Work-in-Progress Girl

APQResolutions 2017

17 Comments

So All People Quilt runs a yearly UFO challenge designed to get people working on old and unfinished projects. And I’ve got plenty of those.

apqresolution

I haven’t been updating in a while, so I’m hoping to get back to updating at least a few times a month and some of those posts will hopefully be about me working on (and finishing?!) some of my UFOs. This list contains just twelve (of many!) and each month APQ will choose a number and that number is the project I’ll attempt to finish in that month, so here’s my twelve…

ONE
All Solids Churn Dash Quilt

Churn Dash

This project was begun as part of the Simply Solids Bee in… 2013 (?) and then again in the Stash Bee in 2014. I can’t remember how many blocks I have, either 30 or 42 and they’ll be pieced together like this, staggered with partial blocks on certain columns. I’ve got all my blocks, but need to piece them into a top, which then needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

TWO
Baby Moda Love Quilt

Moda Love

A baby quilt (or very large mini quilt?) using the Moda Love Charm Quilt pattern. It looks brown in this photo, but it’s actually a burgundy/maroon sort of background. I wanted to put a border on this – it’s only 32″ square – but wasn’t able to track down any of the prints that I thought would work best for a border (namely one of the burgundy/maroon-y ones), so it might just stay a small quilt. Needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

THREE
Blue Nine Patch Quilt

First Project Ever

This was my first project ever and has been a UFO for over 10 years. The top is pieced (the blocks by hand, even!), just needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

FOUR
Blue-Orange Big Block Quilt

[No existing photo?!]

My second oldest UFO, this was in progress when I moved to Calgary almost 10 years ago. I might be wrong, but I think it’s basted and just waiting to be quilted. For all I know, the pins are rusted into place. I think I won’t like this one much when I fish it out from the closet again, but it’d be good to knock such a long-standing project off the list!

FIVE
Carolyn Friedlander Rando Patchwork Quilt

Botanics Random Patchwork

A truly dreadful photo – I should pull this one out of storage just to get a better shot of it. Needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

SIX
Charity Quilt-as-you-Go Quilt

QAYG

This quilt doesn’t look like much in photos because I’ve got so little of it done – 1/6th of the rows – and couldn’t think of a good way to photograph a single column of a quilt. It will be donated to a charity that benefits my younger sister (who is disabled). It’s following a slightly modified Herringbone quilt pattern from Maureen Cracknell’s Craftsy class, Quick Quilt As You Go. I need to finish sewing up the columns of fabric, then piece them into a top, which then gets lightly quilting to hold it and the back together.

SEVEN
Dad’s Quarter Section Quilt

Quarter section quilt

This one is further along than the picture implies – all the blocks are sewn, they just need to be pieced into rows and then a top and then to be basted and bound.

EIGHT
Doctor Who Quilt

Dr Who Quilt-in-Progress

I had big plans for the border on this quilt, so most of the quilt is pieced… just the side border needs to be finished. Maybe the answer will be to scale back the border idea,… but I like that border idea. I guess we’ll see what happens! Once the border is worked out, then it needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

NINE
Halloween Plus Quilt

Halloween Plus Quilt

I usually don’t go for holiday specific quilts, but this one is pretty subtle and in slightly unusual colours – rust, teal blue, deep purple. I don’t have a good photo of it, but the top is completed, it just needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

TEN
Midnight Mystery QAL Quilt

Midnight Mystery Quiltalong

I really don’t like to finish quilts, do I? This is another, yet another, that just needs to be basted, quilted, and bound.

ELEVEN
Mom’s Hexi Quilt (Confetti Go Lucky)

Q1 FAL projects

This one is getting to be a pretty long standing UFO of mine, and as it’s meant to be a gift, I’d really, really like to get it done! It’s partially quilted, but there’s still a long road to go (because I had the GENIUS idea of quilting it with quarter inch spacing around all the main units.. quarter inch!!). Quilting and binding is all that’s left.

TWELVE
Plume Quilt

Fabric Friday: Tailfeathers in Lime

I seem not to have a picture of this quilt top, which is about throw sized and has been laying around for several years. I wanted to try to quilt feathers on it, but was terrified of trying. I think I’m finally ready to just give the feathers a go, whether they turn out good or bad. So basting, quilting, and binding is all that’s left.

apqresolution

So that is where that is at! Twelve projects desperately in need of finishing! All People Quilt has already revealed their pick for January, so I suppose I can reveal that Number Six – the Quilt as You Go Project is my goal for January! Just as well because it has a due date early in the year, if I’m going to donate it to my charity of choice!

I’ll also be participating in One Monthly Goal, hosted by Elm Street Quilts, and so that same project will be my goal for that linky as well!

OMGjan

Author: clumsykristel

I'm a 30-ish quilter, and occasional sewist and embroiderer. I mostly talk about crafty things I'm working on, or wish I were working on.

17 thoughts on “APQResolutions 2017

  1. You have an ambitious list! I really like the Churn Dash, and Dad’s quilt looks very interesting, too!

    • So ambitious! It’s A LOT of basting (my least favourite task…) and quilting for one year! But I need to stop piling up quilt tops and start doing something with them! Fortunately these are mostly not bed-size but throw quilts. I think maybe only one of them is double sized and the rest are somewhat smaller 😀

      To be honest, if I can get even half of these done, I’ll be pretty proud of myself. I only finished – totally finished – two quilts in 2016, so it won’t take much to top that!

      • I totally understand! I’m a working girl myself, and it is difficult sometimes to make time for sewing. When time is precious, who wants to baste; bring on the fun stuff! 🙂

        I didn’t finish all that much in 2016 either.

        • It’s tough when you work to find time for sure… specially if you come home tired and even yours crafts seem to require more energy than you’ve got to spare 😀 I’m definitely feeling the winter blues this year, a different kind of energy drain, and it’s making it tough to get started on anything right now. I need to clean up my sewing space a little before I can get to work on January’s project, but every time I look in the door and see the vacuum waiting to be used… I just kind of go back to reading instead. One of these days… it’s only a week into the month, right?

          • Reading is a wonderful way to relax; especially when all snuggled with my blankie and a hot cup of tea when it is near 0 degrees outside!

            I’m hoping that the UFO Challenge helps me to overcome my ‘brain clutter’! So many projects taking up too much space (literally and figuratively)! That is an energy drain. But one has got to start somewhere, so I’m starting with this challenge. It is alright not to finish, but it is not alright not to make progress.

  2. I remember piecing a couple of those churn dash blocks for your birthday blocks either my first or second year in that swap group. It seems overwhelming now, but I know you can do it. Basting is my least favorite task as well. Once I’m quilting things are fine, but getting myself to set up and do the basting is almost impossible. I have so far picked 5 UFOs to finish this year. I have probably at least that many more finished tops done, but I’m going to start with just those for now so that I don’t psych myself out of doing anything. You tops are beautiful. I can’t get over the fact that you pieced that one huge one by hand!

    • Oh… I forgot I did it for Birthday blocks too! That one really made the rounds to different groups getting all those blocks 😀 I still love the idea of it, so I really hope I manage to get that one done! If I have as many blocks as I feel like I must, it might even be big enough for my bed. (Maybe I should see how many blocks I’ve got, too!)

      I keep trying to figure out different ways to get the basting done. I know people who wall baste (you have to use spray baste, which I’m still not in love with) and I’ve done table basting, which I like, but I need access to a larger table for that.

      Twelve projects is intimidating, but honestly if I only manage a few of them, that’ll be good enough for me!

  3. You have a lot of lovelies there waiting to be finished. Good luck with achieving your goal.

  4. Great idea to use One Monthly goal for some extra motivation with the UFO challenge. Thanks for thinking up with Elm Street Quilts One Monthly Goal. Good luck with your goal!

    • I need all the extra motivation I can get! I always work best under a deadline, so hopefully having TWO deadlines for the same projects will be helpful! We’ll see 😀

  5. Keep at it, a little bit at a time! I was debating about joining the APQ challenge, although honestly I don’t actually quilt in the summer (I will do minis, but large quilts are just too hot to deal with) so I’m not sure how that will work, I guess I will have to motivate myself some other way. I like the colours of the qayg quilt, they are pretty without being girly, I will be cheering you on!

    • You’re so right about quilting in the summer… I didn’t think of that but really should have! I’ve done it, but I definitely prefer to work on piecing and smaller things. Maybe I’ll get lucky and all my smaller projects will come up in the hot months 😀

  6. I think they all look fabulous. Like you, I’m a bit of a topper, rather than a quilter. I worry that my quilting is going to ruin it, so I have a lot of quilts like your #12 that are just waiting for me to get the courage to try some fancy pants quilting… I think my favourite from your list might be #10 – the nice bright crisp mystery quilt, but I’m looking forward to seeing them all come together. It’s going to be an amazing 2017 – imagine if you get all 12 finished!!! You’ll have quilts coming out your ears 😀
    E xx

    • I did do a fair bit of quilting in 2016 (on single blocks, not whole tops…) which has really loosened me up on the quilting thing… I used to be SO afraid of ruining things and that stopped me from doing much of anything. I need to convert all that learning to doing it on a full quilt stuffed into my machine, but I think I’ve lost a lot of my stress about it, even when it doesn’t look that great. Now just to get over my basting issues 😀 I do baste on a table-top, which makes it just about tolerable, but I need a bigger table! My sewing table is just too small.. even baby quilts need to be repositioned a four times to get it all basted and that makes me not want to baste, like, ever.

      I love the mystery quilt too… I can’t wait to see it done, but have big quilting plans, so it might take a while! Hopefully it’ll work out, anyway!

      >

  7. A lot of very pretty quilts to finish, I’m participating in the OMG as well, looking forward to finishing at least 12 projects this year.

  8. I just love the tula pink plume tail feathers in lime fabric! I know it’s a longshot, but do you know where I can purchase some. Thank you!

Drop me a line...

