Work-in-Progress Girl

A bit of a belated Sunday Stash: Tula Pink Volume 2

4 Comments

So two weeks ago I posted about my Tula Pink stash, a stash which is probably larger than some people’s entire fabric stash. It’s pretty ridiculous (by my standards, which say that all my fabric should fit into 9 one foot cubes, except that my stash in general has grown rather beyond that, and all my Tula fabric doesn’t even fit inside of one of those cubes!). When I was going through all that fabric a few weeks ago, I had this moment of weakness where I hated the thought that one of these days I won’t be able to get any more of so many of the newer Tula lines – I hadn’t bought much of it before (or so it seemed) – because all these very savvy fabric companies are very good at getting sewists to hoard fabric against the day when it’ll no longer be available and some very savvy fabric buyers are very good at hoarding it all up until just the right point where they can start letting it out in dribs and drabs at insanely inflated prices. (All that Heather Ross Mendocino fabric I bought for $5/yd sells for $25-125/yd if you know where to look.)

And my income tax return came back from the government right around the same time. So, you know. Shopping spree.

I started with Elizabeth, the newest line:

Untitled

I really picked and choose with these ones – the stripes I bought mostly because stripes are always useful. There’s nothing about them that reads as especially Tula Pinkish, but that’s okay because they make great bindings. The other three prints, I just picked my favourite colours (except for the pink one, which I couldn’t get in my favourite colour from the shop I was buying from). I wasn’t really sure if I was going to like them or not because I didn’t have a great idea of the scale of the prints from the photos I’d seen online. I like them better than I thought I might, but not so much that I think I’ll buy more of them.

Then I picked up a bit of each of the Selfie prints. I wasn’t really sure if I’d like them because there’s something… a little dead around the eyes, but I decided to buy a bit and see what I thought in person. I like them better than I thought I would! The colours are really great – I particularly like the shades used in the bottom one – and I think I’m warming up a bit to the print itself… they don’t seem quite so flat, or something, in person as in pictures.

And then finally I picked up enough of this Astraea print for a quilt backing. In fact, by mistake I bought the same print twice, so now I’ve got enough to make two quilt backings of it. (I’d wanted a different colourway, and somehow on the same day bought the same print twice from two different shops. When the second one showed up I kind of had a moment of outrage, thinking the shop had sent the wrong thing. But no. It was all me.)

Untitled

After that it was rounding out the collection with bits from older lines. These Hummingbirds from Acacia are great blenders.

Cotton Candy Cloud from Bumble is a great kids print that’s still usable in non-children’s projects. (I always prefer subtle when it comes to making things for kids – I’d rather use things that are useful in projects for adults because kids grow up and I don’t want them to grow out of liking something because it’s got babyish prints in it.)

Untitled

And then I picked up this little bit of the True Colours line. (Sorry, True Colors.) There was a part of me that really wanted to get a Fat Quarter bundle of the whole line, but honestly I’m not sure if I like the colours in some of the prints! And I’m not sure I like the prints, either. I don’t know. I wish there was a shop near me that would sell these sorts of things so I could at least see if I really liked them or not! Black and red and grey though… those were easy sells and these are really useful prints.

And then finally a little bit more of Fox Field:

Untitled

I think it’s pretty obvious how heavily I lean on blender prints in my stash. I think those stars will probably be the hardest for me to use! I don’t really love love love the big wavy prints (I forget what they’re called..) in the top row, but I think the beige/grey one will be good for backgrounds and the red… well, I like the colour less than I’d hoped. But maybe five years from now, someone will want to pay me $20 to take a FQ off my hands… (Probably not. I could be wrong, but I find it hard to imagine the blender prints being the big sellers. It’ll be the 16th Century Selfies and the weird owls I didn’t buy from True Colors and all the other big prints that don’t sink back into the design.)

Linking up with Sunday Stash, hosted by Molli Sparkles –> sparkly link to the right. (Or regular link right here.)

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

4 thoughts on “A bit of a belated Sunday Stash: Tula Pink Volume 2

  1. I am so glad I am not the only who buys the same thing from two different stores lol!

    • Haha… Thank god I stopped to double check my invoices before sending off that ‘I’m not outraged, I’m just disappointed’ email that I was composing in my head 😀

  2. I have so enjoyed reading your Tula Pink buying/hoarding posts!! I feel exactly the same way about my Anna Maria Horner fabric! I always start with a fat quarter bundle or half yard cuts of her new line. Then when it arrives I don’t want to use it and I tell myself if I just buy a yard of each then I can relax and cut into my original purchase. So crazy! Thankfully this whole process takes some time and I can usually find a sale. Enjoy your fabrics though because it is such a relief when you finally do cut into them!! Have a great week!

    • Haha… thanks, Lauren. Isn’t it funny how obsessive we can all get about our favourites? I really think it wouldn’t be so bad if the fabric companies would reprint a little more often. But I guess they know they can drive sales by limiting the amount that goes out there! I usually like to wait till closer to the end of a run too, so that I can get things for a little cheaper, but certain designers seem to sell through so very, very quickly!

Drop me a line...

