Work-in-Progress Girl

A Lovely Year of Finishes May Goal

31 Comments

So I’m still way behind on posts that I started to write in mid-April, but I decided to scrap one of those draft posts and rework it into my May Goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes: my unfinished Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong blocks/quilt top. While I was on vacation, I got seven more blocks done and I’ve done two more since then, but I think I still have five more to go. Here’s the newest finishes:

Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong

Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong

Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong

Layer Cake Sampler Quiltalong

(Yikes! I forgot to take pictures of the last two blocks! I’ll add them in tomorrow or you can probably see them in my Instagram feed thing on the right. Unless I’ve taken pictures since then, but I don’t think so!)

Maybe I should say more about these blocks, but there’s just too many to really talk about them all! But to say what I’ve said in the past: the prints are all from Basic Grey’s Eva line of fabrics and the off-white is a Moda Bella solid.

I’m pretty sure I’ve got five left to sew up in order to finish all 20 blocks, so my goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes is to get those blocks done and to get the quilt top pieced… So I still need to cut out the sashing and figure out what to do for cornerstones (it isn’t easy to find more of this fabric and I’m not sure how much Eva fabric I’ve got left in my stash). And of course piecing all of it. It’s going to be quite a big quilt top, really, so it’s the kind of thing I love to put off and never finish…

Linking up to WIP Wednesday with Lee of Freshly Pieced, WIP Wednesday with Needle and Thread Network, Let’s Bee Social with Lorna of Sew Fresh Quilts, and finally Sew Bittersweet Designs and Fiber of All Sorts for A Lovely Year of Finishes.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced Sew Fresh Quilts A Lovely Year of Finishes

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

31 thoughts on “A Lovely Year of Finishes May Goal

  1. Good idea to make this your goal! πŸ˜‰

    • I’m debating whether or not to put the whole top together – I have this craftsy class about a bunch of different ways to quilt large quilts on a small machine, one of which is to not piece the entire thing at once, you can quilt it a chunk at a time and then join them. I dunno.

      • Do it.. and post about it so I can learn! πŸ˜‰ I have my city sampler blocks I was thinking of doing as QAYG or something since that will be so huge 😐

        AND YOU WON ON ALOYF FOR APRIL WHOA JEALOUS

        • Haha… we’ll see! It’s scary to think of trying, but on the other hand, maybe I’d actually catch up on my backlog of unquilted tops if I did have an easier way to finish them.

          I KNOW! AURIFIL EVEN! That was exciting πŸ˜€

  2. they are lovely blocks. I really love HSTs.

  3. HST are so versatile, aren’t they! So many options!
    I have quilted up to a queen size on my home machine..it gets a bit jumbled, but if you baste well, you just keep working away a little bit at a time, and all of a sudden…you are finished!! Good luck!

    • I’ve done a couple large lap quilts (probably close to twin size, I suppose, though more square than long) and only found it difficult if I wanted to do something very interesting with the quilting πŸ˜€ I hate the basting a lot, though, and let that put me off! (I’ve been doing it on table tops the last while, which helps certainly, but only have a small table to do it on, so it’s a bit awkward in that way. I have a lot of finished tops that I’ve never actually quilted…. one day, one day.

  4. so many options
    LeeAnna Paylor
    Not Afraid of Color! lapaylor.blogspot.com

  5. Your blocks look great!

  6. Oh, you better finish this top, Kristel. Your blocks are so pretty. And you’ve invested so much work into it! I am looking forward to seeing it finished!

    • Thanks Lorna! I’m pretty sure I’ll get the top done…. the real question is if I’ll manage to get it quilted! I’ve got at least five or six tops sitting around waiting for me to decide it’s time to quilt them. Or maybe more than that… I’ve already got a plan for how I want to quilt this one, though, so that’s a step further than I usually get with my quilt tops.

      >

  7. Lovely blocks…keep at it, you will be so pleased

  8. Love your blocks so far. Good luck, you can do it.

  9. It is amazing how many different blocks you can make using HSTs! Nice work.

    • It really is, isn’t it? And at Material Girl’s blog, all the posts offer multiple variations for each block… there are SO many things you can do just by swapping around colours and so on.

  10. Those blocks are lovely, I do adore HSTs and all their excellent variations.

  11. Pretty! Good luck with finishing it up this month.

  12. I’m having fun following your fabric diet πŸ˜‰ I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to announce a commitment to one – it’d never work. In which case, a ‘free’ bit of fabric cash is a great thing to give away πŸ™‚

    • whoops – this is not the post I meant to comment on! Though I should, eh? I haven’t jumped on the HST bandwagon. But then, I’m always late to the party.

      • Haha… I’m usually late to the party, but I started with really traditional quilting, so I’ve used HSTs in a lot of things before, just never quite in such a focused way as with this project. It’s interesting to see how much variety you can get out of just that one unit type.

  13. Beautiful blocks with great fabric choices! It will be so lovely when completed!

    • Thank you! I really need to get back to working on it – I even have a bunch of the last few blocks pinned and ready to sew – but I caught a bit of whatever plague is running around and I’ve been so exhausted just from breathing that I haven’t touched my sewing machine in days πŸ˜€ Eventually though… this can’t last forever, right?!

Drop me a line...

