Work-in-Progress Girl

The Month of May

8 Comments

So May has been a bit of a difficult month for me. You mightn’t have noticed, but I’ve only updated a handful of times all month and mostly they’ve been Sunday Stash posts – as in not much more than some pretty pictures. I’ve worked on and finished a couple things, but I spent most of the month in a haze of sickness – I had bronchitis! I had so little energy just waking up sent me back to bed! – and that means I’ve got relatively little of value to show you. But I wanted to write a post to say that I’m still working on answering the comments from my last Sunday Stash (about ugly and unwanted fabric, which several people hinted or said outright that they’d love to take off my hands, and I’d love to let you, so I really need to get to it!) and just to show that I am still alive and kicking.

I occasionally post videos that I make for a group of online crafty friends, called Talk to Me Tuesday, so I figured I’d post my most recent two. This one from this week shows some mail I’ve received recently. The fabric basket swap was for the 4S swap on flickr (Simple Sweet Scrappy Swap) and the Travelling Swap Box is a box of crafty things that is being sent from person to person in my Talk To Me Tuesday group:

This video is from when I was so terribly sick and shows what I sent away for the 4S swap and also what I received from the Strawberry Dumpling Pouch swap (Dumpling Swap) and also something that my friend Mari-Ann/Rockislander sent me for so thoroughly breaking my attempted fabric fast. It’s a bit brutal to listen to because I could barely talk.

I made it sound a bit awful, that Mari-Ann was waiting for me to fail, but this is what I said to her when we were talking about it: I never thought of it as awful, just like you said… fabric is my Kryptonite šŸ˜€ I thought it was pretty funny, more like… hey, we both know you don’t really want to do this, even if you think you should, so let’s not call this incentive, but when it happens, and it’ll happen… let’s celebrate šŸ˜€

In any case, I’m hoping to get a few posts written about actual things very soon! I have really done very little in May – I haven’t even looked at my Lovely Year of Finishes project or my Gypsy Wife! (And I was a winner last month for A Lovely Year of Finishes!) – but that basket I was talking about needs to be properly shown here and the things that I sent away for the Strawberry Dumpling Swap as well! So I hope to be back soon…

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

8 thoughts on “The Month of May

  1. Oh I hope you are on the mend!! My hubby suffered all of April with Bronchitis. His cure was to sit out in the sun, and let it just bake him for a few hours. It did seem to help. You “basket” of goodies received in the swap was awesome.

    • Yeah, I’m definitely doing better, though my voice is still cutting in and out occasionally (and that does get old fast!). I think we were still having miserable weather most of the time while I was ill — that sounds like a more pleasant cure than just waiting it out šŸ˜€

      I’ve been really lucky/blessed in my swaps lately, to have such lovely partners who’ve put so much into making things for me.

  2. Glad to hear that you’re doing better! Been awhile since you’ve linked the blog to one of these and I have to tell you that I LOVE your hair like that. The cut and colour are great on you. šŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I don’t know why I don’t think to link the videos up, but I think most of the time I think nobody will be interested šŸ˜€ Like… I’ve got my group of people I share them with, and of course they’re interested because that’s why we do it, but who else is going to want to watch me gibbering on for 8-10 minutes about whatever… haha. I don’t know. I should try to make a point of doing it more often and not care if anyone clicks the button or not.

      Anyway, thanks! It’s in bad need of a dye job, but it’s definitely a better cut for me than anything I’ve had pretty much ever šŸ˜€

  3. Eek you sounded terrible lol! I had bronchitis years ago and it felt like my whole body and face exploded and leaked every time I coughed or moved and then I also ended up with conjunctivitis on top of it blechhhh. And then I was up all night coughing so had to sleep in the day which then made it hard to sleep at night but then I was tired anyway but couldn’t sleep because I coughed!

    You ended up with some great things out of your swaps! I hope the next people to receive the travelling stash box don’t collect a biohazard LOL!

    • Yeah, I was in pretty rough shape šŸ˜€ I was working on that basket while I was sick and I kept having to go wash my hands every couple minutes because I didn’t want to send my illness down to New Zealand šŸ˜€

  4. Hi there!
    I just stumbled across this post and your video, thank you soo much for your lovely comments, it means so much to me that you like the hoop and basket so much! Happy girl here šŸ˜€ xx

    • It was really great to get and open up! The other people in my crafting community where we share our videos all thought it was pretty awesome too, especially the Sherlock stitch šŸ˜€ SO fun.

Drop me a line...

