Work-in-Progress Girl

It’s been a while…

5 Comments

…since I posted last. And now I’m just going to post a video, because I’m too tired to write up something longer. I do have things to show, but I need to take pictures, so I keep putting it off!

I should have posted this here yesterday, since it’s my most recent Talk to Me Tuesday video (which was recorded last Friday), but here it is on a Wednesday. The video kind of answers why I’ve been away so long, but in short: my Grandma was hospitalized last month and passed away, so I was out of the province a few times and generally haven’t felt very crafty. My Grandma was a very crafty woman and in this video I show four of the quilts in my house that she made for my sister and I. Not shown are the multitude of embroidered pieces (we’ve both got several) and the crochet (somewhere I have a pretty amazing table cloth) and the oil painting and all the other crafty things my Grandma did. A lot of these things she got into because she was a member of an Embroidery Guild, which challenged its members constantly to try new things, and so she tried it all: hardanger, black work, red work, ribbon embroidery, silk embroidery, crewel embroidery, chicken scratch, Brazilian embroidery… If I can figure out a good way to photograph them, one day I’ll write a post with pictures of all or anyway some of these things I have from her.

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

5 thoughts on “It’s been a while…

  1. I am so sorry for your loss! Your grandma sounds like the best!!!
    Thank you for showing us the quilts. Loved it!
    Esther

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your grandma, she sounds like a wonderful lady.

  3. So sorry for your loss! How wonderful that you shared your grandmother’s beautiful quilts! I recently received a quilt that was my great aunt’s. It was also all done by hand with prairie points instead of binding. I really want to try the prairie points! Your grandmother must have spent a lot of time quilting and really loved all of you!! Have a great week!!

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandma. 😦 Losing someone special takes a long time to recover. Thank you for sharing her beautiful work with us.

  5. sorry to hear about your loss but what great memories you have 🙂

Drop me a line...

