make with it. But I have this overwhelming need to have new fabric. One can’t have too much fabric ever. πŸ™‚

  23. 23. It is finally warm here – I got my first radish out of the garden yesterday and my strawberry plants are in full bloom! Soon we will have fresh strawberries from the garden, warmed by the sun and full of juice . . . mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  24. 24. Essex Linen blends would be my choice. Suppose to be in the 70’s here today. The snow in your picture threw me a curve. We had a long drawn out winter.

  25. 25. I would love to win the gift certificate. Collecting blue fabric for DD’s quilt.

  26. 26. I prefer the gift certificate of the pouches, I prefer the Noodlehead zipper pouch. My daughter made a tasty dessert last night. It was a parfait layered with fresh berries, chunks of pound cake and yogurt. It was simple yet looked elegant.

  27. 27. I’d like a zipper pouch. Weather here is finally becoming spring like (South Wales)

  28. 28. Sorry about the snow. 😦 It’s definitely spring here, but my ineptness at growing things means that one pot of bulbs has just come up (maybe they’ll flower this month?) and the other pot is doing nothing. 😦

    I would prefer the gift card. πŸ™‚

  29. 29. Sorry to hear about the snow – I know how that goes, living in Wisconsin. Kind of cold here today, 48, hoping it’s going to stay warm as hubby and I bought some plants yesterday for our patio. My first choice would be the gift certificate, but a wide mouth zipper pouch with the polka dots would be so cute! Would feel lucky winning anything. Thanks!

  30. 30. I remember one year in SLC, Utah, it snowed the first week of July. Snow. July. I live in NC now where it is sunny and gorgeous today! Shorts weather! Sorry about your snow. I would love either giveaway! And good luck making it through June without fabric buying. I tried in April and made it all of 9 days.

  31. 31. GREETINGS FROM MONTANA,beautiful home of the Rocky Mts.!
    CONGRATS ON YOUR BLOG!
    Love any of your fabrics, so I’d enjoy the gift certificate; however your bags are so neat that would be fine too>Love your work ! Happy Stitching!

  32. 32. I would love to win the certificate.
    The weather here is not quite so bad. We are still having pesky cold days, but no snow. Weatherman says 75 at the end of the week. I’m still laughing, he is always so optimistic =)

  33. 33. I live in NC and it is in the high 70’s today and sunny! I am so excited because the strawberries are ready for picking and I can’t wait to get some. I am allergic to almost every other fruit so when the strawberries are ready I really enjoy them. I would really like the gift certificate so that I can get some Florence by Denyse Schmidt. Thank you for sharing!

  34. 34. Oh, snow. It snows here about once every 10 years (and by “snow” I mean about an inch, if that). It’s been baking us in the 90s and finally today is a little cooler.

  35. 35. If I didn’t want shot cottons so bad I would say either one would be fine., but……I do so want some shot cottons. Thanks for a chance to win. It is hot here today in the upper 80’s. Just back from the green houses and bought enough for 3 gardens more I think. good grief is all I can say.

  36. 36. Actually, I prefer strawberries over raspberries . . . but really, I prefer strawberries over ice cream, or over yogurt, or over waffles . . . . πŸ˜‰

  37. 37. I would love the gift certificate! I don’t have a budget for quilting fabric and use scraps, so getting to choose my own fabric would be wonderful! The weather here in Pennsylvania is perfection; all the trees are blooming and it’s not to hot or cold. πŸ™‚ Sorry. πŸ™‚

  38. 38. Sorry about all that cold and snow. Kansas reached 90+ this weekend, but we’ll be envious of you this summer when we are 110 and you’re not. πŸ™‚ Love the fabrics!

  39. 39. I’m trying to pretend that I’m not immensely annoyed at AB’s current weather nonsense. We didn’t get anywhere near as much snow as you did, but Edmonton never does. But, damn, it’s cold 😑

    But, instead of talking weather, I’ll tell you about my all time favourite strawberry treat: my brother and sister-in-law’s homemade jam on toasted homemade bread with butter (lots of butter, lots of jam). It’s so delicious!!

    Anyway, congrats and both prizes sound lovely πŸ™‚

  40. 40. I think you should wait until June to go back to the fabric fast. Everything in moderation . . . And it’s not like you are not sharing πŸ™‚ Thanks for the fun giveaway. I would love a handmade pouch. Handmade things are so precious. Thanks for your lovely blog too!

  41. 41. I just got an order from Mad About Patchwork – everything is sitting on my sewing table so I can admire the pile until I’m ready to start stitching, lol. I love their flat rate shipping price – it’s really reasonable, considering Canada Post’s rates, ahem! I visited Pink Castle Fabrics b&m store last weekend and picked up some Japanese prints – YUMMY! We were visiting friends in Michigan, and luckily they live near Ann Arbor, so I got to go to the store!

    I think I would pick option #2 – a strawberry wide open pouch would suit me to a T! Thank you so much for the opportunity! BTW – for comparison’s sake, our snow is finally gone (I’m near Toronto) but I’m not 100% convinced we still won’t get a few flakes here or there – it’s still below average temperature wise, so we’re not out of the woods yet!

  42. 42. Love the idea of the gift certificate and the hand-made pouch. Hate to tell you this but it has been 90 degrees here in Southern Missouri!

  43. 43. I would like the gift certificate, sorry. Good news for you though, we were overjoyed that it made it to 54 yesterday, and the dreaded s word was mentioned in the forecast. Hopefully for someone else.

  44. 44. Love the fabric! Count me in! Thanks for the giveaway!

  45. 45. it’s actually sunny here, but don’t be jealous, this is England, it will start raining again soon and won’t stop for another 3 years… I’ve just eaten a punnet of raspberries, but they were imported from Spain and were a bit tart to be honest. I love strawberries, can’t wait for strawberry season. It only lasts about a month here, but when I lived in Poland it was about 4 months long. People would come from the countryside into the city and sell strawberries so cheaply. They were huge and all misshappen and delicious. We’d pulp some and freeze them and have strawberry daiquaries… oh, got carried away, where am I again? Oh yes, thanks for the chance! ;0)

  46. 46. Back when I was in my teens, for a short period of time I had a job picking strawberries at a farm. It was hot, hard and dirty work and I found a different job as soon as I possibly could. For a very long time after that, I wouldn’t eat strawberries. But, that was a very long time ago, and I like them again now. I wouldn’t grow them in my garden though. I get them from the farmer’s market. So, if I’m lucky enough to wind, I’d like giveaway #2 best.

  47. 47. The fabric in that store is so cute! Love that rocket one, though I have no idea what I would do with it!! I do have an infant son now though, so that does mean I should be on the lookout for boy prints for him! I think I would go with option 1, but I’m flexible πŸ™‚

  48. 48. If I were to win, I’d choose the gift card. I hope your snow has all melted by now. I lived in Buffalo, New York for five years way back so I can sympathize with long winters. I live in Florida now. We don’t have snow but the humidity in summer is a killer!

  49. 49. I’m so glad that it’s warming up here in KY. The only problem now is I have to mow the grass sometimes twice a week! I’d love the fabric but would take either one.

  50. 50. Congrats on your milestones!! I am a new follower via Bloglovin`. I am a Canadian and so I know exactly what you mean about winter and snow and how it is lasting forever this year… grrrr! If I won, I would love to go shopping at one of my favourite quilt shops Mad About Patchwork – they are awesome!! Thanks for the chance!

  51. 51. I hope you know I am crying inside for you with that snow! We have had two days of sunshine and I am loving it! I would love a noodlehead pouch with that amazing fabric!!

  52. 52. When I saw that snowy picture I thought ‘looks like my backyard’. So after poking around your blog, I’m guessing you live in or around Calgary. In any case, this May weather sucks! I’m a new follower.

  53. 53. This week, here in KS, we are having record setting heat. We would really love to get rain to help with our drought. I would like to go shopping for fabric with the certificate.

  54. 54. I truly hope I have seen the last of snow here in MN until next winter. I am anxious to get out in the gardens. I have tomatoes and peppers started in the house so I am waiting for the weather to warm up so I can get them transplanted. I would be happy with either giveaway. Thanks.

    • I’m hoping we’re done with the snow too, but on the news they were talking about snow on the weekend again! (We’ve got a sunny day today, though it’s not terribly warm.) I haven’t done any kind of gardening since moving to Calgary (six-ish years ago). I know people who do, but I can’t figure out how they ever decide when to plant things — it’s a yearly joke/prediction that it’ll snow on May long weekend (that’s the third weekend of May) and it has been known to snow in June…. I don’t even know. Oh well. We do wildflowers in the flower beds every year and call it good.

      Best of luck with the giveaway!

  55. I would love the gift Certificate.. that essex bundle is my favorite type of fabric, I put linen in all my quilts, just sorta my thing.

  56. 55. Congrats on 3 yrs!!! That is awesome. I luuuuuv those strawberries! Fingers crossed. I would like the bigger zipper pouch if I win:) Must be a childhood memory…I had a strawberry shortcake doll and she smelled like strawberries too. Ahhh… Hope winter gets on outta there!

    • Thanks! I loved Strawberry Shortcake when I was a kid – possibly because my sister didn’t like strawberry anything and thus I wouldn’t have ever had to share it πŸ˜€ We’re having slightly nicer weather today – sunshine and fluffy white clouds, though it’s still a bit chilly (but not chilly enough to have made the snow linger, it’s all gone already).

      Best of luck, Paula!

  57. 56. I sort of fell off the wagon with fabric-fasting this month too… Before that I had been doing very well though! I live in Saskatchewan and winter is only slowly losing its grip here (just like last year!). We are all sick of it. i am reading (well, listening to) The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and it is excellent so far!

    • I’m originally from Saskatchewan! Just another one of us that went to Calgary… πŸ™‚ I’ve pretty much made a complete hash of the fabric fast, pretty nearly since the beginning. I do think I’ve spent less on it than in the past, though, so I guess at least there’s that.

  58. 57. I love watching the TTMT videos, Tuesday has become my favorite day. Meanwhile I’m sorta figuring out Instagram and am enjoying that extra little peak into your lives – your are a great group! I’d love to have one of those drawstring bags that you all have been showing. Hang in there, Spring is on the way!

    • Oh, that’s fun news to hear πŸ˜€ I always enjoy Tuesdays too! Instagram is interesting … its easy to follow a lot of people and just get little peaks of their lives. I follow a lot of crafty types there too.

      Best of luck!

  59. 58. I’d love a strawberry zipper pouch with the charm squares. We’ve had nice weather the last few days but now there are thunderstorms in the forecast every day for the next several.

    • I could live with thunderstorms, so long as it wasn’t accompanied or followed by snow πŸ˜€ It’s warmed up the last couple of days though (and the snow is long gone since Sunday) so at least there’s that.

      Best of luck!

  60. 59. Congratulations on your anniversary! and no, you don’t want to know about the weather here if you still have snow πŸ˜‰ so I can tell you that I am new to swaps so the only one I participated is Block Swap Adventure (http://blockswapadventure2.blogspot.com/)… it is fun, I receive some great blocks, and other not too great but I am going to make them work! What I love about that swap is actually not what I receive but what I have the chance to make, because everyone has different preferences about blocks so I am “forced” to try blocks that are not my style and probably I would have never tried!

    • It has started to get a little nicer – it’s been sunny and warm(ish) the last couple days, but temperatures are still a bit low for the time of year. Oh well, what can anyone do about the weather? πŸ˜€

      I like that about block swaps too, being pushed out of your comfort zone, though sometimes it can be difficult to do. (I find improv type blocks really difficult, so I tend not to enjoy them.)

  61. 60. I’m having fun following your fabric diet πŸ˜‰ I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to announce a commitment to one – it’d never work. In which case, a β€˜free’ bit of fabric cash is a great thing to give away πŸ™‚

  62. 61. I’d choose the gc for the fabric. I need to embellish my stash–it’s getting low!
    It looks like it’s finally spring here in NW Ontario. The huge dump of snow we had at the beginning of the month has finally melted.

Drop me a line...

