Work-in-Progress Girl

2015 Finish-A-Long Quarter 2

3 Comments

Finish Along Quarter 1 Dreams

So for Quarter 1 of the finish-along, I had 9 items on my list – the seven in this picture, plus a bonus two, which were Jelly Roll Race quilts made using Sunrise and Sunset Robert Kaufman jelly rolls. Here's where everything is at:

1. Brown and Green Quilt – Finished!

2. Hexagon quilt (Confetti-go-lucky) – Didn’t touch it all quarter.

3. Jelly Roll baby quilt – Didn’t start it.

4. Pink and Orange Windmill Quilt – Finished!

5. Bunny Cross-stitch Mini – Didn’t touch it.

6. Deer Economy Square Mini – Didn’t touch it.

7. Botanics Patchwork Quilt – Didn’t touch it.

8,9. Not pictured in the mosaic above, two jelly roll race quilts – Started on the Sunrise version, shown below.

April Goal - A Lovely Year of Finishes

I don’t know if you’ve ever made a jelly roll race quilt, but you sew together all the strips end to end, then basically fold that super long strip in half and sew it together down the length, and then keep on doing it until it’s longer than it is wide, proportionately. In this photo I’ve got all the strips sewn together, but since then I’ve trimmed off the extra triangles of fabric, pressed everything flat, and gotten started on sewing the strip together for the first join. It is so so so so so boring to sew.

So anyway, my goals for quarter two aren’t too different from quarter one. But I am taking a couple projects off the list – the jelly roll baby quilt and the sunset jelly roll race quilt – because I haven’t started either of them and I’m hoping to finish some of the things I’ve started – but I’m also adding a couple things. The Vintage quilt is one I’ve recently begun cutting out and the others are all swap projects that are due in the next couple months. I may as well add them here since they are things I need to finish!

1. Hexagon quilt – Need to finish quilting it, then trim and bind it.
2. Bunny Cross-Stitch – Figure out a setting to make it into a mini, then sew, baste, quilt, and bind.
3. Deer Economy Square Pot Holders – Figure out how to finish it, get three more made, sew, baste, quilt, bind.
4. Botanics Patchwork Quilt – Baste, quilt, and bind.
5. Sunrise Jelly Roll Quilt – Sew, baste, quilt, and bind.
6. Vintage Quilt – Finish cutting, sew, baste, quilt, and bind.
7. Berry Swap Mini and Dumpling Pouch – Cut, sew, etc.
8. Lizzy House Mini Swap – Cut, sew, baste, quilt, bind.
9. Cotton + Steel Mini Swap – Cut, sew, baste, quilt, bind.

Quarter II Finish Along Mosaic

The photos for the last four aren’t exactly very revealing of anything. The Vintage quilt is cut out a little further than in that photo (which also contains the book photo of Camille Roskelley’s finished quilt). The Berry Swap photo is just a paper-pieced strawberry I found on Instagram. I forgot the maker’s name! (Which is awful! Usually I save the photos for mosaics with the name intact so that I can doublecheck – I don’t know why I didn’t this time!) I don’t have any real intentions of paper piecing a strawberry for my dumpling pouch, I just haven’t quite… worked it out yet, so that’s a placeholder image for sure. The Lizzy House and C+S photos are just fabrics that may wind up involved somehow. Or may not. We’ll see where those projects go…

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

3 thoughts on “2015 Finish-A-Long Quarter 2

  1. Congratulations on finishing the green and brown quilt. It always seems to me that when I finish a large project like that one, it makes the next one or two go like a breeze.

    • Oh, not with me! Once I finish something, I somehow wind up resting on my laurels for half an age. I wish the good energy of finishing one thing would carry over to working on other things.. alas!

  2. Sounds like you have been keeping busy! I have never done a jelly roll race before, but those are some gorgeous solid strips. They will look lovely when done!

Drop me a line...

