Work-in-Progress Girl

Gypsy Wife Quiltalong – August!

8 Comments

So I’m still ticking along with the Gypsy Wife Quiltalong. Sort of… I’m still months behind on my low volume version, but I am all caught up with the brights version. First up, a block I forgot to photograph last month. Not the most exciting block in the world, which could be why I forgot it…

Gyspy Wife

And then all my August blocks. Which are more of the not-very exciting same.

Gypsy Wife QAL August Blocks

Yawn. Eight square in square blocks, and then the central block is made up for four incomplete square in square blocks. Not so very exciting. But there’s a lot of square in square blocks to go into this quilt, so I guess it’s a good thing any time we get to knock a pile of them off the list. Maybe next month will be more interesting?

I’d really like to get back into things with the low volume version, but I think it might be left on the back burner a while. I’ve got a lot of other things I want to keep working on. Quilts to quilts, swap projects to swap, etc.

If you’re sewing along with us, come link up with Rachel at Farm Gal Designs. The prize this month is a Fat Eighth bundle of Netorious from Cotton + Steel basics and a hexagons pack of Figures from Zen Chic.

In other news, I’m out of town for the weekend, but when I’m back, I hope to get more comments answered from my birthday giveaway post. I forgot my cell phone at home, so I’ve only got internet access while I’m at the hotel (and we’re not here for too much longer). Yesterday the Tyrrell Museum and the HooDoos and Horseshoe Canyon, today… I don’t know. Atlas Coal Mine, anyway, but we’ll probably head back to Calgary before it gets too late. (I’ve been reminded this trip that my dad is getting old – we hiked down to the bottom of Horseshoe Canyon and back up and for the first time in my life, he needed more breaks than me.)

Horseshoe Canyon, Alberta
Horseshoe Canyon

020
ClumsyKristel

023
ClumsyPapa

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

8 thoughts on “Gypsy Wife Quiltalong – August!

  1. Oh my, that canyon is gorgeous! Enjoy your vacation!

    • Thanks 😀 It’s been interesting… I haven’t seen any of this stuff in more than 15 years, I think, so it’s be interesting to re-experience them! I’ve been to the Canyon before, but this is the first time I went down into it

  2. I’m so far behind on my Gypsy Wife. Love yours and all your photos.

    • It can be so easy to slip behind… I think I’ve got 4 months (or 5?) to catch up on for my other version of the quilt. You could always just start back where we are (ie. start on September) and then start working you way back through the blocks you missed in the past…

  3. Everytime the pattern asks for a square in a square block i want to cry. I’m really starting to hate them! I’ve been working through sections though I’ve stopped on section 4 because of the stupid HST block (which is also in section 5). It tells you to cut out triangles for each separate fabric ahhhh. Why can’t it have easy instructions of just making a HST the ‘usual’ way… two squares, stitch 1/” away each side of the middle… Yeah I could figure it out myself but that’s not why I buy patterns 😡 I’ve stitched all my HST together but they’re all in a string at the moment. i still need to press and trim them and then make the blocks. This quilt better be worth it when it’s finished lol.

    • Haha… yeah, there are just so many of them things! I really don’t understand… well, no, actually I do. She always says to do things the hard and slow way (ie. cutting out all those triangles) because I think she sews by hand, and so she’s not going to be piecing any of them the way you do by machine, but it’s still kind of ridiculous that she doesn’t even offer advice on how to do things by machine.

      I hope it’s worth it too, by the time it’s done!

      • Yes, I can see how it would work for hand piecing! Maybe it would be tempting to try it that way one day… bah.

        • Not a chance for me 😀 The first quilt top I ever sewed was done entirely by hand… it takes forever. (Which is fine, if you’ve got a lot of down-time. Like if you’re stuck waiting in a car lane to pick up kids from school or something. But when I’m at home? No chance I’m sitting there stitching quilt blocks by hand. If I want to do handwork, I’ll do embroidery.)

Drop me a line...

