Work-in-Progress Girl

One Monthly Goal – January

12 Comments

So A Lovely Year of Finishes has closed up shop after a few years of monthly goal-setting, but Heidi at Red Letter Quilts has started up a replacement, OMG, aka One Monthly Goal.

RedLetterQuilts

I’ve always liked the idea of these monthly challenges, though I’ve always been pretty bad on the follow-through, so I’m going to try to follow along with Heidi’s new version now!

Fabrics cut for Meadow Mist Designs 2015 Mystery Quilt

My goal is to get caught back up with the Meadow Mist Designs Midnight Mystery Quilt.

I’m a little further along than this picture show, but I have to catch up on the sewing from October, November, December, and now January! Yikes!

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

12 thoughts on “One Monthly Goal – January

  1. What a beautiful pull! Good Luck playing catch-up!

    • Thank you! I can’t wait to see how this one looks all put together! I used tons and tone of scraps for this quilt, so you can tell these are some favourite colours of mine for sure 😀

  2. Whew, love those fabrics! You can do it!

    • Thank you! I just need to get my “obligation” sewing out of the way for the month and then I’m going to get to it – I can’t wait to see how this one looks all put together.

  3. Thanks for sharing about the new monthly goal linkup. I did ALYOF last year and found it much better for me than the quarterly goals linked at the Finish-along. I’m a short-term planner! I hope you enjoy the monthly linkup! Your Mystery quilt will be great! I wish I had done a more scrappy version; I did half scrappy and think it would have been better to go all the way in either direction.

    • I definitely do better with the monthly goals too… it’s easy with too many projects to do trivial amounts on a lot of them and never finish anything or just with the longer time frame to sort of forget about it entirely.

      I’ve been kind of scared the last few days about how my scrappy version would come out, because I didn’t really pay much attention to keeping the value consistent in each of my colour groups (so, as an example, I go from a very deep teal to fairly pale sky blue in my blue grouping) and I was worried it would ruin the lines of the pattern, but I got one half block put together yesterday and I think it might actually come out okay in the end! I can see how it would be tough with this particular pattern to have a mix of scrappiness and not – you’ve probably got to work harder to keep the scrappy parts evenly spread around.I haven’t seen a version of it yet that hasn’t looked good, though!

  4. Your fabric choices are wonderful. Good luck with your January goal.

  5. Such pretty fabrics for the midnight mystery. You’ll get it done in no time!

    • Thank you! It’s actually moving along pretty quickly – helps to work with such big blocks, doesn’t it? I’ve got all my components ready now, I just need to piece them into blocks and then into the top, so that’s awesome. Usually I can find 50 other projects to work on instead when I set goals for myself 😀

  6. Beautiful top, congratulations!

    • Thank you Heidi! I’m really pleased with how it turned out! (Now I just need to get a decent photograph of it, post about it, make a back, baste, quilt and bind it… practically nothing ;-D)

Drop me a line...

